SEO Tools for Small Agencies

Moz Pro Review for Consultants

A verified Moz Pro review for consultants, covering plan limits, extra-seat maths, free tools and the real gap versus Semrush.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 11 October 2026

The short answer

Moz Pro is the better default for a solo consultant or a small team that can work within its site limits. Semrush costs more at the entry level, but its extra capacity and higher-tier features can justify the gap when the workflow needs them.

If you needChoose
The lowest paid entry priceMoz Starter at $49 a month (opens in a new tab)
Three sites and one working userMoz Standard (opens in a new tab)
Ten sites, 1,500 keywords and two usersMoz Medium (opens in a new tab)
AI visibility or more than 10 sitesSemrush Starter or Pro+ (opens in a new tab)
Occasional research without a subscriptionMoz's free standalone tools
A team plan with no seat checkNeither, until the bill is modelled

Check current pricing at the source

Every figure in this guide was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date stamped above. Vendors change plans without notice, so confirm the number before you commit.

Moz Starter
$49/month
Moz extra seat
$49/month
Moz Large sites
25
Semrush SEO
$117.33/month

Overview: moz pro review for consultants

For most small consultancies, Moz Pro is the winner and Semrush is the runner-up. Moz gives a solo buyer a $49 monthly entry point and a Standard plan at $79 a month when paid yearly, while Semrush SEO starts at $117.33 on annual billing. Semrush can still be the better choice when five sites, daily keyword capacity, AI visibility or a larger portfolio is central to the service, but its extra capability needs to earn the higher bill.

This moz pro review is for consultants and small agencies doing recurring client SEO work, not for someone checking a domain once. The useful question is whether Moz's site, keyword and included-user allowances cover the work, and what happens when another strategist or account lead needs access. The answer is less obvious than the Starter headline because Moz charges $49 per additional seat on every plan level.

Moz Pro and Semrush suit teams doing repeatable client research and monitoring. This page covers every Moz Pro tier, comparable Semrush plans, a three-person cost scenario, the seat trap and free routes.

For the wider category, start with the SEO Tools for Small Agencies hub. The comparison also sits alongside Semrush vs Moz for consultants and Is Semrush worth it for a small agency?, which take a broader view of the same buying decision.

How we chose

The comparison uses monthly and annual prices, sites, keywords, included users, extra-seat cost and free routes. Sites and keyword figures remain in the units published by each vendor.

Every price and stated limit was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 11 October 2026. Annual figures are monthly equivalents. Moz does not state Starter's annual price or keyword limit, and Semrush's $45 extra-user figure is a starting price, so the Semrush team total is a planning floor.

The named scenario is Harbour Search, a three-person consultancy needing access for an owner, strategist and account lead. Calculations use only the published extra-seat line and exclude report add-ons and other unlisted charges.

Moz Pro

Best for solo consultants and simpler budgets Moz Pro from $49/month

Moz Pro suits a consultant seeking a lower starting price. Starter is $49 a month for one site; its annual price and keyword allowance are not stated.

Standard is the practical starting point for a small solo consultancy with up to three tracked sites. It costs $99 per month on monthly billing or $79 per month when paid yearly. Standard includes one user, three sites and 300 keywords. That combination is more informative than the $79 headline on its own: it describes one working seat and a three-site portfolio, not a general agency allowance.

Medium is the step for a wider portfolio or a two-person practice. It costs $179 monthly or $143 per month when paid yearly, and includes two users, 10 sites and 1,500 keywords. Large costs $299 monthly or $239 per month when paid yearly, and includes three users, 25 sites and 3,000 keywords. Those are the only Moz tiers in the verified notes with published keyword and site allowances beyond the one-site Starter description.

Moz's strength is its low solo entry and explicit Standard, Medium and Large capacity. Medium adds a second user, and annual billing carries a 20% discount on the base plan.

Its weakness is team access. Standard, Medium and Large include one, two and three users, while every plan charges $49 per extra seat.

For Harbour Search, Moz Standard costs $177 per month on annual-equivalent pricing: $79 for the plan plus two extra seats at $49 each. Across a year, that is $2,124. The same team on monthly billing costs $197 per month, calculated as $99 plus $98 for two seats. This is the real Standard bill for a three-person consultancy, not the $79 solo headline.

The Moz Pro pricing page showing the published plan ladder
Moz Pro pricing, captured 2 October 2026. Standard, Medium and Large show their published site, keyword and included-user allowances; the extra-seat charge applies on every plan level.

Moz also offers a free trial on Medium and free standalone Domain Analysis, Keyword Explorer and Link Explorer tools. Those options matter for occasional research or a process still being tested. They do not establish a free Moz Pro tier with the paid plans' published allowances.

Semrush

Best for higher capacity and AI visibility Semrush SEO at $117.33/month annually

Semrush is the stronger fit when the consultancy needs five sites at the entry paid level, 500 keywords per day, or capabilities that appear only on its higher tiers. The SEO plan costs $117.33 per month on annual billing or $139 monthly, with five websites and 500 keywords per day. Its annual-equivalent entry is more than twice Moz Starter's $49 monthly price and is also higher than Moz Standard's $79 annual equivalent.

The higher-tier features need a specific reason to appear in a buying decision. Semrush Starter is the first listed tier with AI visibility and its 50 prompts per day, plus MCP access in the verified notes. Advanced is the listed tier with API access. A consultancy should not treat those labels as a general quality ranking. The case for paying more is strongest when AI visibility or API access is part of the work that must be delivered.

Semrush's keyword figure is a daily report allowance, not the same unit as Moz's tracked-keyword figures.

The weakness is the higher starting cost and a seat line that can be missed when a proposal copies only the plan card. Semrush's listed plans include one user, and additional users start at $45 per month. The vendor also lists Base Report at $10 per month and Pro Report at $20 per month. Those report add-ons are not included in the scenarios below, but they are a reason to check the complete account configuration before approving a subscription.

For Harbour Search, Semrush SEO costs $207.33 per month on annual-equivalent pricing using the additional-user starting figure: $117.33 plus two users at $45. That is $2,487.96 across 12 months, compared with Moz Standard's $2,124 in the same three-person example. On monthly billing, the corresponding planning floor is $229 per month, calculated as $139 plus $90 for two additional users.

Semrush Free costs $0 and provides one demo project plus 10 reports per day across tools. Semrush also offers a seven-day free trial, which is best used with named sites and defined questions.

The Semrush pricing page showing its SEO and higher tiers
Semrush pricing, captured 2 October 2026. The published SEO, Starter, Pro+ and Advanced tiers show the higher site, keyword and feature thresholds used in this comparison.

Moz Pro and Semrush compared

The table below uses the vendor-published monthly prices and allowances. A dash means the verified notes do not state that figure, not that the product has no such capability.

Table: Moz Pro and Semrush published pricing and capacity

PlanAnnual price per monthMonthly priceIncluded usersWebsitesKeywords
Moz Starternot stated$49not stated1not stated
Moz Standard$79$9913300
Moz Medium$143$1792101,500
Moz Large$239$2993253,000
Semrush SEO$117.33$13915500/day
Semrush Starter$165.17$19915500
Semrush Pro+$248.17$2991151,500/day
Semrush Advanced$455.67$5491405,000/day

The closest low-cost comparison is Moz Standard against Semrush SEO, but they solve slightly different capacity problems. Moz Standard is $38.33 lower per month on annual-equivalent billing and includes three sites and 300 tracked keywords. Semrush SEO costs more but includes five websites and 500 keywords per day. A consultancy with three properties and one operator may be paying for Semrush capacity it does not use, while a consultancy with five properties may find Moz Standard too small even before a seat is added.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating the plan card as the team bill. Moz Standard's $79 annual equivalent is a one-user price. Harbour Search needs three seats, so two $49 additions take it to $177 per month. That is a 124% increase over the base figure, calculated from the verified plan and seat prices. The same calculation is why a consultant should not call Standard a $79 consultancy plan without saying that it is the one-user price.

The second trap is assuming the extra-seat rule disappears at a higher Moz tier. It does not. Moz charges $49 per additional seat on Starter, Standard, Medium and Large. Medium includes two users, and Large includes three, but a four-person team still pays one extra seat on either of those plans. The correct question is not just which tier has enough sites. It is which tier has enough sites and included seats after the people who need access are named.

The third trap is comparing Moz and Semrush as though their seat models were the same. Semrush's listed plans include one user, with additional users starting at $45 per month. Moz's included seats vary from one to three by plan, but its extra-seat price is $49 on every tier. In Harbour Search's three-person annual-equivalent example, Moz Standard is $177 and Semrush SEO is $207.33, a gap of $30.33 per month. The headline plan gap is $38.33, so the seat additions narrow it rather than erase it.

The fifth trap is mixing annual and monthly billing. For Moz Standard, the base is $79 monthly on annual billing or $99 monthly. For Semrush SEO, the base is $117.33 annually or $139 monthly. In the three-person example, Moz moves from $177 on annual-equivalent pricing to $197 monthly. Semrush moves from a $207.33 planning floor to $229 monthly. A proposal should state whether the customer is committing to annual billing, not place the lower monthly equivalent beside a month-to-month cash figure.

The sixth trap is reading sites as clients. Moz Medium's 10 sites and Semrush's five websites describe properties, not an assumed number of clients. Count active properties before dividing a price by client count.

The seventh trap is comparing keyword numbers without checking the unit. Moz lists tracked keywords, while Semrush lists daily keyword reports. Those are different operational measures, so the larger-looking number is not automatically more useful.

The eighth trap is adding Semrush report costs after the purchase. Base Report is $10 per month and Pro Report is $20 per month, separate from the plan and user price. Neither add-on is included in the named scenarios.

For a quick annual-equivalent check, the relevant three-person totals are:

Team scenarioMoz StandardSemrush SEO
One user$79/month$117.33/month
Three users$177/month$207.33/month floor
Three users, 12 months$2,124$2,487.96 floor

Who should not buy this

A consultant should buy nothing yet if the work is occasional and no client deliverable needs recurring monitoring. Moz's free Domain Analysis, Keyword Explorer and Link Explorer tools can cover light research. Semrush Free, with one demo project and 10 reports per day across tools, can cover an initial test where those limits match the task.

Do not buy Moz Starter merely because $49 is the lowest displayed paid price. It covers one site, and the vendor page does not state its annual price or keyword allowance. If the consultancy already knows it needs three sites, one user and 300 keywords, Standard gives a more complete published basis for the decision. Do not choose Semrush Starter simply because AI visibility is fashionable. Its verified reason to exist in this comparison is AI visibility with 50 prompts per day and MCP access. If neither feature is part of the consultancy's work, Semrush SEO may be the more relevant comparison, or Moz may be enough at a lower base price.

Finally, do not commit to annual billing while a process is still being designed. A lower annual-equivalent number is useful only when the team expects to use the platform throughout that term. Test a real client workflow with the free options or the available trial, list the required sites and people, then price the plan that actually matches the list.

Our verdict

Moz Pro is the default recommendation for a solo consultant and a small, price-sensitive consultancy. Starter is $49 a month for one site, while Standard is $79 a month on annual billing for one user, three sites and 300 keywords. Medium is the more useful choice when 10 sites, 1,500 keywords and two users justify its $143 annual-equivalent monthly price.

For the named three-person consultancy, Moz Standard costs $177 per month on annual-equivalent pricing, or $2,124 across a year. Semrush SEO costs $207.33 per month using its additional-user starting figure, or a $2,487.96 annual planning floor. Moz wins that direct cost scenario, but Semrush earns the premium when five entry-level websites, 500 keywords per day, AI visibility, MCP access, 15-site capacity or API access is part of the service.

The answer to is Moz Pro worth it is therefore conditional. It is worth paying for when the free tools no longer cover recurring client work and the plan's published sites, keywords and seats match the team. It is not worth buying as a prestige line in the stack, and the extra-seat rule means the owner should model people before signing up. For the decision framework behind the checks, read the methodology.

Frequently asked questions

What is the short answer in a moz pro review for consultants?

Moz Pro is usually the better starting point for a solo consultant or a small team that needs a lower subscription cost. Semrush is the better specialist choice when its five-site entry plan, daily keyword capacity, AI visibility or higher portfolio tiers solve a named client-work requirement.

How much does Moz Pro cost for a three-person consultancy?

Moz Standard costs $79 per month when paid yearly and includes one user. Adding two seats at $49 per month makes the annual-equivalent total $177 per month, or $2,124 across 12 months. On monthly billing, the same plan and team cost $197 per month.

What is Moz Pro pricing for Starter, Standard, Medium and Large?

Starter costs $49 per month for one site, but the vendor page does not state an annual price or keyword allowance. Standard costs $99 monthly or $79 monthly when paid yearly, Medium costs $179 or $143, and Large costs $299 or $239. Standard, Medium and Large publish 3, 10 and 25 sites, with 300, 1,500 and 3,000 keywords respectively.

How much do extra Moz Pro seats cost?

Moz charges $49 per month for every additional user seat on Starter, Standard, Medium and Large. Standard includes one user, Medium includes two and Large includes three, so the plan choice changes how many seats are included but does not remove the extra-seat charge for a larger team.

What does Semrush cost for the same three-person team?

Semrush SEO costs $117.33 per month on annual billing and includes one user. Using the published additional-user starting figure of $45 per month, two more users bring the planning floor to $207.33 per month, or $2,487.96 across 12 months. Monthly billing gives a $229 planning floor before any report add-ons.

Which Semrush tier adds AI visibility or API access?

Semrush Starter is the first listed tier in these verified notes with AI visibility and 50 prompts per day, as well as MCP access. Advanced is the listed tier with API access. A consultancy should pay for those capabilities only when they support a defined service or workflow, not simply because a higher tier has a longer feature list.