SEO Tools for Small Agencies
Best SEO Tool for Small Agencies
Compare Semrush, Ahrefs and Moz Pro by agency cost, project caps, keyword limits and extra seats, with verified monthly scenarios.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
Ahrefs Lite is the cost winner for a five-client agency that needs five projects and one working user, at $129 per month or $25.80 per client in the named scenario. Semrush SEO is the runner-up for five websites and 500 keywords per day, while Moz Pro Medium costs more but provides 10 sites and 1,500 tracked keywords.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| Five client projects at the lowest named monthly total | Ahrefs Lite |
| Five websites and 500 keywords per day | Semrush SEO |
| Ten sites, two included users and 1,500 tracked keywords | Moz Pro Medium |
| A no-cost test with one demo project | Semrush Free |
| To avoid a paid platform until the workflow is proven | Buy nothing first |
- Ahrefs Lite
- $129/mo
- Cost per client
- $25.80
- Semrush SEO sites
- 5
- Moz Medium keywords
- 1,500
Overview
For a five-client agency, Ahrefs Lite is the best SEO tool for small agencies when cost per client and five project slots are the starting point. It costs $129 per month in the named scenario, or $25.80 per client. Semrush SEO is the runner-up at $139 per month, while Moz Pro Medium costs $179 but gives a larger 10-site allowance and two users.
This guide is for small agencies, consultants and compact in-house teams buying SEO software for a small agency. It compares Semrush, Ahrefs and Moz Pro using the vendor figures verified on 10 October 2026. The analysis focuses on a named five-client scenario, then shows where the arithmetic stops applying. For the wider category, see the SEO Tools for Small Agencies hub, Is Semrush worth it for a small agency?, and Semrush vs Moz for consultants.
How we chose
The comparison uses four cost questions. First, how many websites or projects does a paid plan publish, and is that a verified or unverified project allowance? Second, what keyword limit is actually stated, and is it a daily report allowance or a tracked-keyword cap? Third, what does the plan cost with monthly billing and with annual billing where the vendor publishes both? Fourth, what does an extra user cost when the owner, strategist and account lead all need access?
The scenario is called Northline Search. It runs SEO for five clients, has one website per client, and starts with one person operating the platform. The calculation assumes monthly billing, no add-ons, no credit overage and no second user. Those are scenario assumptions, not claims about how every agency structures its accounts. The per-client figure is the plan total divided by five client websites, so it is a way to expose the budget rather than a vendor quotation.
Every price and plan limit in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-10-10. Annual figures are shown as the vendor's published monthly price when billed annually. Where a source says that an annual monthly price, card requirement, overage or other figure is not stated, this guide says so rather than filling the gap.
Semrush
Best for five websites and daily keyword capacity Semrush SEO plan at $117.33/month annually
Semrush suits an agency that wants five websites and a clearly stated daily keyword-report allowance. Its 500 keywords per day is a different unit from a fixed tracked-keyword cap, so the team should match it to the reporting workflow.
The paid SEO plan is $117.33 per month with annual billing, or $139 monthly. It lists five websites and 500 keywords per day. Starter is $165.17 per month annually or $199 monthly, still with five websites, plus 500 keywords, AI visibility with 50 prompts per day and MCP access. Pro+ is $248.17 annually or $299 monthly for 15 websites and 1,500 keywords per day. Advanced is $455.67 annually or $549 monthly for 40 websites and 5,000 keywords per day, with API access.
For Northline Search, Semrush SEO costs $139 per month, or $27.80 per client per month across five client websites. With annual billing, the total published monthly price is $117.33, but the per-client arithmetic is not used as the comparison headline because the annual figure does not divide into five cents exactly. The monthly scenario is clean and shows the cost of keeping the five-site package available without adding an extra report product.
The extra-seat line is easy to miss. Semrush lists additional users from $45 per month, but the verified pricing does not state a single fixed price for every account or a plan-by-plan included-user allowance. Report add-ons are separate from the $139 scenario.
Semrush's weakness is the step between a five-site plan and the 15-site Pro+ plan. An agency with six client websites should not describe SEO or Starter as a six-site solution, and the verified notes do not state a smaller intermediate website tier. The headline can also hide a second-user decision because the extra-user price starts at $45 rather than appearing in the plan price. Read the methodology before treating a report add-on or user line as part of the base subscription.

Ahrefs
Best for five client projects at a low monthly total Ahrefs Lite at $129/month
Ahrefs is the strongest cost fit for the named five-client scenario because Lite publishes five unverified projects and unlimited verified projects for $129 per month. It includes one user, up to two additional users at $40 per month per user, 750 tracked keywords, 100,000 crawl credits per month and a 25,000-page maximum per project. Those limits give a small agency more concrete project capacity than the cheaper Starter plan.
Lite is the first published Ahrefs plan in this comparison with five unverified projects. It keeps unlimited verified projects, raises the tracked-keyword allowance to 750 and includes one user. The annual-billing monthly price is not stated. The pricing page says, “Pay annually, save up to 17%,” but that does not supply a monthly annual-billing figure, so the verified scenario uses the published $129 monthly price only.
For Northline Search, Ahrefs Lite costs $129 per month, which is $25.80 per client per month across five client projects. There is no extra-user charge in the one-operator scenario. If a second and third person need access, Lite lists up to two additional users at $40 per month per user, taking the calculated subscription total to $169 per month for three users, before any other add-on or usage charge. The per-client result in that three-user variation would be $33.80, so the owner should not call Lite a $25.80-per-client product once the team expands.
The weakness is that Lite's annual monthly price is not stated, and its one included user means the $129 scenario is not a three-person price. Standard is $249 monthly with one user and up to five additional users at $60 per user per month. Ahrefs also counts tracked keywords, crawl credits and project status separately, so five projects are not automatically five identical campaigns.
Moz Pro
Best for more sites and two included users Moz Pro Medium at $179/month
Moz Pro Medium suits a small agency that values a larger site allowance and two users more than the lowest monthly total. It publishes 10 sites and 1,500 keywords, which leaves room beyond Northline Search's five client websites. The two-user allowance is also explicit, unlike a comparison that would need to infer how many people can work inside a plan.
Moz Starter costs $49 per month and covers one site. Standard is $99 monthly or $79 per month yearly for one user, three sites and 300 keywords. Medium is $179 monthly or $143 per month yearly for two users, 10 sites and 1,500 keywords. Large is $299 monthly or $239 per month yearly for three users, 25 sites and 3,000 keywords. Moz lists a 20% annual discount and a free trial on Medium, while its free standalone products include Domain Analysis, Keyword Explorer and Link Explorer.
For Northline Search, Moz Pro Medium costs $179 per month, or $35.80 per client per month across five websites. The monthly total is higher than both Ahrefs Lite and Semrush SEO in the named scenario, but the comparison is not only about the cheapest card. Medium provides 10 sites, two users and 1,500 keywords, so the extra capacity may prevent an early upgrade for an agency that takes on more sites or shares work between a strategist and an account lead.
The second-user allowance is included in Medium's published terms. Moz lists additional user seats at $49 per month each on any plan level, so the team should add that amount separately if a third person needs access.
Moz's weakness is the cost of buying unused capacity. Standard's three-site cap cannot cover five client websites, while the verified notes do not state a separate site or keyword overage price. The free standalone tools are not the same as a paid Moz Pro plan with the listed site and keyword allowances.

Choose Moz Pro Medium when 10 sites, two users and 1,500 tracked keywords are worth the additional monthly cost. Choose Standard only when three sites are enough. For a small agency with five client websites, Medium is the first listed plan that covers the scenario without pretending that a one-site or three-site cap will stretch further than it does.
SEO pricing compared
The table uses the published monthly prices and the relevant project, website or keyword figures. “Annual monthly” means the vendor's monthly price when billed annually, not a converted yearly total. Ahrefs does not state the annual monthly price for Lite, Standard or Advanced, and Semrush's website counts should not be relabelled as a separate project cap.
| Plan | Annual monthly | Monthly | Published capacity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Semrush Free | $0 | $0 | 1 demo project, 10 reports/day |
| Semrush SEO | $117.33 | $139 | 5 websites, 500 keywords/day |
| Semrush Starter | $165.17 | $199 | 5 websites, 500 keywords |
| Semrush Pro+ | $248.17 | $299 | 15 websites, 1,500 keywords/day |
| Ahrefs Free | not applicable | $0 | Unlimited verified projects, 0 Rank Tracker keywords |
| Ahrefs Starter | not available | $29 | 1 unverified project, 50 Rank Tracker keywords |
| Ahrefs Lite | not stated | $129 | 5 unverified projects, 750 tracked keywords |
| Ahrefs Standard | not stated | $249 | 20 unverified projects, 2,000 tracked keywords |
| Moz Pro Standard | $79 | $99 | 3 sites, 300 keywords |
| Moz Pro Medium | $143 | $179 | 10 sites, 1,500 keywords |
| Moz Pro Large | $239 | $299 | 25 sites, 3,000 keywords |
Ahrefs Lite has the lowest monthly total in the five-client scenario, at $129, but it is not a universal cheapest plan. Ahrefs Starter is $29, yet its one unverified project allowance is the relevant constraint for an agency that has not verified five client properties. Semrush SEO is $139 and Moz Medium is $179 because each is being compared at a published capacity that covers five client websites or projects.
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is dividing an unavailable plan by the number of clients. Northline Search has five client websites, so Semrush SEO's five websites, Ahrefs Lite's five unverified projects and Moz Medium's 10 sites all fit the stated scenario. Semrush Free has one demo project, Ahrefs Starter has one unverified project, and Moz Standard has three sites. None of those smaller allowances should be stretched to five just because the price looks attractive.
The second trap is treating “verified” and “unverified” as interchangeable. Ahrefs Free and paid tiers publish unlimited verified projects, but Free has 0 unverified projects, Starter has 1, Lite has 5, Standard has 20 and Advanced has 50. The source does not say that every client property will be verified or that verification has no operational cost, so the comparison keeps the two categories visible. The five-project recommendation for Lite is based on its stated five unverified projects, not on an assumption that verification will solve every capacity issue.
The third trap is mixing monthly and annual figures. Semrush SEO is $117.33 per month annually and $139 monthly. Starter is $165.17 annually and $199 monthly, Pro+ is $248.17 annually and $299 monthly, and Advanced is $455.67 annually and $549 monthly. Moz Standard is $79 yearly and $99 monthly, Medium is $143 yearly and $179 monthly, and Large is $239 yearly and $299 monthly. Ahrefs says “Pay annually, save up to 17%” for Lite, Standard and Advanced, but their annual monthly prices are not stated, so no exact annual scenario is supplied here.
The fourth trap is adding seats after the buying decision. Semrush lists additional users from $45 per month, without a fixed plan-by-plan figure in the verified notes. Ahrefs Lite lists up to two extra users at $40 per month each, Standard lists up to five at $60 each, and Advanced lists up to 10 at $80 each. Moz charges $49 per additional user seat on any plan level. Those prices can change the per-client economics more than a small difference in the base plan.
The fifth trap is buying add-ons as though they are included. Semrush Base Report is $10 per month and Pro Report is $20 per month. Ahrefs Project Boost Pro is $20 per month per project and Project Boost Max is $200 per month per project. None of these is part of the base scenario, and Moz does not state a separate site or keyword overage price.
Who should not buy this
A small agency should buy nothing yet if it has not decided who owns keyword research, client reporting and the review of deliverables. A platform becomes an avoidable subscription when nobody can name the recurring task it will replace or improve. The $0 options are more sensible while the process is still being designed.
Stay on Semrush Free when one demo project and 10 reports per day are enough for a trial. It is a good test of reporting behaviour, not a five-client promise. Consider Ahrefs Free only when the team can work with 0 Rank Tracker keywords and has verified properties that fit its published free allowances. Those conditions are narrow, so do not call it a general replacement for Ahrefs Lite.
Do not buy Ahrefs Starter for five separate unverified client projects. The $29 price is real, but the one-project cap and unavailable additional users and credits make it wrong for Northline Search. Do not choose Semrush SEO for a sixth website without checking the next tier, because its published allowance is five websites. If three or fewer sites are enough, Moz Standard may be a closer fit than Medium.
Our verdict
Ahrefs Lite wins for Northline Search, the named five-client agency with one website per client and one operator. At $129 per month, it costs $25.80 per client and publishes five unverified projects, unlimited verified projects and 750 tracked keywords. The annual monthly price is not stated, so this verdict is based on the published monthly renewal price.
Semrush SEO is the runner-up when five websites and 500 keywords per day fit the agency's reporting method. It costs $139 per month, or $27.80 per client in the same scenario, and its annual price is $117.33 per month. Pick it instead when the daily keyword-report unit, its five-site package or its wider Semrush workflow is more useful than Ahrefs' tracked-keyword model.
Moz Pro Medium is the capacity choice, not the low-cost choice. Its $179 monthly price is $35.80 per client across five sites, but it publishes 10 sites, two users and 1,500 tracked keywords. An agency should pay that premium when the spare sites or second included user will be used, rather than buying capacity for its own sake.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best SEO tool for small agencies?
Ahrefs Lite is the best SEO tool for small agencies in the named five-client scenario because its $129 monthly price covers five unverified projects and 750 tracked keywords. Semrush SEO is the better alternative when five websites and 500 keywords per day match the agency's reporting process, while Moz Pro Medium is the choice for 10 sites and two users.
How much does SEO platform cost per month for five clients?
In the monthly-billing scenario, Ahrefs Lite costs $129, Semrush SEO costs $139 and Moz Pro Medium costs $179. Divided across five client websites or projects, those totals are $25.80, $27.80 and $35.80 per client per month respectively, before extra seats, add-ons or usage charges.
What does Semrush vs Ahrefs vs Moz cost per client?
For five clients, the named monthly costs are $27.80 per client for Semrush SEO, $25.80 for Ahrefs Lite and $35.80 for Moz Pro Medium. The figures compare plans that cover the scenario, not the cheapest entry card from each vendor, so Ahrefs Starter at $29 is excluded because it lists one unverified project.
Does Ahrefs publish an annual price for Lite?
Ahrefs says “Pay annually, save up to 17%” for Lite, but the annual-billing monthly price is not stated in the verified pricing. The exact published price used in this guide is $129 per month with monthly renewal, so no annual per-client figure is assigned.
How many client websites can Moz Pro Medium cover?
Moz Pro Medium publishes a 10-site allowance and 1,500 keywords, with two users. It covers the five-site scenario, and an extra user is $49 per month; no separate site overage price is stated.
Are extra seats included in SEO software pricing?
The answer differs by plan. Ahrefs Lite includes one user and lists up to two additional users at $40 per month per user, Moz Medium lists two users and charges $49 per additional user, and Semrush lists additional users from $45 per month without stating a fixed plan-by-plan figure in the verified notes.
Should a small agency stay on a free SEO plan?
Stay free when the team is still testing the workflow or the published limits genuinely fit the work. Semrush Free has one demo project and 10 reports per day, while Ahrefs Free has 0 Rank Tracker keywords and 0 unverified projects; Moz lists free standalone tools and a Medium trial rather than a free Moz Pro plan with a stated site allowance.