Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies
Zoho Books vs QuickBooks for Agencies
Zoho Books and QuickBooks Online compared on users, monthly cost, annual pricing, and promotional rates for small agencies.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
Zoho Books is the winner for most small agencies because its Standard plan includes 3 users at $20 per organization/month, or $15 per organization/month billed annually. QuickBooks Online is the runner-up, with stronger published user capacity at higher tiers but a much higher listed monthly cost and promotional prices that apply only for 3 months.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| The lowest paid price for 3 included users | Zoho Books Standard |
| A free plan with 1 user and 1 accountant | Zoho Books Free |
| A published 5-user paid plan | QuickBooks Online Plus |
| A free plan with 1 user and very small invoice limits | QuickBooks Free |
| A predictable annual price | Zoho Books |
- Zoho Standard annual
- $15
- Zoho Standard users
- 3
- QuickBooks Plus users
- 5
Overview
For most small agencies, Zoho Books is the winner, while QuickBooks Online is the runner-up for teams willing to pay more for a published 5-user Plus tier. That is the practical zoho books vs quickbooks answer: Zoho Books puts 3 users on Standard for $20 per organization/month, or $15 per organization/month billed annually, while QuickBooks Online Simple Start lists one user at $38/month and its first published three-user plan, Essentials, lists $85/month. QuickBooks does show lower introductory prices, but each applies for 3 months only.
This comparison is for small agencies, consultants, design studios and other professional-services teams that need bookkeeping software for agencies without letting a second or third person turn an entry plan into an unknown cost. Users per plan matter more than a headline starting price. A solo owner, an owner plus a bookkeeper, and a five-person delivery team are three different buying decisions.
Zoho Books and QuickBooks Online are compared here using their United States pricing displays in USD. The page covers what each free and paid plan states, what a small firm actually pays at one, three and five users, and how to read QuickBooks promotional pricing without putting a temporary discount into a recurring budget. For the broader category, see the Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies hub, the best bookkeeping software for a small agency, and the best invoicing software for consultants. A product-to-product alternative is covered in FreshBooks vs QuickBooks for consultants.
How we chose
The comparison uses five practical questions. First, how many people can work in the plan without an extra user charge? Second, what is the price at the monthly billing period and, where published, at the annual billing period? Third, what happens when a second or third person needs access? Fourth, which invoice, expense, bill, receipt-scan and bank-feed limits are actually stated? Fifth, does a promotional first-period rate change the honest long-term cost?
Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-10-10, the date in the front matter. Prices are kept in the source currency, USD, and annual and monthly figures are not blended. QuickBooks Online's verified notes state monthly prices and promotional prices, but annual billing for its paid plans is not stated. Zoho Books publishes both billing periods for its paid plans, so both figures are shown.
We distinguish accountant access from user seats and do not estimate unstated limits. See the methodology for the sourcing rule.
Zoho Books for small agencies
Best for included users at a known price Zoho Books 3 users on Standard, with monthly and annual rates
Zoho Books suits an agency that wants the second and third person included in the first sensible paid tier. Standard includes 3 users at $20 per organization/month monthly, or $15 per organization/month billed annually. That is the key cost advantage in this comparison: the price is attached to the organization, and the initial three-person group does not require a per-user calculation.
Standard raises the invoice and expense allowances to 5,000 invoices/year and 5,000 expenses/year. It includes 200 receipt autoscans/month, multiple bank and credit-card accounts, and third-party bank and credit-card feeds. Bills are not listed for Standard, and the comparison says bills are supported only in Professional and higher. That limitation prevents a team from choosing Standard solely because three users fit if the agency also needs a published bills allowance.
Standard's extra-user price is $3/user/month or $2.5/user/month billed annually. A four-user agency can therefore remain on Standard at $23 per organization/month monthly, calculated as $20 plus one $3 user, or $17.50 per organization/month billed annually, calculated as $15 plus one $2.5 user. Five users cost $26 per organization/month monthly or $20 per organization/month billed annually on the same plan. These calculations are useful only when Standard's stated limits and lack of listed bills support fit the workflow.
Professional includes 5 users at $50 per organization/month monthly or $40 per organization/month billed annually. It lists 10,000 invoices/year, 10,000 expenses & bills combined/year, 200 receipt autoscans/month, multiple bank and credit-card accounts, and third-party bank and credit-card feeds. Because bills are supported in Professional and higher, this is the cleaner five-person scenario when the agency's records include bills rather than invoices and expenses alone.
A five-person studio on Zoho Books Professional pays $50 per organization/month monthly, or $40 per organization/month billed annually. If the team only needs Standard's stated scope, five people can instead pay $26 per organization/month monthly or $20 per organization/month billed annually by using two extra users. That difference is not a reason to hide the plan boundary: the lower calculation does not add bills support that the verified notes do not list.
Zoho Books has honest weaknesses. The Free plan's $50K revenue condition can make it unsuitable for an agency that has outgrown the eligibility rule. Standard's bills position is narrower than Professional's, and the number of multiple bank and credit-card accounts is not stated. Payment-processing fees are not stated for Zoho Books, so the absence of a listed fee must not be treated as a promise of free processing.
The practical Zoho decision is conditional. Choose Free when one user plus one accountant fits its revenue, invoice and expense limits. Choose Standard for three users and third-party bank feeds, or Professional for five users when bills support is part of the requirement. The annual price is lower in every published paid tier, but monthly flexibility may still matter.
QuickBooks Online for small agencies
Best for a published 5-user paid tier QuickBooks Online Plus includes 5 users, but at $140/month
QuickBooks Online suits an agency that wants a well-defined progression from one user to three, five or twenty-five users on the published paid plans. The cost is the catch. Simple Start is $38/month for 1 user plus access for 2 accountants. Essentials is $85/month for 3 users plus access for 2 accountants. Plus is $140/month for 5 users plus access for 2 accountants. Advanced is $340/month for 25 users plus access for 3 accountants.
Simple Start is the first paid option, but it is still a one-user plan. Its published monthly list price is $38/month, while the current introductory price shown is $19/mo for 3 months, described as 50% off for 3 months. Annual billing is not stated. The plan includes access for 2 accountants, but the verified notes do not state an additional-user price. A second agency operator therefore cannot be assigned an invented add-on cost.
Essentials is the first QuickBooks Online plan with 3 users. Its listed price is $85/month, and the displayed introductory price is $42.50/mo for 3 months, also 50% off for 3 months. Annual billing, invoice limits, bill limits, bank-connection limits and company limits are not stated on the pricing page. The important cost conclusion is that a three-user agency should budget against $85/month, not build its recurring plan around $42.50/mo.
Plus includes 5 users at $140/month, with a displayed introductory price of $70/mo for 3 months. Advanced includes 25 users at $340/month, with a displayed introductory price of $170/mo for 3 months. Neither annual billing figure is stated. The published notes also do not state invoice, bill, bank-connection or company limits for these plans, so this article does not assign a capacity to them.
A five-person studio on QuickBooks Online Plus pays $140/month at the listed monthly price. The first 3 months are shown at $70/mo for 3 months, but that is a promotional first period, not the standing price to use for the rest of the budget. A three-person agency on Essentials pays $85/month after reading the same distinction, while Simple Start's $19/mo figure applies only for 3 months and is for one user.
QuickBooks also offers a 30-day free trial, and the official trial page displays Essentials free for 30 days. That is different from QuickBooks Free, which is a $0/mo plan with its own limits.
zoho books vs quickbooks pricing compared
The table below keeps USD figures in their published billing periods and shows the user counts that decide the comparison. A dash means the source did not state a comparable figure, not that the cost is zero.
| Plan | Monthly price | Annual price or period | Included users | Stated limits or access |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoho Books Free | $0 per organization/month | $0 per organization/month billed annually | 1 user + 1 accountant | 1,000 invoices/year, 1,000 expenses/year |
| Zoho Books Standard | $20 per organization/month | $15 per organization/month billed annually | 3 users | 5,000 invoices/year, 5,000 expenses/year |
| Zoho Books Professional | $50 per organization/month | $40 per organization/month billed annually | 5 users | 10,000 invoices/year, 10,000 expenses & bills combined/year |
| Zoho Books Premium | $70 per organization/month | $60 per organization/month billed annually | 10 users | 25,000 invoices/year, 25,000 expenses & bills combined/year |
| QuickBooks Free | $0/mo | Not stated | 1 user | 2 invoices/month, 2 receipts/month, 1 bank account |
| QuickBooks Online Simple Start | $38/month, or $19/mo for 3 months | Not stated | 1 user + 2 accountants | Paid-plan invoice and bill limits not stated |
| QuickBooks Online Essentials | $85/month, or $42.50/mo for 3 months | Not stated | 3 users + 2 accountants | Paid-plan invoice and bill limits not stated |
| QuickBooks Online Plus | $140/month, or $70/mo for 3 months | Not stated | 5 users + 2 accountants | Paid-plan invoice and bill limits not stated |
| QuickBooks Online Advanced | $340/month, or $170/mo for 3 months | Not stated | 25 users + 3 accountants | Paid-plan invoice and bill limits not stated |
The clearest like-for-like headcount is three users. Zoho Books Standard costs $20 per organization/month monthly or $15 per organization/month billed annually. QuickBooks Online Essentials costs $85/month, with $42.50/mo for 3 months as the displayed introductory price. QuickBooks has no verified annual figure in the source, so a lower annual comparison cannot be supplied.
At five users, Zoho Books Professional is $50 per organization/month monthly or $40 per organization/month billed annually, with bills included in the stated combined limit. QuickBooks Online Plus is $140/month, or $70/mo for 3 months.
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is calling accountant access a second user. Zoho Books Free includes 1 user + 1 accountant, while QuickBooks Free includes 1 user and says accountant access is not included. Simple Start includes 1 user plus access for 2 accountants, but that does not make it a two- or three-user operating plan. An agency should list the people who create, review or manage records separately from an outside accountant before comparing prices.
The second trap is stopping at the entry price when the second person arrives. Zoho Books Standard already includes 3 users, so the second and third people do not require a user add-on. QuickBooks Simple Start includes only 1 user, and its additional-user price is not stated. Essentials is the next published plan with 3 users, at $85/month, so that is the known price to test rather than an invented Simple Start add-on.
The third trap is assuming a promotional price is a normal monthly price. QuickBooks lists Simple Start at $19/mo for 3 months against $38/month, Essentials at $42.50/mo for 3 months against $85/month, Plus at $70/mo for 3 months against $140/month, and Advanced at $170/mo for 3 months against $340/month. Every one of those discounts is for 3 months. The source does not state annual billing for these paid plans, so none of these offers should be rewritten as an annual rate.
The fifth trap is assuming that a user cap is the same as a feature allowance. Zoho Books Standard includes 3 users and lists 5,000 invoices/year and 5,000 expenses/year, but bills are not listed for Standard. Professional includes 5 users and lists 10,000 expenses & bills combined/year. QuickBooks' paid-plan invoice, bill, bank-connection and company limits are not stated in the verified notes. More users do not automatically answer whether the plan's operational limits fit.
The sixth trap is forgetting add-ons and transaction costs. Zoho Books lists Document autoscans at $10 per 50 scans/month or $8 per 50 scans/month billed annually, and BillPay at $69/month or $59/month billed annually, including 100 ACH vendor payments. QuickBooks lists $0.50 per standard ACH Bill Pay transaction over monthly allotments, with allotments that may vary. Zoho's listed prices exclude taxes.
Who should not buy this
The right answer may be to stay free, test briefly or buy nothing. A paid plan is justified by a real access or volume problem, not by the existence of a longer plan list.
- Do not buy a paid plan yet if one person can work within the free plan's stated limits and no second operator or third-party bank feed is required. Zoho Books Free is $0 per organization/month and QuickBooks Free is $0/mo, but their eligibility and limits need to fit the actual workflow.
- Do not choose Zoho Books Free for a multi-user team. It includes 1 user + 1 accountant and does not offer additional users on Free. Move to Standard only when three users, third-party bank feeds or the published paid limits solve a known need.
- Do not choose QuickBooks Free for shared agency work. It includes 1 user, excludes accountant and multi-user access, and limits activity to the figures stated on the Free page. A second person is a reason to compare a paid multi-user plan, not to assume that Free will stretch.
- Do not buy QuickBooks Simple Start for a two- or three-user team merely because its first 3 months are shown at $19/mo. The plan has 1 user, the additional-user price is not stated, and the next published three-user option is Essentials at $85/month.
- Do not buy QuickBooks Plus for five people solely because $70/mo appears first. That rate covers 3 months. Use $140/month for the continuing monthly budget unless a different verified billing term is published.
Our verdict: zoho books vs quickbooks
Choose Zoho Books for most small agencies. Standard is the strongest default when three users need access: $20 per organization/month monthly or $15 per organization/month billed annually. Professional is the better five-user choice when the agency needs the stated bills support: $50 per organization/month monthly or $40 per organization/month billed annually.
Choose QuickBooks Online when the agency specifically wants its published user progression, or when Plus's 5-user tier fits a known workflow despite the cost. Budget $140/month for Plus, not the displayed $70/mo for 3 months, and budget $85/month for Essentials rather than $42.50/mo for 3 months. QuickBooks is the runner-up because its user counts are clear at Essentials, Plus and Advanced, but its annual pricing and paid-plan operational limits are not stated here.
Frequently asked questions
Is zoho books vs quickbooks better for a small agency?
Zoho Books is the better default for most small agencies because Standard includes 3 users at $20 per organization/month, or $15 per organization/month billed annually. QuickBooks Online is the runner-up when the agency prefers its published 3-, 5- or 25-user paid tiers and accepts the higher listed monthly prices.
How much does Zoho Books cost for three users?
Zoho Books Standard includes 3 users for $20 per organization/month with monthly billing. The annual price is $15 per organization/month billed annually, and the plan lists 5,000 invoices/year, 5,000 expenses/year and 200 receipt autoscans/month.
How much does QuickBooks Online cost for three users?
QuickBooks Online Essentials includes 3 users for $85/month. The pricing page also shows an introductory price of $42.50/mo for 3 months, but annual billing is not stated, so $85/month is the listed recurring monthly figure to use for budgeting beyond the promotion.
What happens when a second person needs QuickBooks access?
QuickBooks Online Simple Start includes 1 user plus access for 2 accountants, and its additional-user price is not stated. The next published paid tier with 3 users is Essentials at $85/month, so a small agency should compare that plan rather than invent an add-on price for Simple Start.
Is QuickBooks Online Plus really $70 per month?
QuickBooks Online Plus is listed at $140/month, while $70/mo applies for 3 months as the displayed introductory price. The source does not state annual billing for Plus, so the promotion should not be treated as a standing annual or monthly rate.
Which Zoho Books plan includes five users?
Zoho Books Professional includes 5 users at $50 per organization/month monthly or $40 per organization/month billed annually. It lists 10,000 invoices/year and 10,000 expenses & bills combined/year, while Standard can reach five users through extra users but does not list bills support.