Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies
Best Invoicing Software for Retainer Clients
Compare verified retainer billing prices, client caps and real costs for FreshBooks, Xero, Wave and Zoho Books.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
FreshBooks Plus is the best fit for a retainer-led agency because the verified plan includes client retainers and covers 50 billable clients for $43/month. Xero Growing is the runner-up for teams that want unlimited invoices and quotes without per-user licence fees, but its retainer-specific capabilities and client cap are not stated.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| A published retainer inclusion and 50-client allowance | FreshBooks Plus |
| Unlimited invoices and quotes with no per-user licence fees | Xero Growing |
| Free invoices, estimates and bookkeeping records | Wave Starter |
| The largest published invoice volume | Zoho Books Elite or Ultimate |
| A free tier with a published invoice ceiling | Zoho Books Free |
- Best overall
- FreshBooks Plus
- Cheapest paid plan
- Wave Pro
- FreshBooks Plus clients
- 50
- Tools compared
- 4
Overview
FreshBooks Plus is the best invoicing software for retainer clients for most small agencies, with Xero Growing as the runner-up for a team that prioritises unlimited invoices and quotes over a published retainer inclusion. FreshBooks Plus is $43/month and includes client retainers, with 50 billable clients. Xero Growing is $59/month, has unlimited invoices and quotes, and carries no per-user licence fees, but the verified pricing does not state a billable-client cap or retainer-specific workflow.
The invoicing and bookkeeping hub is for agencies, studios and consultants that invoice the same clients month after month. Retainer billing software for recurring invoices for agencies is not just a toggle. A workable setup needs a schedule, a way to record deposits or partial payments, a clean route for expense pass-through, and enough client capacity as the roster grows. The verified vendor pages do not publish all of those mechanics, so this guide separates what is documented from what a buyer must confirm.
Client cap, not headline price, often decides cost. See invoicing software for consultants, FreshBooks vs QuickBooks for consultants, and bookkeeping software for a small agency. The comparison tests that limit with named scenarios.
How we chose
The comparison tests published retainer inclusions, invoice and client capacity, real small-firm cost, payment fees and growth beyond the entry plan.
Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026. Annual and monthly figures are kept separate. Where the verified notes say a client cap, user count, payment fee, recurring schedule, partial-payment feature, deposit workflow or expense pass-through rule is not stated, the article does not turn silence into a promise. For a broader view of the category, see the methodology.
FreshBooks
Best for published retainer support FreshBooks $43/month for 50 billable clients
FreshBooks is the clearest fit for an agency whose first buying question is whether the plan acknowledges retainers at all. Its Plus plan includes client retainers, estimates and proposals, and allows 50 billable clients. That combination makes it the most direct recommendation for a consultant or studio that wants a documented retainer-related inclusion rather than a generic invoice counter.
Lite costs $23/month and allows 5 billable clients. Plus costs $43/month and allows 50. Premium costs $70/month with unlimited billable clients, adding project profitability and custom email templates. Select uses custom pricing.
The named scenario is Northstar Studio, an eight-client design studio with one retainer per client. Lite cannot accommodate the roster because its cap is 5 billable clients, so the studio has to move to Plus even if eight monthly invoices would otherwise be simple. Its subscription cost is $43/month, not the $23/month Lite headline. That is a $20/month step caused by client capacity, and Plus is the first listed FreshBooks tier here that explicitly includes client retainers.
FreshBooks adds $11/month for each team member on top of the plan. The pricing does not state recurring-schedule, partial-payment, deposit or expense-pass-through rules. It does state that active and archived clients count, and deleting clients frees slots while invoices remain accessible.
Xero
Best for high invoice volume without seat fees Xero $59/month for unlimited invoices and quotes
Xero suits an agency that wants invoice volume to stop being the main constraint. Early is $27/month with 20 invoices and 5 bills. Growing is $59/month with unlimited invoices and quotes. Established is $97/month, adding a 180-day cash flow forecast, multi-currency, project time and cost tracking, and employee expense and mileage claims.
Xero's strongest retainer-team advantage is the absence of per-user licence fees. The notes do not state a user cap, additional-user rule or billable-client cap. They also do not state the number of recurring schedules, how deposits or partial payments work, or how retainer expenses pass through to an invoice.
Consider Harbour Creative, an agency with eight monthly clients and a high number of line-item changes. Early's 20-invoice allowance may become the first constraint, because the verified plan publishes that limit and does not promise unlimited invoices. Growing costs $59/month and removes the published invoice and quote ceiling. That is the relevant Xero scenario even though the client count itself is not capped in the verified notes.
Xero's weakness is the amount its published pricing leaves open. It does not publish a billable-client figure or state recurring-invoice, partial-payment or deposit limits. Growing is a strong invoice-cap and seat-cost choice, but not a verified promise about retainer mechanics.
Wave
Best for free basic invoicing Wave $0 with unlimited invoices and records
Wave is the value option when the agency needs invoices without a subscription fee. Starter is $0 with unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records. The vendor does not state the number of users, bank connections, billable clients or companies, so the free price cannot be read as unlimited access.
Wave Pro costs $19/month or $190/year billed annually. It is priced per business, not per user, and adds bank transaction automation, unlimited receipt capture and late-payment reminders. The vendor does not state a billable-client or user cap, or whether recurring schedules, deposits, partial payments or expense pass-through are included.
Online payment fees change collection cost. Starter lists 2.9% + $0.60 per credit-card transaction, or 3.4% + $0.60 for Amex. Pro gives the first 10 transactions in a monthly subscription period rates of 2.9% + $0 for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, or 3.4% + $0 for Amex; thereafter the rates return to the Starter rates. No separate online-payments subscription price is stated.
Wave's weakness is uncertainty outside basic invoice creation. Unlimited bookkeeping records do not verify expense pass-through, and Pro's reminders and bank tools do not verify recurring billing. It is a sensible test for straightforward invoices, but not when a documented client allowance or multi-user policy is essential.
Zoho Books
Best for a free tier with a stated invoice allowance Zoho Books $0 up to 1,000 invoices/year
Zoho Books gives the clearest published volume ladder after FreshBooks. Free is $0 per organization/month with 1 user plus 1 accountant, 1,000 invoices/year, 1,000 expenses/year and 50 receipt autoscans/month. It is available indefinitely while annual financial-year revenue does not exceed $50K.
Standard is $20 per organization/month or $15 per organization/month billed annually, with 3 users, 5,000 invoices/year, 5,000 expenses/year and 200 receipt autoscans/month. Extra users cost $3/user/month or $2.5/user/month billed annually. Professional is $50 per organization/month or $40 per organization/month billed annually, with 5 users and 10,000 invoices/year.
Premium is $70 per organization/month or $60 per organization/month billed annually, with 10 users and 25,000 invoices/year. Elite is $150 per organization/month or $120 per organization/month billed annually, with 10 users and 100,000 invoices/year. Ultimate is $275 per organization/month or $240 per organization/month billed annually, with 15 users and 100,000 invoices/year. Paid-plan extra users cost $3/user/month or $2.5/user/month billed annually.
The named scenario is Cedar Eight Studio, with eight retainer clients and a two-person billing team. Zoho Books Free can hold 1,000 invoices/year, but it permits only 1 user plus 1 accountant, and the source does not state a billable-client cap. Standard gives 3 users and 5,000 invoices/year at $20 per organization/month, or $15 per organization/month billed annually. That is a more defensible starting point for the stated team, although the vendor does not publish a figure for billable clients.
Zoho Books is useful when annual invoice and expense capacity are the planning variables. Third-party bank and credit-card feeds are supported from Standard, while bills are supported only in Professional and higher. The notes do not state whether any tier includes recurring invoices for agencies, deposits, partial payments, client retainers or expense pass-through.
Zoho Books fits a firm that wants a visible invoice-volume ladder and organization pricing. The vendor does not publish a billable-client cap, and payment-processing fees are not stated, so choose from actual users, invoice volume and bill or expense needs.
Invoicing software compared
The table focuses on the published numbers that can change a retainer agency's budget. It does not fill in recurring schedules or client caps where the vendor does not state them.
| Tool and plan | Monthly price | Published capacity or inclusion | Client cap stated? |
|---|---|---|---|
| FreshBooks Lite | $23/month | 5 billable clients | Yes, 5 |
| FreshBooks Plus | $43/month | 50 billable clients, client retainers | Yes, 50 |
| FreshBooks Premium | $70/month | Unlimited billable clients | Unlimited stated |
| Xero Early | $27/month | 20 invoices, 5 bills | Not stated |
| Xero Growing | $59/month | Unlimited invoices and quotes | Not stated |
| Xero Established | $97/month | Project time and cost tracking | Not stated |
| Wave Starter | $0 | Unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and records | Not stated |
| Wave Pro | $19/month or $190/year | Per business, reminders and bank automation | Not stated |
| Zoho Books Free | $0 per organization/month | 1,000 invoices/year, 1 user plus 1 accountant | Not stated |
| Zoho Books Standard | $20/month or $15/month annually | 5,000 invoices/year, 3 users | Not stated |
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is confusing invoice capacity with client capacity. FreshBooks Lite stops at 5 billable clients, so Northstar Studio's eight retainers force Plus at $43/month even if it creates only eight invoices. FreshBooks counts active and archived clients; deleting clients frees slots while invoices remain accessible.
The second trap is multiplying an organization price by every person who touches billing. Xero has no per-user licence fees, and Wave Pro is priced per business, not per user. Zoho Books publishes 3 users on Standard, 5 on Professional, 10 on Premium and Elite, and 15 on Ultimate, with paid-plan extra users at $3/user/month or $2.5/user/month billed annually. FreshBooks charges $11/month for each team member.
The third trap is hiding the billing term. Zoho Books Standard is $20 per organization/month monthly or $15 per organization/month billed annually. Wave Pro is $19/month or $190/year billed annually; the verified notes do not state an equivalent monthly price for the annual figure, so keep $190/year visible.
The fourth trap is assuming a plan has a client cap because another tool has one. Xero, Wave and Zoho Books do not state a billable-client cap. That does not mean unlimited; ask before moving eight, twenty or more retainers into production. The same caution applies to user caps marked not stated.
The fifth trap is overlooking invoice cadence and collection. None of the four sources states recurring schedule limits, partial-payment rules or deposit handling. Wave publishes online-payment rates, while Zoho Books says payment-processing fees are not stated, so separate subscription cost from transaction charges.
The sixth trap is assuming expense features equal expense pass-through. Xero Established lists project time and cost tracking, Zoho Books lists expenses and bills on specified tiers, and FreshBooks Premium adds project profitability. None of the notes says a reimbursable cost automatically becomes a retainer line item, so test a real sample invoice.
Finally, do not compare free tiers on price alone. Wave Starter is $0 with unlimited invoices; Zoho Books Free is $0 with 1,000 invoices/year and 1 user plus 1 accountant. FreshBooks has a 30-day free trial, not a free plan. Test the actual client count, users, cadence and collection process.
Who should not buy this
A paid plan is not automatically the right answer. A team should stay free, test a smaller tier or buy nothing when the workflow does not yet justify a subscription.
- Stay on Wave Starter when invoices, estimates, bills and bookkeeping records are all the agency needs and the vendor's unstated client and user terms are confirmed for the intended setup. Its online-payment fees still need to be budgeted when clients pay by card.
- Consider Zoho Books Free when 1,000 invoices/year, 1,000 expenses/year and 1 user plus 1 accountant fit the business, and annual financial-year revenue remains below $50K. Do not choose it for a multi-user billing workflow that needs more published capacity.
- Do not buy FreshBooks Premium merely to obtain room for future clients. Premium is $70/month and unlimited billable clients, but Plus already allows 50 and includes client retainers. Upgrade for a real capacity or feature need.
- Do not buy Xero Established simply because expense pass-through sounds important. Its listed project, cost, forecast and employee-expense additions are not the same as a verified deposit or retainer allocation workflow.
- Buy nothing for now if the agency has not decided who approves a recurring invoice, how partial payments are reconciled, or who checks reimbursable expenses. Software cannot supply a billing policy that the team has not agreed.
The sensible pilot uses a real retainer, a real deposit and a real expense line. Check the resulting invoice, payment record and client history before committing to an annual plan or a tier jump.
Our verdict
Choose FreshBooks Plus for most small agencies with a genuine retainer roster. It is $43/month, includes client retainers, and allows 50 billable clients, while Lite's 5-client cap makes the $23/month entry price unsuitable for an eight-client studio. Remember the additional $11/month team-member price and the rule that active and archived clients count.
Choose Xero Growing as the runner-up when unlimited invoices and quotes and no per-user licence fees matter more than a published retainer inclusion. It is $59/month, but its client cap and retainer mechanics are not stated. Choose Wave Starter for a free basic test, or Zoho Books when its published invoice, user and expense allowances map more closely to the agency's operating limits.
Before purchase, confirm recurring schedules, deposits, partial payments, expense pass-through and the treatment of archived clients. Those are the mechanics that decide whether a low invoice price remains workable after the client roster grows.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best invoicing software for retainer clients?
FreshBooks Plus is the strongest verified choice because it costs $43/month, allows 50 billable clients and explicitly includes client retainers. Xero Growing is the runner-up at $59/month with unlimited invoices and quotes, but the verified notes do not state its retainer or billable-client limits.
How much does retainer billing software cost per month?
The listed subscription prices range from $0 for Wave Starter and Zoho Books Free to $97/month for Xero Established. FreshBooks Plus is $43/month, while Wave Pro is $19/month or $190/year billed annually. Payment processing, team members and add-ons can change the real invoicing cost per month.
Which plan fits a studio with eight retainer clients?
FreshBooks Lite does not fit because it allows 5 billable clients, so an eight-client studio needs FreshBooks Plus at $43/month or a higher tier. Wave, Xero and Zoho Books do not state a billable-client cap in the verified notes, so their eight-client suitability must be confirmed rather than assumed.
Does FreshBooks include client retainers?
FreshBooks Plus includes client retainers, along with estimates and proposals. The verified notes do not state the recurring schedule, partial-payment, deposit or expense pass-through rules, so those mechanics still need confirmation.
Which Zoho Books plan has the highest invoice allowance?
Zoho Books Elite and Ultimate each publish 100,000 invoices/year. Elite costs $150 per organization/month or $120 per organization/month billed annually, while Ultimate costs $275 per organization/month or $240 per organization/month billed annually; Ultimate raises the published user allowance to 15.
Do these tools publish recurring invoice and deposit limits?
The verified pricing notes do not publish recurring schedule limits or deposit-handling limits for FreshBooks, Xero, Wave or Zoho Books. A retainer-led agency should test those actions with a real client workflow and obtain the vendor's answer before treating them as included.