SEO Tools for Small Agencies
SE Ranking Review for Small Agencies
SE Ranking review for small agencies: verified Core and Growth pricing, project and seat limits, and how it compares with Semrush, Ahrefs and Moz Pro.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 13 October 2026
The short answer
SE Ranking Core is $129 per month monthly or $103.20 per month annually for 10 projects, one manager seat, 2,000 keywords per day and 100 AI prompts per day. It matches Ahrefs Lite on the monthly price while publishing double the projects, and its annual price of $103.20 is the lowest per-client figure in the five-client scenario.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| Ten projects and 2,000 daily keywords at the lowest named monthly total | SE Ranking Core (opens in a new tab) |
| The cheapest per-client figure across five clients | SE Ranking Core on annual billing (opens in a new tab) |
| Three seats and 30 projects | SE Ranking Growth (opens in a new tab) |
| To test the platform before paying | The 14-day trial |
| A second person working in the account | Budget for an extra manager seat |
| AI visibility included without an upgrade | SE Ranking Core includes 100 prompts per day (opens in a new tab) |
Check current pricing at the source
- Check current Semrush pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Moz Pro pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Ahrefs pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current SE Ranking pricing (opens in a new tab)
Every figure in this guide was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date stamped above. Vendors change plans without notice, so confirm the number before you commit.
- SE Ranking Core
- $129/mo
- Core annual
- $103.20/mo
- Core projects
- 10
- Core manager seats
- 1
Overview
SE Ranking Core is the strongest published value for a five-client agency at the $129 monthly price point, because it publishes 10 projects, 2,000 keywords per day and 100 AI prompts per day on one manager seat. That is the same monthly total as Ahrefs Lite, which publishes five unverified projects and 750 tracked keywords.
This SE Ranking review is for small agencies, consultants and compact in-house teams evaluating the platform as an all-in-one SEO tool. Every price and limit below was checked against SE Ranking's own pricing page on 2026-10-13. Comparison figures for Semrush, Ahrefs and Moz Pro were checked against those vendors' pricing pages on 2026-10-10 and are reused here rather than re-derived. For the wider category, see the SEO Tools for Small Agencies hub, Best SEO tool for small agencies, Semrush alternatives and Is Semrush worth it for a small agency?.
What SE Ranking is
SE Ranking is an all-in-one SEO platform. The published feature set covers rank tracking across search engines, keyword and competitor research, backlink research and monitoring, website and on-page audits, content marketing, local marketing and reporting. The platform also publishes an AI search layer it calls GEO, which tracks how a brand appears inside AI answers and language models.
For an agency, the relevant question is not whether the feature list is long. It is whether the published plan limits match the number of clients on the books and the number of people who need to work in the account. Those two numbers decide whether the subscription stays at its headline price or quietly grows.
SE Ranking pricing
SE Ranking publishes two self-serve plans and a custom enterprise tier. Both self-serve plans are shown with a monthly price and an annual price that the pricing page describes as saving 20%. The annual figures below are the vendor's published monthly price when billed annually, not a converted yearly total.
| Plan | Monthly | Annual monthly | Projects | Manager seats | Keywords per day |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Core | $129.00 | $103.20 | 10 | 1 | 2,000 |
| Growth | $279.00 | $223.20 | 30 | 3 | 5,000 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom | Custom |
Core publishes 10 projects, one manager seat, 2,000 keywords and 100 prompts to track daily, five domains in GEO research, 250,000 audit pages per month, 25,000 API credits per month and MCP access. Growth publishes 30 projects, three manager seats, 5,000 keywords and 250 prompts daily, 15 GEO domains, 2,000,000 audit pages per month and 100,000 API credits per month, and adds historical data across the project lifetime, guest links for collaboration, page changes monitoring and dedicated customer support.
Two terms matter more than the headline. First, the trial is genuinely usable: 14 days with 10 projects, 750 tracked keywords per day, 20 AI prompts per day and AI competitive research for up to three domains, with no credit card required. Second, SE Ranking states that only one active session is allowed at a time, so the plan is not a shared login. A second person needs a seat or a view-only guest link.

Cost per client in the five-client scenario
The scenario is the same one used across this hub: five client websites, one website per client, one person operating the platform, monthly billing, no add-ons and no credit overage. The per-client figure is the plan total divided by five client websites. It is a way to expose the budget, not a vendor quotation.
| Plan | Monthly total | Per client monthly | Annual monthly total | Per client annual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SE Ranking Core | $129.00 | $25.80 | $103.20 | $20.64 |
| Ahrefs Lite | $129.00 | $25.80 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Semrush SEO | $139.00 | $27.80 | $117.33 | $23.47 |
| Moz Pro Medium | $179.00 | $35.80 | $143.00 | $28.60 |
SE Ranking Core and Ahrefs Lite tie at $25.80 per client per month. The tie breaks on published capacity rather than price: Core lists 10 projects and 2,000 keywords per day, while Ahrefs Lite lists five unverified projects and 750 tracked keywords.
On annual billing the gap widens. Core at $103.20 per month is $20.64 per client, which is the lowest figure in the table and roughly $2.83 per client below Semrush SEO and $7.96 below Moz Pro Medium. Ahrefs Lite cannot be compared on this basis because its annual monthly price is not stated, so no annual per-client figure is assigned to it.
The one-seat constraint
The most important limitation in this review is the manager seat count. Core includes one manager seat. Extra manager seats are published from $16, which is materially cheaper than the additional-user prices published by the other vendors in this hub: Ahrefs lists up to two extra users at $40 per month each on Lite, Moz charges $49 per additional seat on any plan level, and Semrush lists additional users from $45 per month.
The arithmetic is straightforward. Two people on Core costs $129 plus $16, which is $145 per month, or $29.00 per client across five clients. Three people costs $161 per month, or $32.20 per client. Those figures are still below Moz Pro Medium's $179 monthly total, but the agency should price the seat at the point of purchase rather than discovering it when a second strategist needs access.
SE Ranking's own help material is explicit that sharing a login is not recommended because only one active session is allowed. A team that intends to share one password should treat that as a seat that has not been budgeted.
Growth, and when it becomes the right plan
Growth is $279 per month monthly or $223.20 per month annually, and it triples the project allowance to 30 while adding two more manager seats. It also raises the keyword allowance to 5,000 per day, the prompt allowance to 250 per day and the audit allowance to 2,000,000 pages per month.
The step between Core and Growth is large: $129 to $279 monthly, or $103.20 to $223.20 annually. That is a 116% increase. An agency with 11 projects should not describe Core as an 11-project plan, and the published tiers do not offer an intermediate self-serve option between 10 and 30 projects. Where a smaller increment is needed, SE Ranking publishes expansion prices for individual limits, including extra keywords from $22.40 on Core and from $32 on Growth, extra articles from $39.20 and extra locations from $18.40.
Growth becomes the right plan when the agency needs three people working inside the account at the published price, or when the client list genuinely passes ten projects. Buying Growth for the larger audit allowance alone is usually the wrong reason, because audit pages are not the constraint that stops most small agencies.
Add-ons and what they really cost
SE Ranking sells several capabilities as separate add-ons rather than folding them into the plan price. Agency Pack, which adds white-label reporting and client-facing tools plus 30 client seats, is $69.00 per month and is available on annual billing only. The API add-on is $45.00 per month, also annual billing only. The AI Search add-on is $89.00 monthly or $71.20 per month on annual billing.
The AI Search add-on deserves a note because Core already includes 100 prompts per day and five GEO research domains. The add-on raises the prompt allowance and adds tracking across AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity and ChatGPT with unlimited competitor research. An agency that only needs to see whether clients appear in AI answers should test the included Core allowance before buying the add-on.
Stacking is the trap. Core on annual billing with Agency Pack and the API add-on is $103.20 plus $69.00 plus $45.00, which is $217.20 per month, or $43.44 per client across five clients. That is a different product from the $20.64 figure, and the agency should decide whether white-label reporting is a client requirement or a preference before adding it.
SE Ranking compared with Semrush, Ahrefs and Moz Pro
| Question | SE Ranking Core | Semrush SEO | Ahrefs Lite | Moz Pro Medium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | $129.00 | $139.00 | $129.00 | $179.00 |
| Annual monthly price | $103.20 | $117.33 | Not stated | $143.00 |
| Published capacity | 10 projects | 5 websites | 5 unverified projects | 10 sites |
| Keyword unit | 2,000 per day | 500 per day | 750 tracked | 1,500 tracked |
| Included users | 1 manager seat | Not stated as a fixed figure | 1 user | 2 users |
| Extra seat price | From $16 | From $45 | $40 per user | $49 per user |
| AI visibility included | 100 prompts per day | Starter tier and above | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | 14 days, no card | Free plan with 1 demo project | Free plan with 0 Rank Tracker keywords | Trial on Medium |
The AI visibility line is the clearest structural difference. SE Ranking includes prompt tracking in its entry plan. Semrush places AI visibility, 50 prompts per day and MCP access in Starter, which is $165.17 per month annually or $199 monthly. An agency whose clients are asking about AI answers therefore pays for that capability differently depending on the vendor.
The seat line is the second difference. SE Ranking's extra seat price of $16 is the lowest published figure in this comparison, which partly offsets the fact that Core includes only one seat where Moz Pro Medium includes two.
The unit line is the third. SE Ranking and Semrush both express keywords as a daily allowance, while Ahrefs and Moz express them as tracked keywords. Those are not the same measure, and an agency should match the unit to its reporting workflow rather than comparing the raw numbers.
Read as a shortlist rather than a table, the four platforms separate cleanly by what the agency needs first.
Best for ten projects and daily keyword capacity SE Ranking Core at $129/month
Best for a wider research workflow Semrush SEO plan at $139/month
Best for backlink depth at the same monthly price Ahrefs Lite at $129/month
Best for two included seats and ten sites Moz Pro Medium at $179/month
Running the SE Ranking review against your own numbers
A published review can only take the arithmetic so far. The three figures worth writing down before deciding are the number of client projects, the number of people who need a manager seat, and whether the agency intends to pay monthly or annually. Those three answers decide the plan, and they decide whether SE Ranking lands below or above the alternatives in this hub.
The method is simple. Take the plan total for the billing period, add the cost of every extra manager seat needed, then divide by the number of client projects. Repeat for the alternative platform. The plan with the lower per-client figure is not automatically the better buy, but an agency that cannot produce that figure has not priced the decision.
Where SE Ranking is weaker
Three weaknesses are worth stating plainly.
The seat allowance is thin at the entry tier. One manager seat on a $129 plan is a real constraint for any agency where an owner and an account lead both need to work in the platform. The $16 extra seat softens it, but it is still an addition to the headline price.
The jump from Core to Growth is steep. There is no self-serve tier between 10 projects and 30 projects, and the price more than doubles. An agency that outgrows Core has to choose between individual limit expansions and a plan that may carry capacity it will not use.
Payments are non-refundable. SE Ranking states that payments are non-refundable except where the service was not delivered as promised, and that annual plans are billed upfront to secure the discounted rate. The 14-day trial exists precisely so this decision is tested before money changes hands, and it should be used.
Who should not buy SE Ranking
Do not buy SE Ranking Core if the agency needs two people working in the account from day one and has not budgeted the extra seat. The plan works, but the true cost is $145 per month rather than $129.
Do not buy it for a single client. A one-client agency can cover its needs with the free tier of a competing platform or with the 14-day trial, and paying $129 per month to run one project is a poor use of a small budget.
Do not buy Growth to reach 11 or 12 projects. The published step is 10 to 30, and the price step is proportionate to that gap. An agency in the low teens is usually better served by expansion pricing on Core or by re-examining whether every project needs to live in the same account.
Do not treat the AI visibility allowance as a reason to skip the trial. Core includes 100 prompts per day, which is generous, but the agency should confirm that the tracked models and the reporting format match what its clients actually ask for.
Our verdict
SE Ranking Core is the best published value at the $129 monthly price point for a five-client agency, because it publishes 10 projects, 2,000 keywords per day and 100 AI prompts per day for the same monthly total as Ahrefs Lite's five unverified projects and 750 tracked keywords. On annual billing at $103.20 per month it produces the lowest per-client figure in this hub at $20.64.
It is the wrong buy when two or more people need access at the published price. Core includes one manager seat. Adding a second seat takes the monthly total to $145, or $29.00 per client, which is still competitive but is no longer the headline number. That decision should be made before purchase, not after.
Semrush SEO remains the choice when its wider workflow matters more than price. At $139 monthly and $117.33 annually it costs more than Core on both bases, and its five-website allowance is half of Core's project allowance. The case for Semrush is the depth of its research data and its surrounding product set, not its entry economics.
Moz Pro Medium remains the capacity and seat choice. At $179 monthly it is the most expensive plan in the table, but it includes two users and 10 sites at that price. An agency that needs two seats immediately should compare Moz Medium's $179 against Core with an extra seat at $145 rather than against Core alone.
Ahrefs Lite remains a legitimate alternative at the same monthly price, particularly for an agency that values its backlink index and its unlimited verified projects. The tie at $25.80 per client is genuine, and the deciding factor is published capacity rather than cost.
Frequently asked questions
How much does SE Ranking cost per month?
SE Ranking Core is $129.00 per month with monthly billing or $103.20 per month when billed annually, which the pricing page describes as saving 20%. Growth is $279.00 per month monthly or $223.20 per month annually. An Enterprise tier is quoted on request.
Is SE Ranking worth it for a small agency?
It is worth it when the published limits match the client list. Core covers 10 projects, one manager seat and 2,000 keywords per day. Across five clients that is $25.80 per client monthly, or $20.64 per client on annual billing, which is the lowest per-client figure among the platforms compared in this hub.
How many projects does SE Ranking Core include?
Core includes 10 projects and one manager seat. Growth includes 30 projects and three manager seats. SE Ranking does not publish a self-serve tier between those two levels, and the monthly price rises from $129 to $279 across that step.
How many users can work in a SE Ranking account?
Core includes one manager seat and Growth includes three. Extra manager seats are published from $16. SE Ranking states that only one active session is allowed at a time and does not recommend sharing a login, so a second person should be given a seat or a view-only guest link.
Does SE Ranking include AI visibility tracking?
Yes. Core includes 100 prompts to track daily and five domains in GEO research, and Growth includes 250 prompts daily and 15 GEO domains. A separate AI Search add-on is also published at $89.00 monthly or $71.20 per month on annual billing, which raises the prompt allowance and adds unlimited competitor research across AI Overviews, AI Mode, Perplexity and ChatGPT.
Is there a free trial?
Yes. SE Ranking publishes a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, covering up to 10 projects, 750 tracked keywords per day, 20 AI prompts per day and AI competitive research for up to three domains.
Are SE Ranking payments refundable?
SE Ranking states that payments are non-refundable except in cases where the service was not delivered as promised, or where a specific promotion says otherwise. Annual plans are billed upfront to secure the discounted rate. The trial period exists so the decision can be tested before payment.
How does SE Ranking compare with Ahrefs Lite?
Both are $129 per month with monthly billing, which is $25.80 per client across five clients. SE Ranking Core publishes 10 projects and 2,000 keywords per day on one manager seat, while Ahrefs Lite publishes five unverified projects and 750 tracked keywords with one included user and up to two extra users at $40 each. SE Ranking also publishes an annual price of $103.20 per month, while Ahrefs does not state an annual monthly price for Lite.