AI Meeting Notes
Granola Review for Consultants
Granola's free history limit, paid pricing, bot-free capture and competitor costs explained for client-facing consultancies.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 11 October 2026
The short answer
Granola suits consultants who want readable, bot-free notes, but its free Basic plan keeps history to 30 days before an upgrade is required. Business costs $14 per user per month with no annual price published, so a consultancy should price the archive it needs, not just free capture.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| Readable notes without a meeting bot | Granola (opens in a new tab) |
| A free archive beyond 30 days | Not Granola Basic |
| Bot-free capture with minute storage tiers | Fireflies (opens in a new tab) |
| Unlimited free recording and storage | Fathom (opens in a new tab) |
| The lowest paid seat price | Otter Pro (opens in a new tab) |
Check current pricing at the source
- Check current Fireflies.ai pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Otter.ai pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Fathom pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Granola pricing (opens in a new tab)
Every figure in this guide was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date stamped above. Vendors change plans without notice, so confirm the number before you commit.
- Granola Business
- $14/user
- Basic history
- 30 days
- Four-person annual
- $672
- Bot-free capture
- All plans
Overview
Granola is the winner for a consultant who wants readable notes from bot-free capture. Otter Pro is the runner-up for a team of up to five billed users that wants the lowest named paid seat price and can fit its limits. That is the practical granola review answer. Granola Basic includes unlimited meeting notes, but history is retained for 30 days before an upgrade is required for unlimited history.
The history rule matters because a consultancy needs more than today's recap. A team may return to a discovery call during a renewal, scope question, handoff or dispute. Basic can cover immediate follow-up, but the free workflow does not provide a free searchable record for older client engagements. Its real cost is the archive an agency loses when past work moves beyond the 30-day window.
Granola is a note-enhancing option rather than a free long-term archive. Basic, Business and Enterprise list bot-free, device-audio capture, and the pricing page says audio is deleted after transcription. No physical recording-storage location is verified here. For category context, see the AI Meeting Notes hub, best AI meeting notes for consultancies and Granola vs Otter for consultants.
How we chose
The first test is capture. Granola lists bot-free device-audio capture on all three plans. Fireflies lists recording through its Chrome extension without the Fireflies bot joining. Fathom offers bot-free capture in beta for Mac or bot capture. The checked Otter sources do not state a bot-free capture option, so none is claimed.
The second test is archive usefulness. Granola Basic uses a 30-day history rule. Fireflies publishes storage in minutes, Fathom publishes unlimited recordings, call storage and transcripts on Free, and Otter Pro publishes unlimited storage. A plan's storage allowance is omitted when the verified files do not state one. Physical storage locations are not compared because none is verified.
The third test is real cost. Four-person totals multiply exact per-user prices by four and by twelve. They exclude tax, currency conversion, custom pricing, optional add-ons and fees the sources do not state. Every price and plan limit was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 11 October 2026, matching the front matter. Granola publishes no annual prices, so no annual discount or annual Granola quote is inferred. The checking standard is explained in the methodology.
Granola review: plans for consultants
Best for readable, bot-free notes Granola $14/user/month Business
Granola Basic suits a consultant who wants AI meeting notes without a meeting bot appearing in the call. It is free and includes unlimited meeting notes, AI chat, shared folders, templates and multilingual support. Bot-free, device-audio capture is listed on Basic, Business and Enterprise, making the capture method the clearest reason to consider Granola for client work.
The decisive Basic limit is history. Notes remain viewable and searchable for 30 days, then an upgrade is required for unlimited history. This is not a monthly note quota, and the verified page does not say that notes are deleted at the boundary. The safe buying conclusion is that a free workflow cannot promise a searchable record beyond 30 days without a paid decision.
Granola Business costs $14/user/month. It includes unlimited meeting notes and history, advanced AI models and features, integrations with Attio, Notion, HubSpot, Affinity and Zapier, centralized billing and user management, MCP and API access. The source does not call these CRM sync, so this review does not describe them as CRM write-back. Business is the paid answer when history, rather than note volume, is the constraint.
A four-person consultancy on Business pays $56 per month, or $672 over twelve monthly charges. The $672 figure is a budget scenario, not a published annual plan. Granola publishes no annual prices for Business or Enterprise. A five-person team would pay $70 per month at the same published rate.
Enterprise is $35/user/month. It adds enterprise security and administration controls, SSO, priority support and usage analytics, organisation-wide auto-deletion periods, sharing and API controls, and an organisation-wide model-training opt-out. The source publishes no annual Enterprise price, so a small agency should not buy it merely to solve Basic's history boundary.

Fireflies for consultants
Best for bot-free recording with measured storage Fireflies $10/seat/month annual Pro
Fireflies suits a client-facing team that needs a documented route to record without the Fireflies bot joining. Its Chrome extension provides that bot-free capture method. This is a different emphasis from Granola's note-enhancing approach: Fireflies foregrounds recording, transcription and conversation intelligence, while Granola foregrounds notes and the 30-day free history boundary.
Fireflies Free costs $0 and is limited. The verified notes describe 400 minutes of storage per seat, pooled across a Free team, unlimited transcription, limited AI summaries and 20 AI credits. Pro costs $10/seat/month annually or $18 monthly, with 8,000 minutes of storage per seat, unlimited transcription, unlimited AI summaries and 20 AI credits. Business costs $19/seat/month annually or $29 monthly, with unlimited storage, unlimited transcription, unlimited AI summaries and 30 AI credits. Enterprise costs $39/seat/month annually, is annual only, and lists unlimited storage, unlimited transcription and unlimited AI summaries.
A four-person consultancy on Fireflies Pro pays $40 per month at the annual rate, or $480 over twelve months. Business costs $76 per month annually, or $912 over twelve months. Monthly billing makes those totals $72 and $116 respectively. No numeric maximum for Fireflies team members is stated in the verified notes.
Business also lists conversation intelligence, sentiment, talk-time analytics, CRM integrations and an API. The pricing check confirms Autofill CRM updates for supported records, including HubSpot and Salesforce examples. Fireflies is not automatically better: Pro's minute allowance is a different archive model from Granola's history rule, and a team should buy Business only when unlimited storage or its listed workflow matters.
Fathom for consultants
Best for unlimited free recording and storage Fathom $16/user/month annual Premium
Fathom suits a consultant who wants the free tier to preserve recordings, call storage and transcripts. Free costs $0 and includes unlimited recordings, unlimited storage and unlimited transcriptions. Advanced AI summaries are capped at 5 per month, so an unlimited transcript archive is not the same as unlimited polished summaries.
Fathom offers bot-free capture in beta for Mac or bot capture. That makes it relevant to client-facing teams that cannot have a visible participant in every call, although the beta qualification matters. The verified sources do not state a physical storage location for Fathom recordings.
Premium costs $16/user/month annually or $20 monthly. Team costs $15/user/month annually or $19 monthly, with a two-user minimum. Business costs $25/user/month annually or $34 monthly, also with a two-user minimum. Business adds CRM field sync and automatic CRM record updates after meetings.
For four people, Premium costs $64 per month annually, or $768 over twelve months. Team costs $60 per month annually, or $720 over twelve months, while Business costs $100 per month annually, or $1,200 over twelve months. The two-seat minimum does not change a four-person scenario, but it matters for a solo buyer.
Otter for consultants
Best for the lowest paid seat price Otter Pro $8.33/user/month annual
Otter Pro is the value runner-up for a consultancy that needs a named price and can fit the published boundaries. Otter Basic is free and includes 300 transcription minutes per month, a 30-minute maximum per conversation, the 25 most recent conversations, a maximum of five workspace members and 20 AI chat queries per user. The verified notes do not publish a Basic storage allowance or bot-free capture claim.
Otter Pro costs $8.33/user/month annually or $16.99 monthly. It includes 1,200 in-app recording minutes per month, a 90-minute maximum per conversation, unlimited storage, Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier, and a maximum of five billed users. Its paid seat price is lower than Granola Business, but Pro is not unlimited because both recording minutes and conversation length are bounded.
For four billed users, Otter Pro costs $33.32 per month annually, or $399.84 over twelve months. Monthly billing costs $67.96 per month, or $815.52 over twelve months. The team is below Pro's maximum of five billed users, so this scenario is valid.
Otter Business costs $19.99/user/month annually or $30 monthly. It includes unlimited meetings and recordings, a four-hour maximum per conversation, three concurrent meetings, a maximum of 25 billed users and admin features. Four people cost $79.96 per month annually, or $959.52 over twelve months, and $120 monthly. The verified notes do not publish a separate Business storage allowance.
Otter's advantage is arithmetic. Its weakness is the 90-minute Pro limit, 1,200 monthly recording minutes and five-user ceiling. Because the sources do not state bot-free capture, a client-facing team should verify that workflow before selecting it for calls where a recording bot is unacceptable.

Pricing compared
The table compares exact per-user prices, four-person scenarios and the storage or history allowance stated in the verified pricing files. Annual figures are annual-billing monthly equivalents, not a claim that every vendor offers the same contract structure.
| Tool and plan | Paid price per user | Four-person annual-rate cost | Storage or history stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Granola Basic | $0 | $0 | 30 days of history |
| Granola Business | $14/month | $672 over 12 monthly charges | Unlimited history |
| Granola Enterprise | $35/month | $1,680 over 12 monthly charges | Unlimited history |
| Fireflies Pro | $10 annual, $18 monthly | $480 annual-rate total | 8,000 minutes per seat |
| Fireflies Business | $19 annual, $29 monthly | $912 annual-rate total | Unlimited storage |
| Fathom Premium | $16 annual, $20 monthly | $768 annual-rate total | Unlimited recordings and storage on Free |
| Fathom Business | $25 annual, $34 monthly | $1,200 annual-rate total | Unlimited recordings and call storage |
| Otter Pro | $8.33 annual, $16.99 monthly | $399.84 annual-rate total | Unlimited storage; 1,200 recording minutes/month |
| Otter Business | $19.99 annual, $30 monthly | $959.52 annual-rate total | Unlimited meetings and recordings; storage figure not stated |
Granola Business is $56 per month for four people, compared with $40 for Fireflies Pro, $60 for Fathom Team, $64 for Fathom Premium and $33.32 for Otter Pro at annual rates. These prices solve different problems: minute storage, free summaries, recording limits or history.
Capture can decide eligibility before price. Granola and Fireflies state bot-free routes, Fathom has bot-free Mac capture in beta, and Otter's verified pricing information does not state bot-free capture. No physical storage location is verified.
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is calling Granola Business annual pricing. It lists $14 per user per month and no annual price. Four users cost $56 per monthly charge, and twelve charges total $672, which is budgeting arithmetic rather than an annual plan or discount.
The second trap is comparing unlike boundaries. Granola Basic gives 30 days of history, Fireflies uses minute storage allowances, Fathom Free states unlimited recordings, storage and transcripts, and Otter Pro states unlimited storage while limiting recording minutes to 1,200 per month.
The third trap is ignoring capture method. Granola and Fireflies state bot-free routes, Fathom states one in beta for Mac, and Otter's checked pricing information does not state one. Usage limits also stack: Otter has separate conversation and monthly-minute caps, Fathom has five advanced summaries per month, and Granola has its 30-day history boundary.
Storage definitions and seats differ. Fireflies Pro gives 8,000 minutes per seat and Business unlimited storage. Otter Pro gives unlimited storage and a maximum of five billed users, while Business lists 25.
Who should not buy this
Do not buy Granola Business if a consultancy has no reason to revisit notes after 30 days. Basic is free and includes unlimited meeting notes, but older client engagements make the free workflow an incomplete record.
Do not buy Fireflies Business solely for unlimited storage, or Fathom Premium solely to avoid a transcript cap. Choose those paid tiers when their stated workflows solve a real need.
Do not buy Otter Pro for more than five billed users or calls that exceed 90 minutes, and do not assume it supports bot-free capture. Buy nothing when meetings are occasional, clients will not consent to the capture method, or a manual record already preserves the decisions that matter.
Our verdict
Choose Granola when the requirement is readable notes from bot-free device-audio capture and the team accepts that Basic history lasts 30 days. For four people, Business is $56 per month, with $672 over twelve monthly charges and no annual price published. The strategic warning is that the free tier's real cost is the searchable archive a client-facing agency loses when past engagements move beyond 30 days.
Choose Otter Pro as the runner-up when the team has five or fewer billed users, needs the lowest paid seat price and can stay within its 1,200 monthly recording minutes and 90-minute conversation maximum. Choose Fireflies when bot-free Chrome recording and measured or unlimited storage are the priority, and Fathom when unlimited free recordings, storage and transcripts matter more than its five-summary cap.
Frequently asked questions
Is this granola review favorable for consultants?
Yes, when a consultant wants readable notes and bot-free device-audio capture rather than a visible meeting bot. Basic is less suitable as a free long-term archive because history is 30 days and an upgrade is required afterwards. Business is the practical paid choice when older client notes must remain available.
What is Granola pricing for a four-person consultancy?
Granola Business costs $14 per user per month, so four users cost $56 per month. Twelve monthly charges total $672. Granola publishes no annual prices, so $672 is not an annual-billing quote or discount.
What does the Granola free plan give up?
Basic is free and includes unlimited meeting notes, but history is retained for 30 days before an upgrade is required for unlimited history. A consultancy can create new notes while losing the free workflow's searchable access to older client engagements. The verified terms do not say that notes are deleted at the boundary.
Can Granola record a meeting without a bot appearing?
The verified pricing page lists bot-free, device-audio capture on Basic, Business and Enterprise. It also states that audio is deleted after transcription. No physical recording-storage location is stated.
How does Granola compare with Otter Pro?
Granola Business costs $14 per user per month, while Otter Pro costs $8.33 per user per month with annual billing or $16.99 monthly. Otter Pro includes 1,200 in-app recording minutes per month, a 90-minute maximum, unlimited storage and a maximum of five billed users. The checked Otter sources do not state bot-free capture.
Which competitor has the strongest free storage allowance?
Fathom Free states unlimited recordings, storage and transcriptions, but limits advanced AI summaries to five per month. Fireflies Free states 400 minutes of storage per seat pooled across a Free team, while Otter Basic's storage allowance is not stated. Granola Basic uses a 30-day history rule rather than a storage-minute allowance.
Can Fireflies, Fathom and Granola record without a bot?
Granola lists bot-free device-audio capture, Fireflies lists Chrome-extension recording without its bot joining, and Fathom offers bot-free capture in beta for Mac. The verified Otter information does not state a bot-free option. A consultancy should check the exact capture workflow before a client call where a visible bot is unacceptable.
When should a consultancy choose Fireflies or Fathom instead?
Choose Fireflies when bot-free Chrome capture, 8,000 Pro storage minutes per seat or unlimited Business storage fits the workflow. Choose Fathom when unlimited free recordings, storage and transcripts are more valuable than Granola's note style, while accepting the five-summary limit. Physical storage location is not a verified basis for either choice.