Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies
QuickBooks Alternatives for Small Agencies
Compare Wave, FreshBooks, Xero and Zoho Books as practical QuickBooks alternatives, with verified prices, limits and team cost scenarios.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 11 October 2026
The short answer
Wave is the lowest-cost destination when a per-business subscription or a $0 plan fits the workflow. Zoho Books is the safer structured choice for a small agency that needs published user tiers, annual billing and multi-currency from Professional upward, while Xero avoids per-user licence fees.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| The lowest subscription for one business | Wave Starter or Pro (opens in a new tab) |
| Published five-user access and multi-currency | Zoho Books Professional (opens in a new tab) |
| No per-user licence fees | Xero Growing (opens in a new tab) |
| Estimates, proposals and retainers | FreshBooks Plus (opens in a new tab) |
| A known five-user QuickBooks tier | QuickBooks Online Plus (opens in a new tab) |
Check current pricing at the source
- Check current Zoho Books pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current FreshBooks pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current QuickBooks pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Wave pricing (opens in a new tab)
- Check current Xero pricing (opens in a new tab)
Every figure in this guide was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date stamped above. Vendors change plans without notice, so confirm the number before you commit.
- Wave Pro annual
- $190
- QuickBooks Plus
- $140/month
- FreshBooks Plus clients
- 50
- Xero Growing
- $59/month
Overview
Move to Wave first if the priority is escaping a recurring licence bill, and move to Zoho Books Professional if the agency needs a clearly published five-user structure and multi-currency. Wave Starter costs $0, while Wave Pro costs $19/month or $190/year per business rather than per user. Zoho Books Professional costs $50 per organization/month, or $40 per organization/month billed annually, and includes five users. Xero Growing is the runner-up for teams that want no per-user licence fees, at $59/month with unlimited invoices and quotes.
That is the quickbooks alternatives answer, but the destination depends on growth. A three-person team can fit Zoho Books Standard, FreshBooks Plus or Xero Growing without buying one licence per person. An eight-person team exposes the difference between a business price, a no-per-user model, a per-team-member charge and QuickBooks' next tier. Headline price is not a budget.
This guide is for a small agency or consultancy switching from QuickBooks Online. It compares Wave, FreshBooks, Xero and Zoho Books on published plans, limits, recurring cost and migration risks, with annualized scenarios at three, five and eight users. For the wider category, start with the Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies hub, then compare the best bookkeeping software for a small agency.
How we chose
The comparison asks who is included, what limit changes the choice, what the team actually pays, and whether the workflow fits without turning a promotion or unstated limit into a promise.
Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, with the permitted verification notes rechecked on 11 October 2026. Prices remain in the USD form shown in those notes. Annualized figures multiply a standing monthly charge by twelve when the vendor does not state an annual price. They are planning scenarios, not claims that the vendor offers annual billing.
Accountant access remains separate from operating seats, as does promotional pricing from standing pricing. The methodology explains why a missing cap stays missing and why a temporary discount cannot become a recurring budget number.
Wave for small agencies
Best for a low-cost move by one business Wave Starter or Pro $0 or $19/month per business
Wave is the most direct destination for an agency that wants to remove a QuickBooks subscription. Starter costs $0 and includes unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records, plus mobile invoicing and dashboards. The pricing record does not state a client cap for Starter, so the free tier has no client limit. User, bank-connection and company caps are also not stated, so access should be confirmed before migration.
Wave Pro costs $19/month or $190/year billed annually, and the price is per business, not per user. Pro adds auto-import and auto-categorize bank transactions, unlimited receipt capture and expense tracking, late-payment reminders, branding controls and account users. That is a strong structural advantage for a small agency, but per business does not mean that every access arrangement is automatically suitable. The pricing page does not publish a user cap.
A three-person, five-person or eight-person studio with one business can model the same Pro subscription: $190 for a named annual scenario when billed annually. Starter remains $0 at each team size, but online payments are separate: Visa, Mastercard and Discover cost 2.9% + $0.60 per transaction, while American Express costs 3.4% + $0.60.
The payment line can outweigh the subscription. Pro waives the fixed fee for the first 10 cumulative transactions in each monthly subscription period, then returns to $0.60 while the percentage still applies. Count payment transactions, receipt needs, payroll and access roles rather than calling the whole workflow free.

Wave's weakness is the number of questions left to confirm, especially user access and bank connections.
FreshBooks for agencies
Best for client-facing billing depth FreshBooks Plus $43/month plus $11 per additional team member
FreshBooks suits an agency that values estimates, proposals and retainers and can manage a client archive deliberately. Lite costs $23/month for 5 billable clients. Plus costs $43/month for 50 billable clients, with estimates, proposals and client retainers. Premium costs $70/month with unlimited billable clients, adding project profitability and custom email templates.
The decisive charge is the team model. FreshBooks adds $11/month for each additional team member on top of the plan. Assuming one owner and additional team members, a three-person studio on Plus pays $43 plus two $11 charges, or $65/month. Its named annual scenario is $780 across twelve identical monthly charges. Five people pay $87/month, or $1,044 annually, and eight people pay $120/month, or $1,440 annually.
Those figures use Plus's 50-client allowance. If retained work will push beyond it, Premium is the honest plan: $70/month plus the same team charges. Three people are $92/month, five $114/month and eight $147/month.
FreshBooks counts both active and archived clients against the limit, so old engagements do not disappear merely because they are inactive. See the FreshBooks vs QuickBooks guide for consultants for this trade-off.
FreshBooks also lists Advanced Payments at $20/month and Payroll at $40/month plus $6/month per user. The weakness is client-cap pressure combined with per-person growth.

Xero for agencies
Best for shared books without licence fees per user Xero Growing $59/month
Xero is the cleanest answer when an agency wants a shared subscription without a per-user licence fee. Early costs $27/month for 20 invoices and 5 bills. Growing costs $59/month with unlimited invoices and quotes. Established costs $97/month and adds a 180-day cash-flow forecast, multi-currency, project time and cost tracking, and employee expense and mileage claims.
Growing is the practical comparison plan for a small agency with more than a light invoice run. Three users cost $59/month, or $708 across twelve identical monthly charges. Five and eight users have the same subscription scenario. Xero Payroll is listed at $36/month plus $6 per employee or contractor.
The structural advantage appears when QuickBooks changes tiers. Xero does not turn three people into five paid seats or eight people into a higher plan. The weakness is that $59 is not the lowest subscription: Wave can be $0 or $19 per business, and Zoho Books can be $20 per organization/month for three users.
Choose Established only for a stated need that Growing does not cover, such as multi-currency or its additional tracking features.
Zoho Books for agencies
Best for structured multi-user bookkeeping Zoho Books Professional $50/month or $40/month annually
Zoho Books suits a team that wants a known user allowance and annual billing. Free costs $0 and includes 1 user plus 1 accountant, up to 1,000 invoices/year and 1,000 expenses/year. Standard costs $20/month or $15/month billed annually, includes 3 users, and allows up to 5,000 invoices/year and 5,000 bills or expenses/year.
Professional costs $50/month or $40/month billed annually, includes 5 users, allows up to 10,000 invoices/year and up to 10,000 bills or expenses/year, and includes multi-currency. Premium costs $70/month or $60/month billed annually, includes 10 users and allows up to 25,000 invoices/year and up to 25,000 bills or expenses/year. Multi-currency is included from Professional upward, which is a meaningful contrast when an agency needs that capability.
The three-user scenario is Standard: $20/month, or $180 for a named annual scenario at the $15/month billed-annually rate. At five users, Professional is $50/month, or $480 billed annually at the $40/month rate. At eight users, Premium is $70/month, or $720 billed annually at the $60/month rate. Pricing is attached to the organization, not multiplied by included users.
Zoho Books lists extra users at $3/user/month or $2.50/user/month billed annually. Professional is the cleaner five-user choice because it includes multi-currency and larger stated limits.
The weakness is that a lower tier is not automatically a complete fit. Map invoices, bills, expenses, receipt scans and access before moving records. The Zoho Books vs QuickBooks comparison covers the boundaries.
QuickBooks Online for small agencies
Best for a published five-user tier QuickBooks Online Plus $140/month standing price
QuickBooks Online is a reasonable destination when its published user progression is worth the price. Simple Start costs $38/month for 1 user plus 2 accountants. Essentials costs $85/month for 3 users plus 2 accountants. Plus costs $140/month for 5 users plus 2 accountants. Advanced costs $340/month for 25 users plus 3 accountants.
The standing prices are the numbers for a recurring budget. The pricing page separately shows an introductory 50% off for 3 months promotion: $19 for Simple Start, $42.50 for Essentials, $70 for Plus and $170 for Advanced during that promotional period. Those promotional figures are not the standing prices and do not describe the cost after the first three months. No annual-billing price is stated.
A three-person agency has a named QuickBooks Essentials scenario of $1,020 across twelve standing monthly charges. A five-person studio on Plus has a named scenario of $1,680 annually, and eight users reach Advanced at $4,080 annualized. These calculations use $85, $140 and $340, not promotional figures.
QuickBooks includes invoicing and getting paid, plus the mobile app, support and app integrations. Its weakness is the cost jump between user tiers: accountant access is not a second agency operator.
QuickBooks alternatives compared
The table compares the plans behind the headcount scenarios. Annualized means twelve identical monthly charges unless marked billed annually.
| Tool and plan | Price model | Three users | Five users | Eight users | Key boundary |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wave Starter | $0 per business | $0 subscription | $0 subscription | $0 subscription | Unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records; client cap not stated |
| Wave Pro | $19/month or $190/year per business | $190/year billed annually | $190/year billed annually | $190/year billed annually | Per business, not per user |
| FreshBooks Plus | $43/month + $11 per additional team member | $780 annualized | $1,044 annualized | $1,440 annualized | 50 billable clients; active and archived both count |
| Xero Growing | $59/month, no per-user licence fees | $708 annualized | $708 annualized | $708 annualized | Unlimited invoices and quotes |
| Zoho Books Standard, Professional or Premium | $20/$50/$70 monthly; annual rates $15/$40/$60 | $180 billed annually | $480 billed annually | $720 billed annually | 3, 5 or 10 included users respectively |
| QuickBooks Essentials, Plus or Advanced | $85/$140/$340 standing monthly | $1,020 annualized | $1,680 annualized | $4,080 annualized | 3, 5 or 25 included users respectively |
At three users, Wave, Zoho Books Standard and FreshBooks Plus are below QuickBooks Essentials. At five users, Wave and Xero stay flat while Zoho Books Professional remains below FreshBooks Plus and QuickBooks Plus. At eight users, QuickBooks' jump to Advanced makes the model decisive.
QuickBooks alternatives: The seat and billing traps
The first trap is comparing Simple Start's $38 headline with a team budget. It covers one user, although access for two accountants is included. A three-person agency therefore needs the published Essentials scenario at $85/month. Accountant access does not turn a one-user plan into a three-user workspace.
The second trap is assuming that a per-business price answers every access question. Wave Pro is priced per business, not per user, so all three headcount scenarios can use the $190 annual subscription. The pricing record does not publish a user cap, so roles and access still need confirmation.
The third trap is overlooking FreshBooks' archived-client rule. Plus has 50 billable clients, but both active and archived clients count. Premium removes the published client cap at $70/month before team-member charges, changing every annual scenario.
The fourth trap is treating Xero's no-per-user licence fee as unlimited features. Growing has unlimited invoices and quotes, while Early has 20 invoices and 5 bills. Established adds multi-currency and tracking at $97/month. Avoiding seat fees does not remove plan boundaries.
The fifth trap is missing Zoho Books' annual-billing advantage. Standard is $20/month or $15/month billed annually, Professional is $50/month or $40/month, and Premium is $70/month or $60/month. The three-, five- and eight-user scenarios are therefore $180, $480 and $720 when billed annually.
The sixth trap is counting a QuickBooks promotion as lasting savings. The 50% off offer applies for 3 months, then the standing figures are $38, $85, $140 and $340 per month. A five-person agency's ongoing Plus budget is $140/month, not $70/month.
Pricing model often decides the shortlist before features do. Wave contains subscription cost, Xero is easy to forecast, Zoho Books has clear user tiers and annual billing, and FreshBooks suits client-facing billing. QuickBooks is easiest to retain when its user progression outweighs the gap.
Who should not buy this
Do not switch just to replace a logo. If nobody owns bank review, the chart of accounts and the accountant handoff, a new subscription moves the confusion rather than solving it.
Stay put if the team cannot export and reconcile records before the next close. A free Wave account is not a migration plan. Document the workflow, then test the destination with a controlled export.
Do not choose FreshBooks Plus if active and archived clients will exceed 50. Do not choose Wave without confirming access, Xero Early when 20 invoices or 5 bills are too narrow, or Zoho Books Free when one user plus one accountant is insufficient.
Finally, do not buy QuickBooks Advanced for an eight-person team simply because it is the next published tier. Compare the $340/month standing price with Xero Growing, Zoho Books Premium, FreshBooks and Wave first.
Our verdict
Wave Starter is the cheapest destination to test, and Wave Pro is the lowest paid subscription when one business needs bank import, receipt capture and reminders. Its per-business price stays compelling at three, five and eight users, but access needs confirmation.
Zoho Books is the best structured destination for most small agencies leaving QuickBooks. Standard gives three users at $20/month or $15/month billed annually. Professional gives five users at $50/month or $40/month billed annually, with multi-currency included. Premium covers ten users at $70/month or $60/month.
Choose Xero Growing when no per-user licence fees and unlimited invoices and quotes matter most. Choose FreshBooks Plus when estimates, proposals and retainers matter and 50 billable clients, including archived clients, is enough. Stay with QuickBooks when its published user progression is deliberate, but budget standing prices rather than the 50% off first three months promotion.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best quickbooks alternatives for a small agency?
Wave is the lowest-cost destination, with Starter at $0 and Pro at $19/month or $190/year per business. Zoho Books is the structured choice for published user tiers and multi-currency from Professional upward; Xero Growing avoids per-user licence fees.
Which QuickBooks alternative is cheaper than QuickBooks for three users?
Wave Pro is $190/year for one business, Zoho Books Standard is $15/month billed annually, FreshBooks Plus is $65/month with two additional team members, and Xero Growing is $59/month. QuickBooks Essentials is $85/month for three users, so each alternative has a lower subscription scenario before its own limits and add-ons.
How do Wave and FreshBooks differ for agency teams?
Wave Pro is priced per business, not per user, so its subscription does not multiply at three, five or eight users. FreshBooks Plus starts at $43/month and adds $11/month for each additional team member, while its 50-client limit counts active and archived clients.
Is Xero cheaper than QuickBooks for five users?
Xero Growing costs $59/month with no per-user licence fees, or $708 across twelve identical monthly charges. QuickBooks Online Plus costs $140/month for five users, or $1,680 annualized, so Xero has the lower subscription scenario before add-ons.
What does Zoho Books cost for eight users?
Zoho Books Premium includes 10 users at $70/month or $60/month billed annually. An eight-user agency therefore has a named annual scenario of $720 when billed annually, with up to 25,000 invoices/year and 25,000 bills or expenses/year.
Is QuickBooks Online Plus really $70 per month?
QuickBooks Online Plus has a standing price of $140/month. The $70/month figure is a 50% off promotion for 3 months and must be excluded from the ongoing budget.
What should an agency export before leaving QuickBooks?
Export the chart of accounts, customer and vendor records, invoices, bills, payments, expenses, tax information, bank history and attachments the destination can accept. Bank reconciliation history and the chart of accounts are most often lost because a transaction export can preserve amounts without preserving the review trail or account structure.
How should a team compare Xero vs QuickBooks and Zoho Books vs QuickBooks?
Compare the plan covering actual operating users, not the cheapest entry card. Xero Growing has no per-user licence fees, Zoho Books publishes 3-, 5- and 10-user tiers, and QuickBooks uses $85, $140 and $340 standing monthly tiers. Its 50% off first-three-month figures are promotional.