SEO Tools for Small Agencies
Best AI Writing Tool for Agency Copywriters
Copy.ai and Jasper compared on verified prices, seats and practical limits for agency copywriting teams.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
Copy.ai is the better starting point for an agency because its Chat plan includes exactly five seats at $24/month when billed annually. Jasper is the stronger specialist choice for a team that values Brand Voices and related controls, but its Pro plan includes exactly one seat, so the cost rises with every writer.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| The lowest verified cost for two to five writers | Copy.ai Chat |
| Exactly one seat with Brand Voices included | Jasper Pro |
| A plan with five included seats | Copy.ai Chat |
| A larger published seat allocation | Copy.ai Growth |
| A free tier with a stated limit | Neither stated |
- Copy.ai Chat seats
- 5
- Jasper Pro annual seat
- $59
- Tools compared
- 2
Overview: Best AI Writing Tool for Agency Copywriters
For most small agencies, Copy.ai is the winner, with Jasper as the runner-up for teams that specifically want Jasper's Brand Voices, Knowledge assets and Audiences. That is the practical answer to the best ai writing tool for agency copywriters question: Copy.ai Chat includes exactly five seats, while Jasper Pro includes exactly one. The difference changes the bill before an agency has written a single word.
Copy.ai Chat costs $24/month when billed annually, with $288 billed for the year, or $29/month when billed monthly. That price includes five seats, unlimited words in Chat, unlimited Chat Projects and access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. Jasper Pro costs $59/month/seat with annual billing, paid annually, or $69/month/seat with monthly billing, and includes exactly one seat. Its stated inclusions are 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences.
This guide is for copywriting agencies, content studios, consultants and small professional-services teams that need more than one person to work in an AI writing product. It treats seats as the first buying question, then checks what the entry tier actually includes, what two, three and five writers cost, and where the published information stops. The wider SEO Tools for Small Agencies hub has related buying guides, including Is Semrush worth it for a small agency?, Semrush vs Moz for consultants and the best SEO tool for small agencies.
How we chose
The comparison starts with the seat count rather than a generic feature checklist. A plan with one included seat is a different product decision from a plan with five, even if both can help a writer produce a draft. The analysis therefore tests the published cost for two, three and five writers, asks whether the entry plan can be bought for the whole team, and separates annual billing from month-to-month billing.
The second test is what the pricing page actually publishes. Copy.ai's page states seats, Chat words, Chat Projects, model access and Workflow Credits on the relevant plans. Jasper's page states the Pro seat count and its Brand Voices, Knowledge assets and Audiences, while leaving several usage limits unstated. Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-10-10. Where a figure is not stated, it is identified as not stated rather than filled with an estimate.
Copy.ai
Best for a small team sharing one plan Copy.ai five included Chat seats at $24/month annually
Copy.ai suits an agency that wants several writers inside one starting plan and whose immediate requirement is Chat rather than a stated Workflow Credits allowance. The decisive point is simple: Chat includes exactly five seats. That lets a two-, three- or five-writer team use one published allocation instead of buying one separate entry subscription for each writer.
The Chat plan is listed at $29/month when billed monthly. With annual billing, it is $24/month and is billed as $288/year. It includes unlimited words in Chat, unlimited Chat Projects and access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models. Additional-seat pricing is not stated, and the Workflow Credit allowance for Chat is not stated.
A named scenario makes the arithmetic clearer. A five-writer studio on Copy.ai Chat pays $288 for the year, equivalent to $24/month when billed annually, or $29/month if it chooses monthly billing. The studio is paying for a plan with exactly five seats, not for five individually priced seats. If a sixth writer needs access, the additional-seat price is not stated, so the team cannot responsibly budget an add-on from the published figures.
Copy.ai also publishes Growth at $1,000/month billed as $12,000/year, with exactly 75 seats, unlimited Chat words and 20K Workflow Credits/month. Expansion lists $2,000/month billed as $24,000/year, 150 seats and 45K Workflow Credits/month; Scale lists $3,000/month billed as $36,000/year, 200 seats and 75K Workflow Credits/month. Monthly-billing prices for these plans are not stated.
The larger allocations do not automatically make Growth a sensible purchase for five writers. Copy.ai says credits can be added later through usage-based pricing, but the price and quantity are not stated, so a credit-dependent service needs vendor clarification.
Copy.ai's honest weaknesses are therefore about unknowns and fit. The pricing page does not state a free tier or trial, the Chat Workflow Credit allowance is not stated, and additional-seat pricing is not stated. Chat includes five seats, but an agency should confirm what happens at six writers before treating it as an expandable team plan. The entry tier is attractive for a small group because of the included seats, not because every usage rule is transparent.
For client work, treat Copy.ai as a supervised drafting environment. The agency remains accountable for checking claims, tone, originality and every delivered text; five included seats do not make generated work publishable without review.
Jasper
Best for structured brand guidance Jasper one Pro seat with 2 Brand Voices
Jasper suits an agency that values the named Pro inclusions more than a shared entry price. Pro includes exactly one seat, 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences. Those are the published reasons to consider it for a specialist workflow, but they do not alter the basic seat maths: every writer who needs a Pro seat requires another seat-priced purchase unless the agency discusses a different Business arrangement with Sales.
Jasper Pro costs $69/month/seat with monthly billing or $59/month/seat with annual billing, paid annually. Two writers cost $138/month monthly or $118/month equivalent paid annually; three cost $207 or $177; five cost $345 or $295. These calculations use the stated USD prices. A five-person studio therefore pays $295/month equivalent annually or $345/month monthly, while Pro still includes exactly one seat. Additional-seat pricing is not stated; the page directs larger-user discussions to Sales.
Jasper's entry plan also leaves several operational questions open. Words/month, documents/month, projects, websites, tracked keywords, rows and credit allowance are not stated for Pro. That does not mean the limits are zero or unlimited. It means an agency should not put an unverified usage allowance into a client-delivery budget or promise a certain volume of output based on the pricing page alone.
There is no free tier stated for Jasper. Pro has a 7-day free trial, but the card requirement is not stated. A trial can help a team inspect whether its workflow suits the product, but it is not a free ongoing plan and should not be presented as one. The team should decide who will test it and what review criteria will determine whether paying per writer is justified.
Jasper Business has custom pricing: monthly and annual prices, included seats, credit amount and limits are not stated. It lists unlimited Brand Voices, Knowledge assets and Audiences, API access, custom AI Agents/no-code builder, governance and admin controls, Groups, dedicated account management, priority support and deployment options. Business usage-based features such as GEO Hub and Agents use credits, but credit-pack, overage and add-on prices are not stated.
The one-seat starting point is Jasper's central small-agency weakness, even though Pro's named inclusions may suit a brand-led workflow. Brand Voices and Knowledge assets support organisation, not factual verification or originality. The agency remains responsible for checking every client deliverable.
Pricing compared
The table below puts the two entry plans beside the larger published Copy.ai tiers. Annual figures retain the vendors' wording: Copy.ai lists annual-billing plan prices, while Jasper lists a per-seat monthly price that is paid annually. The three team columns show calculated totals from the published seat prices and included-seat rules.
| Plan | Published price | Included seats | Two writers | Three writers | Five writers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copy.ai Chat, monthly | $29/month | Exactly 5 | $29/month | $29/month | $29/month |
| Copy.ai Chat, annual | $24/month, billed $288/year | Exactly 5 | $24/month equivalent | $24/month equivalent | $24/month equivalent |
| Copy.ai Growth | $1,000/month, billed $12,000/year | Exactly 75 | $1,000/month | $1,000/month | $1,000/month |
| Jasper Pro, monthly | $69/month/seat | Exactly 1 | $138/month | $207/month | $345/month |
| Jasper Pro, annual | $59/month/seat, paid annually | Exactly 1 | $118/month equivalent | $177/month equivalent | $295/month equivalent |
Copy.ai is the price winner for two through five writers if Chat's stated inclusions match the agency's needs. The team pays one plan price and uses up to the exactly five seats included in that plan. Jasper's annual discount lowers the per-seat figure, but five writers still produce a $295/month equivalent bill paid annually, compared with Copy.ai Chat's $24/month equivalent.
The products are not interchangeable. Copy.ai Chat publishes model access, unlimited Chat words and unlimited Chat Projects; Jasper Pro publishes 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences. The methodology explains why missing limits are left unstated before an agency makes a client-facing commitment.
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is confusing a plan price with a writer price. Copy.ai Chat costs $29/month monthly or $24/month when billed annually, and both prices cover exactly five seats. Jasper Pro is $69/month/seat monthly or $59/month/seat with annual billing, paid annually, so its bill rises with each writer. Two, three and five users therefore have very different arithmetic in Jasper, but the same published Chat total in Copy.ai.
The second trap is treating an annual equivalent as a monthly commitment. Copy.ai bills $288/year at its $24/month annual-billing price. Jasper's $59/month/seat annual price is also paid annually. The monthly figures are useful comparisons, not permission to assume that a team can stop paying monthly. Neither vendor states a minimum seat requirement in the verified pricing information, so that term should be confirmed before purchase.
The third trap is assuming an unknown add-on or overage is free. Copy.ai does not state an additional-seat price, and its usage-based credit add-on has no stated price or quantity. Jasper does not state an additional-seat price, and no Business credit-pack, overage or add-on price is stated. Budget the published plan, then obtain written terms for any sixth writer, credit use or excess usage.
The fourth trap is buying capacity instead of solving a workflow problem. Copy.ai Growth includes exactly 75 seats and 20K Workflow Credits/month, but costs $1,000/month billed as $12,000/year. Expansion and Scale publish larger allocations, while Enterprise has custom pricing and does not state limits or included seats. A five-person studio should not buy Growth merely because it wants more seats when Chat already includes five.
The final trap is treating a plan as proof of output capacity or publishing permission. Jasper does not state Pro words/month, documents/month, projects, websites, tracked keywords, rows or credit allowance, and Copy.ai does not state Chat's Workflow Credit allowance. Those gaps rule out an honest fixed-volume promise. Seat access never transfers responsibility for accuracy, originality, confidentiality or client approval, so the sign-off owner must check every AI-assisted deliverable.
Who should not buy this
The best answer can be to buy neither tool when no one owns review, client work needs evidence the workflow cannot provide, or the writers will use it only occasionally. A cheaper seat is still waste if nobody can inspect the output.
Choose Copy.ai Chat only when five included seats are useful and the team accepts the unstated Workflow Credit and additional-seat terms. Jasper Pro is a poor shared-subscription default because it includes exactly one seat, though its Brand Voices, Knowledge assets and Audiences may justify the multiplied cost for a specialist workflow.
Postpone either purchase if the goal is only to make more copy without improving the brief, source checking or approval process. AI assistance does not excuse fact checking, originality review or client sign-off.
Our verdict
Copy.ai is the best ai writing tool for agency copywriters when the deciding requirement is economical access for two, three or five writers. Chat includes exactly five seats at $24/month when billed annually, with $288 billed for the year, or $29/month when billed monthly. It also includes unlimited words in Chat, unlimited Chat Projects and access to OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini models.
Jasper is the runner-up and the more focused choice for an agency that genuinely values 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences on Pro. The cost is $59/month/seat with annual billing, paid annually, or $69/month/seat monthly, so a five-writer team reaches $295/month equivalent annually or $345/month monthly. Buy it for that workflow, not because one Pro seat can cover a whole studio.
In either case, keep the recommendation conditional. Verify unpublished limits and seat terms before a larger rollout, and make human review, accuracy and originality part of the delivery process. If neither tool fits that responsibility or the team cannot use the seats, buy nothing yet.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best ai writing tool for agency copywriters?
Copy.ai is the stronger default for a two-, three- or five-writer agency because Chat includes exactly five seats at one plan price. Jasper Pro is the alternative when its 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences justify paying for each writer separately. Neither plan removes the agency's duty to check accuracy and originality.
How much does Copy.ai Chat cost for five writers?
Copy.ai Chat costs $29/month when billed monthly, whether the agency uses two, three or five of its exactly five included seats. Annual billing is $24/month with $288 billed for the year. Copy.ai does not state an additional-seat price if a sixth writer needs access.
How much does Jasper Pro cost for a five-person agency?
Jasper Pro costs $345/month for five seats at the monthly price of $69/month/seat. Annual billing costs $59/month/seat paid annually, which is a $295/month equivalent for five seats. The additional-seat price beyond the one included seat is not stated.
Does Copy.ai have a free tier for agencies?
Copy.ai's pricing page does not state a free tier or trial. It also does not state a Chat Workflow Credit allowance. An agency should ask the vendor for those terms rather than describe Copy.ai as free or assign it an assumed limit.
How many seats does Jasper Pro include?
Jasper Pro includes exactly one seat. A two-, three- or five-writer team therefore needs the published per-seat price multiplied by its writer count, unless it discusses additional users or a customised Business plan with Sales. Jasper does not state an additional-seat price on the pricing page.
What does Jasper Pro include besides a seat?
Jasper Pro includes 2 Brand Voices, 5 Knowledge assets and 3 Audiences. Words/month, documents/month, projects, websites, tracked keywords, rows and credit allowance are not stated. Those missing figures should be confirmed before an agency promises a particular output volume.
Should an agency use either tool for final client copy without review?
No. Both tools should sit inside an agency-owned process that checks facts, originality, permissions, brand fit and client requirements. A plan's seats or named features describe access and workflow support, not a guarantee that generated text is accurate or ready to publish.