AI Meeting Notes

Otter.ai Alternatives for Consultants

Compare Fireflies, Fathom and Granola on verified prices, storage, bot-free capture and the Otter seat caps that force a switch.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 11 October 2026

The short answer

Fireflies is the strongest destination for client-facing capture, Fathom is the best free-archive alternative, and Granola is the clearest bot-free notes option. A six-person consultancy cannot use Otter Pro because its maximum is five billed users, so the switch should be priced against a purchasable plan rather than the cheaper headline seat.

If you needChoose
Bot-free capture for client callsFireflies, Granola, or Fathom beta on Mac
The strongest free recording archiveFathom Free (opens in a new tab)
Bot-free notes with a simple paid priceGranola Business (opens in a new tab)
Storage measured in minutes per seatFireflies Pro (opens in a new tab)
A destination for a six-person teamFireflies, Fathom, or Granola

Check current pricing at the source

Every figure in this guide was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date stamped above. Vendors change plans without notice, so confirm the number before you commit.

Five-seat Otter Pro
$499.80/year
Otter Pro billed users
5
Fireflies Pro storage
8,000 min/seat
Granola Business seat
$14/month

Overview

For a consultancy leaving Otter, Fireflies is the best overall destination, Fathom is the runner-up for a free archive, and Granola is the most direct choice for readable notes from bot-free capture. Those are the practical otter.ai alternatives because each solves the reason a client-facing team normally switches: capture without a visible bot, a more useful archive, or a plan that does not stop at five billed users. Otter Pro allows a maximum of five billed users, so a six-person team has to price Otter Business or move elsewhere.

This is a switching guide, not a defence of Otter. The relevant comparison is the destination a consultancy can buy today and the migration risk it accepts. Fireflies offers Chrome-extension recording without its bot, Fathom offers bot-free capture in beta for Mac, and Granola lists bot-free device-audio capture on all three plans. Otter's checked pricing information does not state a bot-free capture option.

The rest of the page compares each destination, gives five-person and six-person scenarios, and explains the Otter cap that creates the forced decision. It also sets out what to export before cancellation. For the wider category, start with the AI Meeting Notes hub and compare the best AI meeting notes for consultancies before committing to a replacement.

How we chose

The criteria are deliberately practical. First is capture method: can a consultancy record without a bot visibly joining, and what qualification applies? Second is archive capacity: minutes, recordings, call storage or history, using the vendor's own definition rather than treating every limit as equivalent. Third is the real cost for five and six people, including annual-rate and monthly figures where they are published. Fourth is the migration risk, especially transcripts, recordings, integrations and any Otter plan boundary that makes the old price unavailable.

Every price and plan limit in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 11 October 2026. Annual figures are the vendor's annual-billing monthly equivalent. Twelve-month totals are budget arithmetic based on the stated recurring price and exclude tax, currency conversion and unstated terms.

A bot-free route is not the same as permission to record. The agency still needs a client-facing recording policy and a clear way to inform participants.

Fireflies for consultants

Best for client-facing switching Fireflies $10/seat/month annual Pro

Fireflies is the strongest destination when the reason for leaving Otter is a visible notetaker bot. Its pricing page confirms recording through a Chrome extension without the Fireflies bot joining the call. That is a concrete workflow distinction for consultants who cannot make a client meeting look like an extra participant has been invited. It does not remove the need to tell the client that the call is being recorded.

The free archive is limited to 400 minutes of storage per seat, pooled across a Free team. Pro costs $10 per seat per month annually or $18 monthly and includes 8,000 minutes of storage per seat, unlimited transcription, unlimited AI summaries and 20 AI credits. Business costs $19 per seat per month annually or $29 monthly, with unlimited storage, unlimited transcription, unlimited AI summaries and 30 AI credits. Enterprise is $39 per seat per month, annual only, but that is not a useful small-consultancy default.

The plan choice is about archive shape as much as capture. Pro gives a measured per-seat allowance; Business removes the storage ceiling and adds conversation intelligence, sentiment, talk-time analytics and Autofill CRM updates for supported records. Choose Business only when those workflows will be used.

A five-person consultancy on Fireflies Pro pays $50 per month at the annual rate, or $600 over twelve months. The same five seats on Business cost $95 per month annually, or $1,140 over twelve months. For six people, Pro costs $60 per month annually, or $720 over twelve months, while Business costs $114 per month annually, or $1,368 over twelve months. The sources do not state a numeric Fireflies team-member maximum, so these scenarios are arithmetic rather than a claim of unlimited seats.

The Fireflies pricing page
Fireflies pricing, captured 11 October 2026

Fathom for consultants

Best for a free archive Fathom $0 with unlimited recordings and storage

Fathom suits a consultancy that wants to preserve a large recording archive without starting with a paid subscription. Free costs $0 and includes unlimited recordings, unlimited storage and unlimited transcriptions. Advanced AI summaries are capped at 5 per month, so the free plan gives an expansive record but not an unlimited supply of its most advanced summaries. That difference should be tested against how many polished recaps the team actually produces.

Fathom gives a client-facing team a choice of bot-free capture in beta for Mac or bot capture. A mixed-device team should confirm that its actual calls fit the beta option before cancelling Otter.

Premium costs $16 per user per month annually or $20 monthly. Team costs $15 per user per month annually or $19 monthly, with a two-user minimum. Business costs $25 per user per month annually or $34 monthly, also with a two-user minimum. All plans list unlimited recordings, call storage, transcription and downloads or clips. Business adds CRM field sync and automatic CRM record updates after meetings, which is the relevant paid step when the notes need to update a client record rather than remain a separate archive.

For a five-person consultancy, Fathom Team costs $75 per month at the annual rate, or $900 over twelve months. For six people, the annual-rate cost is $90 per month, or $1,080 over twelve months. The two-user minimum matters mainly to a solo consultant.

The Fathom pricing page
Fathom pricing, captured 11 October 2026

Granola for consultants

Best for bot-free notes Granola $14/user/month Business

Granola is the clearest destination for bot-free device-audio capture and readable notes. Basic, Business and Enterprise all list that capture method, making it relevant when a visible bot is unacceptable.

Basic costs $0 and includes unlimited meeting notes, AI chat, shared folders, templates and multilingual support. Its decisive limit is history: notes remain viewable and searchable for 30 days, then an upgrade is required for unlimited history. The verified source does not say that notes are deleted at the boundary, so the safe buying conclusion is narrower: Basic is not a free promise of a searchable archive beyond 30 days.

Business costs $14 per user per month and includes unlimited notes and history, advanced AI features, listed integrations, centralized billing and user management, MCP and API access. The pricing page does not make an explicit CRM-sync claim. Enterprise costs $35 per user per month, but is not needed for the five- or six-person scenario.

A five-person consultancy on Granola Business pays $70 per monthly charge, or $840 over twelve monthly charges. Six people pay $84 per month, or $1,008 over twelve monthly charges. Granola publishes no annual prices, so neither total is an annual-billing quote or discount. This is a material distinction from Fireflies, Fathom and Otter annual-rate scenarios.

The Granola pricing page
Granola pricing, captured 11 October 2026

Otter.ai alternatives compared

The table uses the lowest practical paid destination for each five- and six-person scenario where a paid plan is needed. Fathom Team is shown because it has the lowest published paid annual rate among Fathom's paid plans, while Granola is shown at its published monthly Business price because no annual price is published. Storage and history are reproduced in the terms used by the verified sources.

Destination and planAnnual-rate price per seatFive-person costSix-person costStorage or history allowance
Fireflies Pro$10/month annually$50/month, $600 over 12 months$60/month, $720 over 12 months8,000 minutes per seat
Fireflies Business$19/month annually$95/month, $1,140 over 12 months$114/month, $1,368 over 12 monthsUnlimited storage
Fathom Free$0$0$0Unlimited recordings, storage and transcriptions; 5 advanced summaries/month
Fathom Team$15/month annually$75/month, $900 over 12 months$90/month, $1,080 over 12 monthsUnlimited recordings and call storage
Granola Basic$0$0$030 days of history
Granola Business$14/month, no annual price$70/month, $840 over 12 charges$84/month, $1,008 over 12 chargesUnlimited history
Otter Pro$8.33/month annually$41.65/month, $499.80 over 12 monthsNot available, cap of 5 billed usersUnlimited storage; 1,200 recording minutes/month
Otter Business$19.99/month annually$99.95/month, $1,199.40 over 12 months$119.94/month, $1,439.28 over 12 monthsUnlimited meetings and recordings; 4-hour maximum per conversation

At five people, Fireflies Pro is $8.35 per month more than Otter Pro at annual rates, Fathom Team is $33.35 more, and Granola Business is $28.35 more. Those differences buy different escape routes: bot-free Chrome capture, an unlimited free archive, or bot-free notes with unlimited paid history. At six people, Otter Pro drops out entirely.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating Otter Pro's price as a general small-team price. Pro costs $8.33 per user per month with annual billing, but the plan has a maximum of five billed users. Five is not a soft recommendation or a point where the price changes. It is the verified cap. A consultancy with six people cannot keep multiplying the Pro price by adding one more billed user.

The next published Otter option is Business. It costs $19.99 per user per month annually or $30 monthly, and the plan lists a maximum of 25 billed users. For six people, that means $119.94 per month at the annual rate, compared with the unavailable six-seat Pro arithmetic of $49.98. The unavailable figure should never appear in a buying recommendation because it is not a purchasable six-person plan. The real Otter choice is Business at $119.94, or a destination whose six-seat plan fits the workflow.

Business lists unlimited meetings and recordings, a four-hour maximum per conversation, three concurrent meetings and admin features. Pro lists 1,200 in-app recording minutes, a 90-minute maximum and unlimited storage. A team may be responding to both the user cap and a need for longer recordings, while Otter's verified information does not state bot-free capture.

Annual and monthly billing also change the switch calculation. Five Otter Pro seats are $41.65 per month at the annual rate, but $84.95 monthly. Five Fireflies Pro seats are $50 annually or $90 monthly. Granola has no published annual price, so its five-seat Business scenario stays at $70 per monthly charge.

Export before cancelling Otter

A switch should begin with an export inventory. Before ending Otter, preserve the transcripts that still matter and the recordings where audio adds context. The verified pricing files do not state a universal export format or migration tool, so test a small batch and open the files before cancelling.

Next, list every integration connected to the Otter workspace. Otter Pro lists Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier, so the owner should record which workflows use those connections, what data is sent, and who will recreate them in the destination. Fireflies Business lists Autofill CRM updates for supported records, and Fathom Business lists CRM field sync and automatic CRM record updates. Granola Business lists integrations, but the checked source does not confirm CRM sync. Those distinctions should shape the migration plan rather than being collapsed into a generic integrations checklist.

Finally, record who starts a call, how clients are informed, which folders matter and which summaries need review. Run a client-safe pilot, confirm that capture and retrieval work, then cancel Otter, especially when six people no longer fit Pro.

Who should not buy an alternative

A replacement is not automatically the right answer. Stay on Otter Basic when calls are occasional and its published free limits fit: 300 transcription minutes per month, a 30-minute maximum, the 25 most recent conversations, up to five workspace members and 20 AI chat queries per user. It is not a six-person solution.

Do not buy Otter Business merely to avoid the five-user cap if the actual requirement is bot-free capture. The checked pricing information does not state a bot-free Otter route. A consultancy should instead test Fireflies Chrome capture, Granola device-audio capture, or Fathom's beta Mac route, then apply its recording policy before a client call.

Do not buy Granola Business if no one needs history beyond 30 days. Do not buy Fireflies Business when Pro's 8,000 minutes per seat cover the archive, or pay for Fathom Team when Free's archive and five advanced summaries per month are sufficient. Buy nothing if no one owns transcript review or the client will not consent to the capture method.

Our verdict

Choose Fireflies Pro as the default destination for a client-facing consultancy that needs a documented bot-free route. Five seats cost $50 per month at the annual rate and six cost $60, with 8,000 minutes of storage per seat. Choose Fireflies Business at $19 per seat annually when unlimited storage, conversation intelligence or Autofill CRM updates will be used.

Choose Fathom Free when the priority is unlimited recordings, storage and transcriptions at $0, and the team can live with five advanced AI summaries per month. Choose Fathom Team when paid collaboration features are needed, accepting the two-user minimum and the beta qualification on bot-free Mac capture.

Choose Granola when readable notes and bot-free device-audio capture matter more than a minute-storage allowance. Basic is free for a 30-day history, while Business costs $14 per user per month with no annual price published. For five people that is $840 over twelve monthly charges, and for six it is $1,008.

Otter Pro remains the lowest named paid seat price for five or fewer, at $8.33 per user per month annually, but six people need Business at $19.99, not Pro. Export transcripts, recordings and integration details before choosing the destination that removes the constraint. The methodology explains the verification standard used here.

Frequently asked questions

Which otter.ai alternatives can record without a bot?

Fireflies lists recording through a Chrome extension without the Fireflies bot joining. Granola lists bot-free device-audio capture on Basic, Business and Enterprise, while Fathom offers bot-free capture in beta for Mac or bot capture. The checked Otter information does not state a bot-free capture option.

Why does a six-person consultancy outgrow Otter Pro?

Otter Pro has a maximum of five billed users, so six people cannot all use that plan. The next published Otter tier is Business, which allows up to 25 billed users and costs $19.99 per user per month with annual billing. That cap, rather than the Pro seat price alone, is the key switching trigger.

What does Otter ai pricing look like for five people?

Five Otter Pro seats cost $41.65 per month at the annual rate, or $499.80 over twelve months. At the monthly rate of $16.99 per user, five seats cost $84.95 per month. Otter Business costs $99.95 per month for five seats at its annual rate, or $150 monthly.

What is the cheapest free Otter alternative for recordings?

Fathom Free costs $0 and includes unlimited recordings, storage and transcriptions. Its advanced AI summaries are capped at five per month, so the archive is unlimited while the advanced summary output is not. Granola Basic is also free, but its history is 30 days, and Fireflies Free has 400 minutes of storage per seat pooled across a Free team.

How much does Fireflies cost for six consultants?

Fireflies Pro costs $60 per month at the annual rate for six seats, or $720 over twelve months. Fireflies Business costs $114 per month annually, or $1,368 over twelve months. Pro lists 8,000 minutes of storage per seat, while Business lists unlimited storage.

Is Granola an Otter ai alternative for consultants?

Yes, when the consultancy wants bot-free device-audio capture and readable notes. Granola Basic is free with 30 days of history, while Business costs $14 per user per month and includes unlimited history. Granola's checked pricing page lists integrations, but it does not confirm a CRM-sync claim.

What should an agency export before leaving Otter?

Preserve the transcripts and recordings that the team may need for delivery, renewals or disputes, then inventory Otter integrations such as Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier. Test a small export and open the files before cancellation because the verified sources do not state a universal export format or migration tool. Also document the recording owner, client notice process, folders and downstream workflows.

Does Fathom Team have a minimum number of seats?

Yes. Fathom Team has a two-user minimum, and Business also has a two-user minimum. That does not change the five- or six-person scenarios in this guide, but it matters for a solo consultant deciding between Free and a paid plan.