CRM for Agencies and Consultancies

HubSpot vs Pipedrive for Agencies

HubSpot and Pipedrive compared on free access, verified per-seat pricing, five-seat costs and the limits that shape an agency CRM choice.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026

The short answer

HubSpot is the better starting point for an agency that wants a free CRM option, provided its free tier limit of up to 2 users fits the team. Pipedrive is the stronger paid choice for a team that wants a focused sales pipeline tool and can accept that it publishes no free tier, with Lite priced at $14 per seat per month annually.

If you needChoose
A free starting point for a very small teamHubSpot Free
A paid CRM with a published per-seat entry pricePipedrive Lite
The lower verified annual price per paid seatHubSpot Starter
A five-seat monthly figure that is publishedHubSpot Starter
A sales pipeline tool with no free tierPipedrive
HubSpot Starter annual seat
$7
Pipedrive Lite annual seat
$14
HubSpot free users
up to 2
Five-seat HubSpot annual
$35

Overview

For most small agencies, HubSpot is the winner for getting started, while Pipedrive is the runner-up and the clearer paid choice. That is the practical hubspot vs pipedrive answer: HubSpot offers $0 access for up to 2 users, while Pipedrive publishes no free tier. For five paid seats, HubSpot Starter is also cheaper on the verified annual rate, although Pipedrive may suit a team that wants a paid pipeline-first workflow.

This guide is for design studios, consultants and other agencies choosing a CRM for agencies. The decision turns on two facts: whether the team fits HubSpot's free user limit, and what five seats cost once free access is no longer enough. HubSpot Starter is $7 per seat per month annually or $20 monthly. Pipedrive Lite is $14 annually, offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, and has no continuing free tier.

The rest of the page explains the criteria, the plans checked on 10 October 2026, the five-seat maths, billing traps and cases where buying nothing is sensible. For the wider category, see the CRM for Agencies and Consultancies hub, the best CRM for design studios, and the best free CRM for consultants.

How we chose

The comparison asks four practical questions: can the agency start without paying, what user limit comes with that choice, what does the first paid plan cost for five people, and which published plan additions could change the real budget? Free access is not automatically company-wide access, while a paid seat price is useful only when the plan supports the workflow.

Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-10-10. Annual and monthly figures remain separate. A monthly price is not inferred from an annual discount, and a limit, minimum seat rule or overage policy is not assumed where the verified notes say nothing. See the site's methodology for the source and checking approach.

HubSpot for agencies

Best for a free starting point HubSpot free for up to 2 users, then Starter at $7 annually per seat

HubSpot suits an agency that wants to test a CRM process before paying for every collaborator. Its decisive advantage is the Free tier at $0 for up to 2 users. That can work for a solo consultant and one colleague, but it is not unlimited team access. The limit has changed historically, so the team should check it again before relying on the free tier.

HubSpot Starter costs $7 per seat per month with annual billing, or $20 per seat per month when billed monthly. The verified plan notes include 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. They do not state a Starter seat cap, an overage price or additional usage rules, so those details remain purchase questions rather than facts this article can add.

A five-person agency on Starter pays $35 per month equivalent when billed annually, calculated as five seats at $7, or $100 per month on the monthly rate. That is a $65 monthly difference between the two billing bases for the same five seats. Annual billing therefore wins the published price test, while monthly billing may matter to a team that is still proving its process.

The best HubSpot case is a small team that wants a no-cost pilot and expects the CRM to sit near marketing activity. Free can validate who owns enquiries and follow-up when two users are enough. If more people need direct access, Starter provides the lower verified paid seat price of the two tools in this comparison, along with its listed credits and marketing-contact allowance.

The weaknesses are concrete. A 5-person agency cannot treat the up-to-2-user Free limit as a whole-team plan. Starter's $20 monthly rate is substantially above its $7 annual monthly equivalent, and the verified notes do not say what happens at the limits. Count users first, then ask about credits, contacts and extra seats before approving a larger rollout.

The HubSpot pricing page
HubSpot pricing, captured 2 October 2026

Choose HubSpot Free for a two-user pilot that fits the current limit. Choose Starter when five annual-billed users need access and the published 500 credits and 1,000 marketing contacts are relevant. Do not call Free a suitable agency plan merely because the company has fewer than 20 people.

Pipedrive for agencies

Best for a paid pipeline-first workflow Pipedrive Lite at $14 per seat per month annually, with no free tier

Pipedrive suits an agency ready to pay for the seats it needs and looking for a sales pipeline tool with paid plan progression. It publishes no free tier. The 14-day free trial with no credit card is useful for testing, but it is not a permanent $0 workspace. An agency that needs free access after a trial must consider HubSpot Free if its up-to-2-user limit fits.

Pipedrive Lite costs $14 per seat per month with annual billing, stated as $168 per seat per year. Annual billing saves up to 42% against monthly, but the verified notes do not state the monthly Lite price. This guide therefore does not reverse-calculate it. The honest monthly answer is not stated until the vendor figure is checked directly.

For five people, Lite costs $70 per month equivalent when billed annually, calculated as five seats at $14, or $840 for the five seat-based subscriptions across a year. The exact month-to-month total is not stated. That makes Pipedrive easy to price for an annual budget and incomplete for a month-to-month approval without another verification step.

Growth costs $39 per seat per month annually and adds email sync with tracking, automations, subscriptions, forecast reports and a meeting scheduler. Premium costs $59 and adds lead generation and routing, custom scoring, and contracts with built-in e-signatures. Ultimate costs $79 and adds sandbox testing and extended phone support. A team should choose these tiers only when the listed additions correspond to actual work.

For five annual-billed seats, Growth is $195 per month equivalent, Premium is $295, and Ultimate is $395. Pipedrive also lists add-ons from $32.50 for LeadBooster, $16 for Projects, $13.33 for Campaigns, $41 for Web Visitors and $32.50 for Smart Docs. The pricing notes do not state whether those add-on amounts are per seat or per account, so they should not be multiplied into a budget without confirmation.

The trade-off is therefore clear. Pipedrive has no continuing free tier, and Lite's monthly price is not stated here. Its advantage is a paid route with published annual tiers and named workflow additions. Its $14 entry price is not a complete agency budget if the process needs Growth, Premium, Ultimate or an add-on.

The Pipedrive pricing page
Pipedrive pricing, captured 2 October 2026

Choose Pipedrive when the agency accepts paid access and wants its pipeline progression. Choose Lite when the entry workflow is sufficient, Growth when its listed automation and forecasting additions matter, and a higher tier only when its published additions will be used. Do not call the trial a free plan or quote an unverified monthly Lite price.

HubSpot vs Pipedrive pricing compared

The table compares published plans and five-seat annual monthly equivalents. “Not stated” means the verified notes do not publish that figure, so it is not estimated.

PlanAnnual price per seatMonthly price per seatFive-seat annual monthly equivalentFive-seat monthly cost
HubSpot Free$0$0$0$0
HubSpot Starter$7$20$35$100
Pipedrive Lite$14Not stated$70Not stated
Pipedrive Growth$39Not stated$195Not stated
Pipedrive Premium$59Not stated$295Not stated
Pipedrive Ultimate$79Not stated$395Not stated

HubSpot wins the free and annual five-seat tests. Up to 2 users can begin at $0, and five Starter seats are $35 per month equivalent annually. Pipedrive Lite is $70 on the same annual basis. That does not make HubSpot universally better: a team may prefer Pipedrive's paid plan progression.

The monthly comparison must remain cautious. HubSpot publishes $20 per seat, making five Starter seats $100. Pipedrive's Lite monthly price is not stated, so this guide cannot call it cheaper or more expensive month to month. Five Pipedrive Growth, Premium and Ultimate seats are $195, $295 and $395 monthly equivalents annually, which shows why the required tier matters more than the entry number.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating HubSpot Free as company-wide access. The published limit is up to 2 users, not an unlimited agency workspace. Count everyone who needs a login before comparing Free with paid plans, and check the current limit because it has changed historically.

The second trap is comparing different billing bases. HubSpot Starter is $7 annually and $20 monthly per seat, or $35 versus $100 for five seats. Pipedrive Lite is $14 annually per seat, but its monthly price is not stated. Do not turn an annual monthly equivalent into a promise about monthly cash flow.

The third trap is deriving Pipedrive Lite's monthly figure from “up to 42%” savings. A maximum saving percentage does not establish the exact monthly price, so the verified $14 annual rate and $168 yearly rate are the only Lite figures published here. The five-seat monthly total remains not stated.

The fourth trap is budgeting Lite when the work needs a higher plan. Growth adds email sync with tracking, automations, subscriptions, forecast reports and a meeting scheduler. Premium adds lead generation, routing, scoring and built-in e-signatures, while Ultimate adds sandbox testing and extended phone support. Price the plan that will actually be used.

The fifth trap is multiplying add-ons without knowing their unit. Pipedrive lists LeadBooster from $32.50, Projects from $16, Campaigns from $13.33, Web Visitors from $41 and Smart Docs from $32.50, but the verified notes do not say whether those amounts are per seat or per account. Treat them as confirmation points.

The sixth trap is assuming unstated HubSpot limits are unlimited. Starter lists 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts, but the notes do not state overage, unused-quantity or additional-seat rules. Plan around what is published and ask what happens at the boundary. Neither the HubSpot Starter seat cap nor Pipedrive minimum seats and general overage rules are stated here.

Who should not buy this

The right answer may be a bounded pilot, HubSpot Free or no subscription. Software cannot replace an owner for records and follow-up.

  1. Do not buy Pipedrive yet if a continuing free tier is essential. It publishes no free tier, so use the 14-day trial only to test whether a paid plan is justified.
  2. Stay on HubSpot Free when two users can run the process and the current limit fits. Check the limit before relying on it for a live agency workflow.
  3. Buy nothing for now if nobody will maintain records or review the pipeline. A CRM subscription does not create that responsibility.
  4. Do not approve month-to-month Pipedrive Lite using an invented figure. Its annual price is verified, but its monthly price is not stated in the source used here.
  5. Do not buy a higher Pipedrive tier for a checklist. Use Growth, Premium or Ultimate only when its listed additions match an actual requirement.
  6. Do not buy HubSpot Starter solely because it is cheaper annually. Confirm the 500-credit, 1,000-contact and unstated seat or overage boundaries before a larger rollout.

A short pilot should identify who owns enquiries, who needs a seat and what happens at the published limit. If nobody owns those decisions, adding software creates another place for work to be missed.

Our verdict: hubspot vs pipedrive

Choose HubSpot as the overall winner for an agency that wants to start free, has no more than 2 users initially, or wants the lower verified annual price for five seats. HubSpot Starter is $35 per month equivalent annually for five seats, or $100 monthly, and lists 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts.

Choose Pipedrive as the paid-workflow runner-up when the agency accepts no free tier and wants a pipeline-focused progression. Lite is $70 per month equivalent annually for five seats, while Growth is $195, Premium is $295 and Ultimate is $395. The monthly Lite total is not stated, so monthly approval needs one more check.

The answer depends on the boundary. HubSpot wins the free-start and five-seat annual tests. Pipedrive wins when its paid workflow and tier additions fit the agency better. If two users can run a real pilot, start with HubSpot Free; if every required user needs paid access, compare the plan that supports the process rather than assuming Lite is enough.

Frequently asked questions

Is hubspot vs pipedrive better for an agency?

HubSpot is better for a free start or a lower verified annual cost for five seats. Pipedrive is better when the agency accepts no free tier and wants paid pipeline plans with listed workflow additions.

How much does HubSpot Starter cost for five users?

It costs $35 per month equivalent for five annual-billed seats, based on $7 per seat. At the published monthly price, five seats cost $100 per month.

How much does Pipedrive Lite cost for five seats?

It costs $70 per month equivalent for five annual-billed seats, based on $14 per seat. The month-to-month Lite price and five-seat monthly total are not stated in the verified notes.

Does Pipedrive have a free tier?

No. Pipedrive publishes no free tier. It offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, but that is not a continuing free plan.

How many users can use HubSpot Free?

HubSpot's pricing page states that Free is free for up to 2 users. The limit has changed historically, so check it again before relying on the tier.

What does HubSpot Starter include?

The verified notes list 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. They do not state every seat rule, overage charge or additional usage allowance.

What does Pipedrive Growth add?

Growth adds email sync with tracking, automations, subscriptions, forecast reports and a meeting scheduler. Its annual price is $39 per seat per month, making five seats $195 per month equivalent annually.

Should a small agency stay on a free CRM?

Stay free when the user limit fits and somebody will maintain the records. HubSpot Free can suit up to 2 users, while Pipedrive has no free tier; pay when the free boundary creates a real access or workflow problem.