Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies

FreshBooks Review for Small Agencies

A critical FreshBooks review covering client caps, team-member charges and the monthly cost for a small agency.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026

The short answer

FreshBooks is a good fit for an agency that can stay inside its client allowance and needs straightforward invoicing. Plus is the sensible starting point for many small teams, but the billable client cap, archived-client rule and $11 monthly team-member charge can make Premium cheaper than repeated upgrading.

If you needChoose
Five or fewer billable clients and a small teamFreshBooks Lite
Estimates, proposals and retainers for up to 50 clientsFreshBooks Plus
Unlimited billable clients and project profitabilityFreshBooks Premium
Payroll or card-payment features priced separatelyCheck the add-ons
A low-cost plan that ignores archived clientsChoose another workflow
Plus client cap
50
Premium price
$70/month
Team member price
$11/month

Overview

This freshbooks review recommends FreshBooks Plus as the best starting point for a small agency, with FreshBooks Premium as the runner-up when client volume is likely to grow or archived clients cannot be deleted. Lite is attractive for a tiny practice, but its five-client allowance is narrow, and the separate $11 monthly charge for each team member means the headline plan price is not the team price. The cap and the people attached to the account decide whether FreshBooks is economical.

FreshBooks is an invoicing and bookkeeping product considered here for small service firms. This guide is for a two-to-20-person agency that needs to turn client work into invoices, estimates or proposals, with a plan that can be budgeted before the account is populated. The product has three published paid tiers, a custom-priced Select tier, and add-ons that are priced separately. The key question is not whether a plan looks affordable on its own. It is whether the allowance still fits after an agency counts current clients, old clients and the people who need access.

For a wider view of the category, start with the Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies hub. If the shortlist includes another accounting platform, compare FreshBooks vs QuickBooks for consultants, or use the guide to the best invoicing software for consultants. A broader back-office decision may also need the best bookkeeping software for a small agency.

How we chose

The review uses four buying questions. First, how many billable clients can a tier hold, and does that allowance reflect the way an agency actually manages its client list? Second, what does the plan include that changes the workflow, rather than merely adding another checkbox to a feature list? Third, what does a small agency pay after additional team members are included? Fourth, is a higher tier a real answer to growth, or does it only postpone a limit that the team will hit again?

Every price and plan limit in this article was checked against FreshBooks' own pricing page on 10 October 2026, the date in the front matter. Prices are quoted as the published monthly figures. The verified page lists Select as custom pricing, so no figure is assigned to it. Where the pricing notes do not state a seat minimum, overage price or other term, this review does not invent one.

FreshBooks Lite

Best for a very small client book FreshBooks Lite $23 per month

FreshBooks Lite suits a solo consultant or a very small agency that can keep its billable client list at five. The plan's strongest case is budget clarity at the lowest published paid tier: the base price is $23 per month, and the verified allowance is five billable clients. That can be enough for a practice with a deliberately short roster and no need to carry a large historical list inside the account.

The weakness is not hidden in an advanced feature. It is the billable client limit itself. Five is a hard planning boundary for the workflow described in the pricing notes, and the allowance is not reserved for only active engagements. A studio that finishes projects but keeps their clients in FreshBooks can use the available slots faster than its active workload suggests.

The vendor's FAQ makes the position unusually clear:

“Client limits count both active AND archived clients.”

That sentence changes the meaning of a five-client plan. Archiving is not a way to make a slot available. The verified guidance says to delete clients to free slots, while invoices remain accessible. Deletion may be an unacceptable records decision for an agency that wants the client profile retained, so Lite should be bought only after the team has decided how it will handle completed work.

A named cost scenario shows both sides of Lite. A one-person practice with five billable clients pays $23 per month. An agency with one owner and two additional team members pays $45 per month, calculated as the $23 plan price plus two team members at $11 each. That is the real FreshBooks monthly cost for this example, not $23. The team-member charge is separate from the client allowance, so adding people does not create more client capacity.

FreshBooks Plus

Best for a growing small agency FreshBooks Plus $43 per month

Plus is the most balanced FreshBooks plan for an agency that has a defined client book and wants more than basic invoice administration. It costs $43 per month and allows 50 billable clients. The verified plan notes also include estimates, proposals and client retainers, which makes Plus the tier with the clearest case for a service business that moves from a conversation to a scoped piece of work and then to repeat billing.

The 50-client allowance is materially more usable than Lite's five, but it is still a cap, not an unlimited promise. A 12-person agency could have fewer than 50 active engagements yet still approach the boundary over time if completed clients remain in the account. The archived-client rule applies here too. The plan should be judged against the total client record a team intends to keep, not only the number of invoices expected in the next month.

Consider a five-person studio with one owner and four additional team members, carrying 30 billable clients. Plus costs $87 per month in this scenario: $43 for the plan and $44 for four team members at $11 each. The number of clients does not change that arithmetic as long as 30 remains within the published 50-client limit. If the same team has 50 active clients and a set of archived records that also count, it does not have 50 spare slots. The exact status of each record matters to the cap.

FreshBooks Premium

Best for an agency with a large client book FreshBooks Premium $70 per month

Premium is the plan to examine when client volume, not a missing checkbox, is the main source of risk. It costs $70 per month and has unlimited billable clients in the verified pricing notes. It adds project profitability and custom email templates. The unlimited allowance removes the specific active-versus-archived client-count problem described for Lite and Plus, although it does not make every other cost in the account disappear.

A five-person studio with 80 billable clients and four additional team members pays $114 per month on Premium: $70 for the plan plus $44 for four team members. The same team on Plus could not use the published 50-client allowance for that client count, and Lite is further outside its limit. Premium is therefore the purchasable comparison for this scenario, not an optional luxury selected after multiplying an unavailable lower-tier price.

FreshBooks add-ons

Best for a team that needs separately priced extras FreshBooks add-ons from $20 per month

FreshBooks prices some needs outside the three published plan totals. Advanced Payments is $20 per month. FreshBooks Payroll is $40 per month plus $6 per month per user. These are add-on prices, so they should be placed on a separate line in a budget rather than folded into the Lite, Plus or Premium figure.

The verified notes do not state whether every plan can take every add-on, nor do they define the user scope for the payroll charge beyond the published per-user amount. That means the safe calculation is a transparent one, not an assumption about eligibility. For example, a Plus agency with four additional team members and Advanced Payments would be at least $107 per month before any payroll: $43 for Plus, $44 for the four team members and $20 for Advanced Payments.

If the same example adds FreshBooks Payroll for two users, the payroll line is $52 per month, calculated as $40 plus two $6 user charges. The combined monthly total would be $159, using Plus at $43, four team members at $44, Advanced Payments at $20 and Payroll at $52. That is a named scenario, not a general claim that every five-person studio needs every add-on.

FreshBooks pricing compared

The table below compares the published FreshBooks plan prices, client allowances and the additions recorded in the verified pricing notes. All plan prices are monthly figures. Team members are priced separately at $11 each.

Plan or optionMonthly priceBillable clientsPublished additions
FreshBooks Lite$23/month5None listed in the verified notes
FreshBooks Plus$43/month50Estimates, proposals, client retainers
FreshBooks Premium$70/monthUnlimitedProject profitability, custom email templates
FreshBooks SelectCustom pricingNot statedNot stated
Advanced Payments$20/month add-onNot applicablePriced separately
FreshBooks Payroll$40/month plus $6/month per userNot applicablePriced separately

A base-price comparison makes Lite the apparent winner, but it answers only the smallest version of the buying question. Lite is $20 below Plus, while Plus is $27 below Premium. The more useful comparison is whether the lower plan can hold the agency's complete client record and whether the firm needs estimates, proposals, retainers or project profitability. The client cap creates three different buying states. At five or fewer total billable and archived clients, Lite can be viable. Above five and within 50, Plus is the relevant published tier. Once an agency cannot safely fit under 50 because its records remain active or archived, Premium is the first published plan without that stated limit. That logic is more reliable than calling Lite the cheapest and leaving the cap in a footnote.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating an archived client as free capacity. FreshBooks says active and archived clients both count, and its stated remedy is to delete clients to free slots while invoices remain accessible. An agency that wants the client profile to remain available cannot assume that archiving will make Lite's five or Plus's 50 available again. This is the detail most short FreshBooks pricing summaries omit, and it can change the correct tier before any new client signs.

The second trap is confusing team size with plan capacity. The plan allowance is expressed in billable clients, while team members are charged separately. A five-person team with four additional team members does not pay the five-person price by default. It pays the base tier plus $44, before Advanced Payments or Payroll. The extra charge is not a higher client allowance, so increasing headcount does not solve a cap problem.

The third trap is using a lower-tier price for a client count that the tier cannot hold. A team with 80 billable clients cannot budget Premium by taking Plus's $43 and adding a small contingency. Premium's published price is $70 because it is the relevant plan with unlimited billable clients. The same principle applies to Lite when a team has six clients, even if five are active and one is archived.

Who should not buy this

FreshBooks is not the right purchase for every small agency, even when the first plan price looks manageable.

  1. Do not buy Lite if the agency already has more than five active and archived clients, or if it cannot decide which historical clients may be deleted. The $23 base price does not make the published limit disappear.
  2. Do not buy Plus when 50 total records is likely to be a short-lived ceiling. If the agency expects to keep completed client profiles and is already near the cap, Premium is the honest comparison.
  3. Do not buy Premium for a tiny client book simply because unlimited sounds safer. If the agency has only a few clients and will not use project profitability or custom email templates, the extra base cost may buy little.
  4. Do not budget a team account from the owner-only price. Add $11 per team member and name the people who need access before selecting a tier.
  5. Do not add Payroll or Advanced Payments until the workflow requires them. Their separate prices can turn a seemingly modest plan into a materially larger monthly bill.
  6. Buy nothing for now if the agency has not decided how it will retain client records, who owns invoicing, or which team members require access. A trial can answer those questions without committing to a tier.

Our verdict: freshbooks review

FreshBooks is a credible choice for a small agency, but it is not a universally cheap one. Choose Plus when the agency needs estimates, proposals and client retainers, has a client book that can stay below 50 active and archived clients, and can budget the separate $11 monthly fee for each additional team member. For an owner plus four additional team members, that is $87 per month before add-ons.

Choose Premium when client history makes the 50-client cap unsafe, when the agency has more than 50 billable clients, or when project profitability is worth paying for. The five-person example with 80 clients costs $114 per month with four additional team members, and it uses a plan that is actually available for that client count. Lite remains a sensible low-cost option only for a genuinely small, controlled client list.

FreshBooks is the winner for an agency that values a straightforward paid plan and can manage its client records deliberately. It is the runner-up for a fast-growing or archive-heavy agency if the team cannot justify Premium. The honest recommendation is conditional: count clients first, count people second, then add the separately priced services. For how those checks fit the publication's standards, see the methodology.

Frequently asked questions

What does this freshbooks review recommend for a small agency?

FreshBooks Plus is the recommended starting point when an agency needs estimates, proposals and client retainers and can stay below 50 active and archived billable clients. Premium is the better choice when the client record cannot fit under that cap, while Lite is for a much smaller five-client operation.

How much is FreshBooks pricing for Lite, Plus and Premium?

FreshBooks Lite is $23 per month, Plus is $43 per month and Premium is $70 per month in the verified pricing notes. These are base plan prices, so an agency must add $11 per month for each team member and budget any separately priced add-ons.

What is the FreshBooks billable client limit?

Lite allows five billable clients and Plus allows 50 billable clients. Premium is listed with unlimited billable clients, while Select has custom pricing and no client figure is stated in the verified notes.

Do archived clients count toward the FreshBooks limit?

Yes. FreshBooks states in its pricing-page FAQ that client limits count both active and archived clients. The verified guidance says to delete clients to free slots, while invoices remain accessible, so archiving alone should not be treated as extra capacity.

What is the FreshBooks per team member cost?

The verified price is $11 per month for each team member, on top of the plan price. An owner plus four additional team members therefore adds $44 per month before any add-ons, making the base totals $67 on Lite, $87 on Plus or $114 on Premium.

How much does FreshBooks Plus cost for a five-person studio?

Assuming one owner and four additional team members, FreshBooks Plus costs $87 per month: $43 for Plus plus four $11 team-member charges. The total assumes the studio's active and archived billable clients remain within Plus's published 50-client allowance.

Is FreshBooks Premium worth it for an agency?

Premium is worth considering when the agency needs unlimited billable clients, project profitability or custom email templates, especially if deleting archived clients is not acceptable. It is harder to justify for a very small client book that fits comfortably within Lite or Plus and will not use the added inclusions.

What do the FreshBooks add-ons cost?

Advanced Payments costs $20 per month. FreshBooks Payroll costs $40 per month plus $6 per month per user, and those charges are separate from Lite, Plus or Premium.