SEO Tools for Small Agencies

Ahrefs vs Semrush for Small Agencies

Ahrefs and Semrush compared for small agencies, with verified project limits, credit allowances, seats and monthly costs.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026

The short answer

Ahrefs Starter is the lower-cost choice for an agency that can verify three client projects and work within 200 credits per month. Semrush SEO costs more but offers five websites and a published annual monthly price, while Ahrefs does not publish an annual monthly-equivalent price for its higher tiers.

If you needChoose
The lowest published entry price for verified projectsAhrefs Starter
A published annual monthly-equivalent priceSemrush SEO
Five websites in the entry paid tierSemrush SEO
200 monthly credits and one unverified projectAhrefs Starter
AI visibility prompts and MCP accessSemrush Starter
Ahrefs Starter
$29/month
Semrush SEO annual
$117.33/month
Ahrefs Starter credits
200/month
Semrush SEO websites
5

Overview

For a small agency choosing between the two, Ahrefs is the winner for a lean, project-led operation, while Semrush is the runner-up for a team that wants a broader published website allowance and clearer annual pricing. That is the practical ahrefs vs semrush answer when the budget is tied to client projects: Ahrefs Starter costs $29/month and includes 200 credits, one unverified project and unlimited verified projects; Semrush SEO costs $117.33/month with annual billing or $139 monthly and includes five websites.

The decision is about how a client roster becomes workspaces, how much usage the entry plan permits, and what happens when a second person needs access. Ahrefs uses credits and project verification. Semrush uses websites, reports, keywords and, on Starter, AI visibility prompts. The verified pricing notes do not describe a Semrush credit allowance.

This guide is for agencies and consultants managing several client accounts. It covers Ahrefs pricing, Semrush pricing and SEO platform cost per month for three projects. See the SEO Tools for Small Agencies hub, whether Semrush is worth it for a small agency, and Semrush vs Moz for consultants.

How we chose

The comparison uses four decision tests. First, what does the free tier actually permit before an agency pays? Second, how many projects or websites can the entry paid tier support, and which limits govern actual work? Third, what does a second seat or a second client project cost? Fourth, can the vendor's published price be used to build a defensible monthly budget rather than a promotional headline?

Every price and limit in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, the date in the front matter. Annual and monthly figures remain separate because they represent different commitments. No currency has been converted, and no figure is supplied where the verified pricing files record that it is not stated.

The comparison treats a project as an agency work unit, not as an identical vendor object. Ahrefs lists verified and unverified projects. Semrush lists websites, so the three-client scenario assumes one website per client; a multi-site client uses the allowance faster.

Ahrefs

Best for a lean project roster Ahrefs Starter is $29/month with 200 credits

Ahrefs suits a small agency that wants the entry price to stay close to the cost of one modest internal tool while its client work is organised around verified projects. Starter is the crucial plan for this decision. It is $29/month, renews monthly only, has no annual billing available, and includes 200 credits/month, one unverified project, unlimited verified projects, 500 additional credits usable on verified projects, and 5,000 additional crawl credits per verified project/month.

These are gates, not interchangeable allowances. Three verified client projects fit the unlimited verified-project allowance, but only one unverified project is included. Starter also sets 500 maximum pages and 10,000 crawl credits/month for an unverified project, alongside 5,000 crawl credits per verified project/month.

Ahrefs publishes 200 credits/month on Starter and 500 additional credits usable on verified projects, but the verified record does not define which report or action spends one credit. Treat 200 as a usage allowance, not as a fixed number of audits or reports.

Starter includes five keyword lists with 100 keywords per list, 50 Rank Tracker keywords, up to 800 SEO Toolbar SERPs with metrics/month, 250 maximum rows per report, one month of historical data and 25 maximum Top Pages rows. No export rows/month are stated.

Ahrefs Free is $0, but it is a test environment rather than a free agency platform: 0 credits/month, 0 additional users, 0 unverified projects, unlimited verified projects and 500 additional credits usable on verified projects. It also has no historical data, exports, keyword lists or Rank Tracker keywords; the verified file separately lists 5,000 crawl credits per verified project/month.

For three client projects, the named Ahrefs scenario is straightforward if all three are verified: Ahrefs Starter costs $29/month. If the agency needs two unverified projects, Starter cannot supply the second one as an add-on. The next published plan is Lite at $129/month, with five unverified projects and unlimited verified projects, but its annual monthly price is not stated. That is a plan change, not a $29 project surcharge.

Seats create a second boundary. Starter includes 0 additional users, and additional users and credits are not available for purchase. A second person cannot simply be added to Starter at a verified seat price. Lite includes one user and up to two additional users at $40/month per user, so a two-person Lite workspace costs $169/month before any terms not stated in the record. Standard includes one user and up to five additional users at $60/month per user; Advanced includes one user and up to ten at $80/month per user.

Lite is $129/month, Standard is $249/month and Advanced is $449/month. For each, the annual monthly price is not stated, although the pricing page says “Pay annually, save up to 17%.” Enterprise is $1,499/month with an annual commitment required, and its annual-billing monthly price is also not stated.

Starter's weaknesses are its seat and unverified-project restrictions, the unstated credit spend per action, and the absent annual monthly-equivalent prices on larger plans. Additional credits cost $50 per 500 billed monthly, or $300/year for 500 additional credits/month with annual prepay, but annual prepay is not available on Starter.

Use Ahrefs Starter when projects can be verified, one person is enough and 200 credits/month fits the process. Move to Lite when two unverified projects or a second user is required, budgeting $169/month for two Lite users. The methodology explains why unstated prices and credit rules remain unfilled.

Semrush

Best for five-site coverage and clearer annual pricing Semrush SEO is $117.33/month annually

Semrush suits an agency that wants five websites in the paid entry plan and a usable annual monthly-equivalent price. Its free tier is $0 with one demo project and 10 reports/day across tools, enough to test but not to assume a standing client-service allowance.

The paid SEO tier is $117.33/month with annual billing, or $139 monthly. It includes five websites and 500 keywords/day. For an agency representing one client project by one website, three client projects fit within the five-website allowance at the named cost of $117.33/month annually or $139/month month to month. The verified record does not list a separate project add-on price, so the second project has no stated incremental charge while the account remains within the five websites.

Semrush Starter costs $165.17/month with annual billing, or $199 monthly. It includes five websites and 500 keywords, plus AI visibility with 50 prompts/day and MCP access. SEO's allowance is 500 keywords/day, while Starter's is recorded as 500 keywords, so the two must not be silently equated.

For three projects represented by three websites, Starter is $165.17/month annually or $199 monthly, $47.84 more than SEO annually and $60 more month to month. The step up makes sense only when AI visibility prompts or MCP access will be used.

Semrush does not publish a credit allowance in the verified record. Its plans use websites, reports, keywords and AI visibility prompts, so this guide does not claim that a report, query or prompt consumes an Ahrefs-style credit.

A second seat is less certain than a second website. Semrush lists additional users from $45/month, but the supplied notes do not state the users included in SEO or Starter. Budget $45/month as the published add-on starting point, not as a complete two-seat total.

The Semrush pricing page
Semrush pricing, captured 2 October 2026

Semrush's weaknesses are its higher entry price, free tier of one demo project and 10 reports/day, and lack of a comparable published credit allowance. The SEO and Starter keyword wording must also be kept distinct before promising research volume.

Choose Semrush SEO when five websites, 500 keywords/day and a published annual monthly price matter more than the lowest entry cost. Choose Starter only when its AI visibility prompts or MCP access will be used. Keep the five-website cap visible in the client roster.

Pricing compared

The table uses verified prices and limits relevant to three client projects. Annual figures are monthly equivalents only where published. The Semrush scenario uses one website per project as a budgeting proxy.

PlanAnnual monthly priceMonthly priceProject or website allowanceMain usage allowance
Ahrefs FreeNot applicable$0Unlimited verified, 0 unverified0 credits/month; 500 additional credits on verified projects
Ahrefs StarterNot available$29Unlimited verified, 1 unverified200 credits/month
Ahrefs LiteNot stated$129Unlimited verified, 5 unverified1,000 credits/user/month
Semrush Free$0$01 demo project10 reports/day across tools
Semrush SEO$117.33$1395 websites500 keywords/day
Semrush Starter$165.17$1995 websites500 keywords, 50 AI prompts/day

For three verified Ahrefs projects, Starter is the lowest named monthly cost at $29/month. For three Semrush projects represented by three websites, SEO is $117.33/month annually or $139 monthly. If the agency needs two unverified Ahrefs projects, the comparison changes to Lite at $129/month, and no annual monthly-equivalent price is stated for that plan. If it needs AI visibility prompts or MCP access, Semrush Starter is $165.17/month annually or $199 monthly.

Ahrefs is not cheaper for every workflow: its lower price comes with one unverified project, 200 credits/month, no additional Starter users and no additional Starter credits for purchase. Semrush costs more, but five websites absorb a second in-cap project without a separately listed project charge.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is confusing a project cap with a client cap. Ahrefs allows unlimited verified projects but only one unverified project, so $29/month for three clients works only when all are verified. Semrush allows five websites, not five clients, so multi-site clients use the allowance faster.

The second trap is treating a credit as a report. Ahrefs publishes 200 credits/month on Starter, 1,000 credits/user/month on Lite and unlimited credits/user on Standard and Advanced, but not which action consumes one. Do not convert 200 credits into a fixed number of audits, exports, keywords or reports.

The third trap is assuming Semrush has an equivalent credit bucket. Its notes list 10 reports/day on Free, 500 keywords/day on SEO, 500 keywords on Starter and 50 AI visibility prompts/day, but no credit allowance. Comparing Ahrefs' 200 credits with Semrush's 500 keywords is false precision.

The fourth trap is the annual price gap. Semrush publishes annual monthly equivalents for its listed paid tiers. Ahrefs Starter is monthly only; Lite, Standard and Advanced say “Pay annually, save up to 17%,” but their annual monthly prices are not stated. Enterprise requires an annual commitment and its annual-billing monthly price is also not stated. Do not turn those saving claims into invented equivalents.

The fifth trap is a second seat. Ahrefs Starter includes zero additional users and sells no additional users or credits. Lite charges $40/month per added user, Standard $60/month and Advanced $80/month. Semrush says additional users are from $45/month, but its included base seats are not stated, so do not invent a two-seat total.

The sixth trap is assuming a second project has a universal add-on price. Ahrefs requires a higher plan for another unverified project, with no Starter project add-on. Semrush includes a second website within five, but no project add-on fee or full counting rule is stated.

The seventh trap is adding usage packs to the wrong plan. Ahrefs lists $50 per 500 additional credits monthly or $300/year for 500 additional credits/month with annual prepay, but annual prepay is unavailable on Starter. Semrush lists Base Report at $10/month and Pro Report at $20/month, without defining them as projects or seats.

Do not use a higher cap as proof of better outcomes. Record each project owner, required seats, usage-creating actions and billing preference before comparing headline prices.

Who should not buy this

An agency should not buy either platform simply because every client account appears to need a dashboard. The right answer can be a free tier, a short evaluation or no new subscription while the team defines how research becomes deliverable work.

  1. Stay on Ahrefs Free when the team can work with 0 credits/month, no unverified projects, no keyword lists and no Rank Tracker keywords, while using the listed verified-project allowances. That is a narrow test case, not a promise of a free production workflow.
  2. Stay on Semrush Free when one demo project and 10 reports/day across tools are enough to validate the process. Do not sell a recurring client service on the assumption that the free tier has the paid plan's five websites.
  3. Do not buy Ahrefs Starter for a team that needs two unverified projects or a second user. The plan's one unverified project and zero additional users are hard limits in the verified record, and additional users and credits are not available for purchase.
  4. Do not buy Semrush Starter solely for the label. Pay the higher price only when 50 AI visibility prompts/day or MCP access will be used. If the team needs only the five websites and 500 keywords/day, Semrush SEO is the more economical published option.
  5. Do not buy either tool when no one owns usage review, client verification, account separation or report delivery. The subscription will add another place to maintain data without solving the agency's process problem.

A pilot should name three clients, classify each project or website, and record actual usage before the agency chooses a paid platform.

Our verdict: ahrefs vs semrush for small agencies

Choose Ahrefs Starter for the lowest-cost three-project scenario when all three projects can be verified, one user is enough, and 200 credits/month is a workable allowance. The named cost is $29/month. If the second project would be unverified or a second user is essential, move the comparison to Ahrefs Lite at $129/month, with the warning that its annual monthly-equivalent price is not stated.

Choose Semrush SEO when the agency values five websites, 500 keywords/day and a published annual budget more than the lowest entry price. Three client projects represented by three websites cost $117.33/month with annual billing or $139 monthly. Choose Semrush Starter at $165.17/month annually or $199 monthly only when its 50 AI visibility prompts/day and MCP access justify the step up.

Ahrefs wins the entry-price decision, while Semrush wins annual planning and entry-tier website allowance. Neither has a universal credit-efficiency win because Ahrefs' credit spend and Semrush's credit allowance are not stated. See the best SEO tool for small agencies.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better in ahrefs vs semrush for a small agency?

Ahrefs is better when projects can be verified, one user is enough and the lowest entry price matters. Semrush is better when five websites and a published annual monthly-equivalent price matter more.

How much does Ahrefs cost for three client projects?

Ahrefs Starter costs $29/month for three projects if all are verified. Three unverified projects require Ahrefs Lite at $129/month; its annual monthly-equivalent price is not stated.

How much does Semrush cost for three client projects?

With one website per project, Semrush SEO costs $117.33/month annually or $139 monthly for three projects. Starter costs $165.17/month annually or $199 monthly for the same allowance, adding AI visibility prompts and MCP access.

What does one Ahrefs credit pay for?

The files state each plan's credit allowance, but not which report or action consumes one credit. Do not describe 200 Starter credits as a fixed number of audits or exports.

Does Semrush use credits like Ahrefs?

The verified Semrush record does not publish a credit allowance. It lists reports, keywords and AI visibility prompts instead, so these cannot be treated as Ahrefs credits.

What does a second Ahrefs seat cost?

Ahrefs Starter includes zero additional users, and none are available for purchase on that plan. Lite allows up to two additional users at $40/month each; Standard lists $60/month and Advanced $80/month.

What does a second Semrush seat cost?

Semrush lists additional users from $45/month. Included users for SEO and Starter are not stated, so this is not a complete two-seat total.

Is Ahrefs annual pricing published for small agencies?

Ahrefs Starter is monthly only. Lite, Standard and Advanced say “Pay annually, save up to 17%,” but their annual monthly-equivalent prices are not stated.