AI Meeting Notes for Agencies

Granola vs Otter for Consultants

Granola and Otter compared for consultants on free limits, note retention, seat caps, conversation length and real monthly costs.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026

The short answer

Otter is the better value for a consultancy of up to five billed users that can work within its conversation limits. Granola is the better fit when a consultant prefers unlimited free meeting notes and is willing to upgrade when notes pass the 30-day age rule.

If you needChoose
The lowest paid cost for up to five billed usersOtter Pro
Unlimited free meeting notes, with a 30-day age ruleGranola Basic
Calls up to four hours and more than five billed usersOtter Business
A paid notes plan at a named per-user priceGranola Business
Occasional calls under 30 minutesOtter Basic
Otter Pro annual seat
$8.33
Granola Business seat
$14
Otter Pro billed users
5
Granola note age rule
30 days

Overview

For most small consultancies, Otter is the winner, while Granola is the runner-up for consultants who value an unlimited free note allowance and can budget for older notes. That is the practical granola vs otter answer: Otter publishes more useful free and paid limits, including a five-user Pro ceiling and a per-conversation cap. Granola keeps its free plan simple, but notes older than 30 days require an upgrade. Otter is the stronger value for a team of three or five when its call limits fit.

This category is not only about producing a note at the end of a meeting. A consultant needs to know whether a free tier covers a normal call, whether the note remains useful when a project returns later, and whether the advertised price still applies to the whole consultancy. Granola Basic lists unlimited meeting notes, but its age rule changes what “unlimited” means for an archive. Otter Basic lists explicit limits, including a 30-minute maximum per conversation and the 25 most recent conversations.

This guide is for consultants and small advisory teams comparing AI meeting notes for consultants. It covers free tiers, three- and five-person costs, plan-changing limits and when paying is unnecessary. See the AI meeting notes for agencies hub, Fireflies vs Otter for client calls, best AI meeting notes for consultancies, and Fathom vs Fireflies for consultants.

How we chose

The comparison asks five practical questions: what does each free tier include, what happens when a note or conversation reaches a stated boundary, which limits affect a normal client call, can a small firm buy the plan for its full headcount, and what does three or five people actually cost? Those questions matter more than an unverified feature checklist.

Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, matching the front matter. The totals multiply published per-user prices by three or five people. They do not add an assumed minimum seat count or an overage fee that the verified notes do not state. Where a cap or retention term is not published, this article does not guess. That is the standard explained in the methodology.

Granola for consultants

Best for a simple free note workflow Granola $14/user/month Business

Granola suits a consultant who wants Basic to produce unlimited meeting notes, while accepting that older notes create a paid-plan decision. Basic is free and lists unlimited meeting notes. The qualification is just as important: notes older than 30 days require an upgrade. A consultant should read those statements together, rather than treating unlimited notes as unlimited history.

Basic may be enough for an immediate follow-up, a short project review or a current engagement. It is not the long-term answer when the consultancy regularly returns to discovery notes after the 30-day window. The verified pricing entry does not say that older notes are deleted, hidden or available for a particular period after the boundary. It says an upgrade is required, so this guide makes no stronger claim.

Granola Business is listed at $14/user/month. The verified entry does not separate annual and monthly billing, so no discount or second rate is invented. A three-person consultancy has a named cost scenario of $42 per month, calculated as three users at $14. A five-person consultancy pays $70 per month. Those are useful budgets, but the notes do not state a paid recording-minute allowance, conversation-length cap or retention period.

The Granola pricing page
Granola pricing, captured 2 October 2026

Granola's honest weaknesses are the terms that are not stated. The verified pricing notes do not publish a Basic seat cap, recording-minute cap, conversation-length cap, minimum paid seats or overage price. A buyer should not describe those items as unlimited, and should not model a surcharge. Confirm any term that matters before committing. Enterprise is listed as from $35/user/month, but the notes do not provide a small-consultancy feature set or a total quote, so it is not used in the recommendation.

Choose Granola Basic when current notes are enough and the 30-day age rule is acceptable. Choose Business when older notes are part of the working record and $14 per user per month fits the budget. Do not buy it merely because “unlimited” sounds stronger than Otter's free allowance. First decide whether the archive needs to remain useful after 30 days.

Otter for consultants

Best for value at five or fewer users Otter $8.33/user/month annual Pro

Otter fits a consultancy that wants explicit usage boundaries and a lower named paid seat price. Basic is free and includes 300 transcription minutes per month, a 30-minute maximum per conversation, the 25 most recent conversations, a maximum of five workspace members, and 20 AI chat queries per user. That is a workable trial for occasional short calls, not a promise that every client meeting or every past conversation will fit.

The 30-minute cap is separate from the monthly allowance. A call can exceed Basic's limit even when the team's total minutes are low. The 25 most recent conversations also means the free plan does not publish an unlimited visible conversation history. This is a different kind of boundary from Granola's age rule: one counts recent conversations, the other names an age at which an upgrade is required. Neither statement supports a claim about deletion beyond the stated limit.

Otter Pro costs $8.33/user/month annual or $16.99 monthly. It includes 1,200 in-app recording minutes per month, a 90-minute maximum per conversation, unlimited storage, and Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier. Pro is capped at five billed users, so a team of six cannot simply add another seat at the same rate.

For three people, Otter Pro costs $24.99 per month with annual billing, calculated as three times $8.33, or $50.97 monthly, calculated as three times $16.99. For five billed users, it costs $41.65 per month annually or $84.95 monthly. That makes Pro cheaper than Granola Business at both headcounts, provided the consultancy accepts Pro's 1,200-minute allowance, 90-minute conversation maximum and five-user ceiling.

Otter Business costs $19.99/user/month annual or $30 monthly. It lists unlimited meetings and recordings, a four-hour maximum per conversation, three concurrent meetings, a maximum of 25 billed users, and admin features. Three people cost $59.97 per month annually or $90 monthly. Five people cost $99.95 per month annually or $150 monthly.

Business is not the default value choice. It is the published route when Pro's five-user cap, 90-minute limit or 1,200-minute allowance is too restrictive.

The Otter pricing page
Otter pricing, captured 2 October 2026

Choose Basic when the team can stay within 300 minutes, 30 minutes per conversation, the 25 most recent conversations and five workspace members. Choose Pro for one to five billed users who need the lower paid price and a 90-minute conversation limit. Choose Business only when its published capacity or team ceiling solves a real constraint. A consultant should not buy Pro for a six-person team, even if Pro is the cheapest line on the page.

Pricing compared

Published monthly prices and the limits that most directly change the decision:

PlanAnnual price per userMonthly price per userKey published limit
Granola BasicFreeFreeUnlimited meeting notes; notes older than 30 days require an upgrade
Granola Business$14$14Basic notes older than 30 days require an upgrade
Otter Basic$0$0300 minutes/month; 30 minutes/conversation; 25 most recent conversations
Otter Pro$8.33$16.991,200 minutes/month; 90 minutes/conversation; max 5 billed users
Otter Business$19.99$30Unlimited meetings and recordings; 4 hours/conversation; max 25 billed users

The closest paid comparison is Granola Business against Otter Pro. Granola is $14 per user per month, while Otter Pro is $8.33 per user per month annual or $16.99 monthly. At three users, Granola is $42, compared with Otter's $24.99 annual-billing total or $50.97 monthly total. At five users, Granola is $70, compared with Otter's $41.65 annual total or $84.95 monthly total.

Otter Business changes the calculation. For three users it is $59.97 annually billed, more than Granola Business at $42. For five users it is $99.95, compared with Granola's $70. Business can still be correct when a four-hour conversation maximum, unlimited meetings and recordings, three concurrent meetings or a 25-user ceiling solves a defined problem.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is multiplying an unavailable Otter price. Otter Pro's $8.33 annual figure applies to a maximum of five billed users. At six users, the relevant published choice is Business at $119.94 per month annually, calculated as six times $19.99, or $180 monthly, calculated as six times $30. That is a plan change, not a sixth Pro seat.

The verified notes distinguish Otter Basic's maximum of five workspace members from Otter Pro's maximum of five billed users. Map who needs a workspace place and who needs a paid seat before comparing totals. Do not assume that an occasional reviewer can be added without affecting the cap, because the published terms do not explain exceptions.

The second trap is confusing a conversation cap with a monthly allowance. Basic has 300 transcription minutes and a 30-minute maximum per conversation. Pro has 1,200 in-app recording minutes and a 90-minute maximum. Business lists unlimited meetings and recordings but still gives a four-hour maximum per conversation. A consultancy must satisfy both the monthly and individual-call rules.

The third trap is treating Granola's unlimited meeting notes as unlimited retention. Basic is free, but notes older than 30 days require an upgrade. The verified entry does not state whether an older note is deleted, read-only or otherwise usable before upgrading, and it does not state the paid retention period. The safe interpretation is only that older notes create a paid-plan requirement.

The fifth trap is mixing annual and monthly prices. For three people, Otter Pro is $24.99 annually billed and $50.97 monthly. For five, it is $41.65 and $84.95. Otter Business is $59.97 versus $90 for three people, and $99.95 versus $150 for five. Granola Business is recorded as $14 per user per month without a separate annual figure, so its scenarios remain $42 and $70.

The final trap is inventing charges. The verified notes do not state a minimum seat count or per-minute overage price for either tool. Do not include a made-up surcharge, but do not assume excess usage is free. Ask how the vendor handles additional people, over-limit conversations and minutes.

Who should not buy this

The best purchase can be no purchase. A consultancy should identify who will review and use the notes before paying for an archive or more capacity. If nobody owns that follow-up, a paid plan creates another place to check without improving delivery.

  1. Do not buy Granola Business yet if current notes are enough and the team can live with Basic's 30-day rule. Start free and upgrade when older notes become a real constraint.
  2. Do not buy Otter Pro for six or more billed users. The five-user cap makes the advertised annual price unavailable for the complete team. Compare Business instead.
  3. Do not buy Otter Basic for a workflow built around calls longer than 30 minutes. Its 300 monthly transcription minutes do not override the per-conversation maximum.
  4. Do not buy either paid plan when meetings are occasional, notes are not revisited and the free limits cover the work. A longer feature list is not a benefit nobody uses.
  5. Do not buy Granola on “unlimited” alone. The free allowance is unlimited meeting notes, but notes older than 30 days require an upgrade.
  6. Do not buy Otter Business solely to avoid arithmetic. For three users it costs $59.97 annually billed, and for five it costs $99.95. Choose it when its capacity or team ceiling solves a defined need.

A consultant should not buy Otter Pro for a team above five billed users, and should not buy Granola Basic when notes older than 30 days are essential. If neither condition applies, the choice is whether explicit Otter usage limits or Granola's simpler free note allowance better matches the workflow.

Our verdict: granola vs otter for consultants

Choose Otter as the overall winner for a consultancy of three or five people that wants a calculable price and can keep calls within its limits. Otter Pro costs $24.99 per month annually billed for three users and $41.65 for five, with a 90-minute conversation maximum and a five-user cap. Basic is a reasonable trial for short calls when 300 monthly minutes and 25 recent conversations are enough.

Choose Granola as the runner-up, or as the better fit for a consultant who values unlimited free meeting notes rather than the lowest paid seat price. Basic is free, but notes older than 30 days require an upgrade. Business is $14 per user per month, making a three-person consultancy $42 and a five-person consultancy $70, with no separate annual figure stated.

The consultant should not buy Otter Pro for a team above five billed users, and should not treat Granola Basic as a long-term archive when the work regularly returns to notes older than 30 days. Start free only when the stated limits fit, then upgrade for a specific retention, length, minute or seat problem.

Frequently asked questions

Is granola vs otter better for consultants?

Otter is better for a consultancy of up to five billed users that wants the lowest named paid seat price and can stay within Pro's 90-minute conversation maximum. Granola is better for a consultant who values unlimited free meeting notes and accepts that notes older than 30 days require an upgrade. The deciding factor is whether price and explicit usage limits or note age matters more.

How much does Granola cost for three consultants?

Granola Business is listed at $14 per user per month. Three users therefore cost $42 per month. The verified notes do not state a separate annual price for Business, so this guide does not add an annual discount.

How much does Otter Pro cost for five users?

Otter Pro costs $8.33 per user per month with annual billing, so five billed users cost $41.65 per month. At the published monthly price of $16.99 per user, the same five seats cost $84.95. Pro is capped at five billed users.

What does the Granola free tier allow?

Granola Basic is free and lists unlimited meeting notes. Notes older than 30 days require an upgrade. The verified entry does not state a free seat cap, recording-minute allowance or conversation-length cap, so those terms should not be assumed.

What does Otter Basic include?

Otter Basic is free and includes 300 transcription minutes per month, a 30-minute maximum per conversation, the 25 most recent conversations, a maximum of five workspace members and 20 AI chat queries per user. It suits occasional short calls when those boundaries fit. It is not an unlimited meeting archive.

Is Otter Pro capped at five people?

Yes. Otter Pro has a maximum of five billed users. A consultancy with six or more billed users cannot apply the Pro price to the complete team, so it should compare Business or change the paid-seat plan only if that matches its workflow.

When should a consultancy choose Otter Business?

Choose Otter Business when unlimited meetings and recordings, a four-hour maximum per conversation, three concurrent meetings, admin features or up to 25 billed users solves a real constraint. It costs $19.99 per user per month annually or $30 monthly. Three users cost $59.97 annually billed or $90 monthly, while five cost $99.95 or $150.