CRM for Agencies and Consultancies

Best CRM for Small Marketing Agencies

Compare five CRMs for agency proposals, renewals and referrals, with verified seat pricing, free limits and small-team cost scenarios.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026

The short answer

Less Annoying CRM is the best default for a small marketing agency that wants every team member included at a clear $15 per user per month. Pipedrive is the runner-up for agencies that need stronger proposal, subscription and contract workflow, while HubSpot, Zoho CRM and Freshsales make more sense when their free tiers or specific limits fit the team.

If you needChoose
The clearest bill for the whole teamLess Annoying CRM
Proposal, subscription and contract workflowPipedrive
A free CRM for up to three usersZoho CRM or Freshsales
The lowest published paid seatHubSpot Starter
A five-person annual seat scenario at $45Freshsales Growth
Cheapest paid seat
$7
Tools compared
5
Less Annoying seat
$15

Overview

Less Annoying CRM is the best CRM for small marketing agencies when quick adoption and a predictable whole-team bill matter most. It has one plan at $15 per user per month, billed month to month, and states that users can be added at that rate. Pipedrive is the runner-up for an agency that will use subscriptions, meeting scheduling, automations or built-in e-signatures to manage proposals and renewals.

A marketing agency's pipeline is not a sales pipeline in miniature. It usually runs on referrals, proposals, signed scopes, retainer renewals and the people responsible for the next client conversation, rather than lead scoring alone. The right CRM must therefore earn a place in the daily handoff, not merely present a long feature list.

This guide covers five tools for small agencies and consultancies. It compares what the verified plans include, how quickly a small team can start, and what five seats cost. For the wider category, see the CRM for Agencies and Consultancies hub, plus the best CRM for design studios and the best free CRM for consultants.

How we chose

The comparison tests adoption, agency relevance and whole-team cost. A useful agency CRM should support a shared record, a next action, proposal progress and renewal ownership without requiring a long implementation project. Published plan features receive more weight than generic feature checklists, so reminders, workflows, templates, subscriptions, scheduling and e-signatures matter more here than a vague promise of “more automation”.

Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026. Annual and monthly figures are kept separate, and five-person scenarios multiply only verified per-seat prices. Where a vendor does not publish a cap, minimum, monthly price or overage rule, this guide says so rather than filling the gap with an assumption. The source policy is explained in the methodology.

HubSpot

Best for the lowest published paid seat HubSpot Starter is $7 per seat per month annually

HubSpot suits a very small agency that wants to test a shared CRM at a low published paid entry price. The free tier can work for a founder and one colleague, but it is not a whole-team licence for a larger small agency.

HubSpot Free is $0 for up to two users. Starter is $7 per seat per month with annual billing, or $20 per seat per month with monthly billing. Starter includes 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts.

A five-person agency on Starter pays $35 per month equivalent when billed annually, calculated as five seats at $7. The same seats cost $100 per month on monthly billing. A two-person team can test the free plan at $0, but the free cap is explicit. The verified notes do not state a paid minimum-seat rule, paid cap or extra-seat price.

The HubSpot pricing page
HubSpot pricing, captured 2 October 2026

HubSpot is the value pick when its stated credits and marketing-contact allowance fit the work. It is not automatically the best CRM for marketing agencies because its entry seat is cheapest; the full-team bill and the free cap matter more than the headline.

Pipedrive

Best for proposal and renewal structure Pipedrive Growth adds subscriptions and automations

Pipedrive is the strongest fit for an agency that wants a visible commercial process from referral to opportunity, proposal, agreement and renewal. The published plan information includes subscriptions on Growth and built-in e-signatures on Premium, which makes it more relevant to proposal handoffs than a generic free-versus-paid comparison.

Lite costs $14 per seat per month with annual billing. Growth costs $39, Premium $59 and Ultimate $79 per seat per month with annual billing. Growth adds email sync with tracking, automations, subscriptions, forecast reports and a meeting scheduler. Premium adds lead generation and routing, custom scoring and contracts with built-in e-signatures. Ultimate adds sandbox testing and extended phone support.

Pipedrive has no free tier, but it offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card. Annual billing saves up to 42% against monthly billing, while the verified notes do not state each month-to-month plan price. Five people on Growth pay $195 per month equivalent annually, and five on Lite pay $70 equivalent annually. Premium would be $295 for five seats on the same annual basis.

Add-ons can change the decision: LeadBooster is from $32.50, Projects from $16, Campaigns from $13.33, Web Visitors from $41 and Smart Docs from $32.50. Choose Lite for a basic commercial board, Growth when subscriptions and scheduled follow-up will be used, and Premium only when contract signatures or its other additions will remove a real manual step.

The Pipedrive pricing page
Pipedrive pricing, captured 2 October 2026

Zoho CRM

Best for a three-user free pilot Zoho CRM forever free for 3 users

Zoho CRM is the most useful starting point for a tiny referral-led agency that wants a shared process without a paid commitment. Its free edition is forever free for three users, giving a founder, account lead and delivery partner room to test follow-up before expanding access.

The free plan includes contacts, follow-up reminders, workflow automation, up to 10 custom email templates, tasks, meetings and calls, data import, standard reports, 5,000 API calls per day and mobile apps. Those inclusions support a basic agency loop.

Zoho's paid editions are priced per user per month and displayed in local currency. The verified page served INR for this session, so this guide does not invent a USD amount for standard paid editions. Zoho CRM Plus starts at $20 per user per month in USD, and there are no contracts with monthly or yearly billing available.

Three users can use the free edition at $0 if the cap and inclusions fit. Five users on Zoho CRM Plus cost $100 per month at the published starting price, calculated as five seats at $20. The vendor does not publish a USD standard-edition figure, paid minimum, paid cap or per-seat add-on amount in the verified notes. That makes Zoho good for a free pilot, but less clear for a precise paid comparison.

Freshsales

Best for low-cost paid workflow basics Freshsales Growth is $9 per user per month annually

Freshsales suits an agency that wants paid seats, custom fields and basic workflows without starting at a high annual per-user price. Its free tier gives a three-user team a way to test the process first, making it a practical middle path between a free pilot and a larger rollout.

Freshsales Free is $0 for up to three users. Growth is $9 per user per month, billed annually, and lists custom fields and basic workflows. Pro is $39 per user per month, billed annually, and lists custom fields and sales sequences. Enterprise is $59 per user per month, billed annually. Numeric contact, deal, pipeline, custom-field, workflow-run, email-send and storage limits are not stated for these plans.

The vendor does not state monthly-billing prices, minimum paid seats, paid-seat caps or a paid per-seat add-on price. A five-person team on Growth pays $45 per month equivalent annually, while five Pro seats cost $195 equivalent annually. Free remains $0 for up to three users, so moving from a pilot to full access is a headcount decision as well as a plan decision.

Freshsales offers a 21-day paid-product trial. Branded documents are $19 per user per month, and Freddy AI Agent is $49 per 100 sessions. Other overage or one-time costs are not stated. Freshsales is attractive on the five-seat annual maths, but the team should confirm the intended record volume rather than treat unstated limits as unlimited.

Less Annoying CRM

Best for fast, whole-team adoption Less Annoying CRM one plan at $15 per user per month

Less Annoying CRM is the clearest fit for an agency that wants every client-facing person included quickly. It has one published plan, no tiers to compare and month-to-month billing, which suits a workflow where account managers, delivery leads and the founder need the same client history.

The Everything included plan costs $15 per user per month, billed monthly and month to month. It includes unlimited contacts and companies, 25 GB of file storage per user, unlimited pipelines and unlimited custom fields. Users can be added at $15 per user; a formal minimum seat count and cap are not stated.

Five users cost $75 per month, calculated at the published rate. There is no free tier, but a 30-day free trial has no limitations and requires no credit card. The vendor states no additional fees, no contracts, no tiers and no upgrade fees; applicable tax is extra. An annual-billing price is not stated.

The notes do not state numeric limits for deals, automation runs or email sends. An agency seeking advanced scoring or a heavily prescribed marketing automation system should not assume this simple CRM replaces those needs. Its practical strength is that the seat bill does not discourage including the people who handle referrals and renewals.

CRM pricing compared

The table uses the published entry or named plans most relevant to a small agency. Annual figures are per seat per month unless marked otherwise, and a missing monthly price is shown as not stated.

Tool and planAnnual price per seatMonthly price per seatFive-person scenario
HubSpot Starter$7$20$35 annual equivalent, $100 monthly
Pipedrive Lite$14not stated$70 annual equivalent
Zoho CRM Plusstarts at $20not statedstarts at $100 monthly
Freshsales Growth$9not stated$45 annual equivalent
Less Annoying CRMnot stated$15$75 monthly

HubSpot has the lowest published paid seat at $7 annually, but its five-seat monthly bill is $100. Freshsales Growth produces a $45 five-seat annual equivalent, although its monthly price is not stated. Less Annoying CRM produces a $75 month-to-month bill with no annual figure to compare.

Pipedrive Growth and Premium add workflow elements that may matter to proposals, while Zoho's free plan is more useful for a three-person pilot than a five-person rollout. Compare the plan the headcount can actually use.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating a free tier as team-wide access. HubSpot is free for up to two users, while Zoho CRM and Freshsales are free for up to three. A five-person agency cannot call those plans full-team access without leaving people outside the published cap.

The second trap is using annual pricing as if it were monthly. HubSpot Starter is $7 annually but $20 monthly. Pipedrive publishes annual figures of $14, $39, $59 and $79, and says annual billing saves up to 42% against monthly billing, but the individual monthly prices are not stated. Freshsales publishes $9, $39 and $59 annually, while its monthly prices are not stated.

The third trap is confusing a starting bundle price with every plan's price. Less Annoying CRM states $15 per user per month and allows as many users as desired at that price, although a formal cap is not stated. Zoho CRM Plus starts at $20 per user per month, but that is not a USD price for every standard Zoho CRM edition.

The fourth trap is adding extras as though they were included. Pipedrive lists LeadBooster from $32.50, Projects from $16, Campaigns from $13.33, Web Visitors from $41 and Smart Docs from $32.50. Freshsales lists branded documents at $19 per user per month and Freddy AI Agent at $49 per 100 sessions. Add-ons can outweigh a small difference in base seat cost.

The fifth trap is assuming “not stated” means unlimited. Freshsales does not publish several numeric limits, and Less Annoying CRM does not publish limits for deals, automation runs or email sends. Ask the vendor to confirm planned volume and usage before promising a client-facing process.

Finally, test adoption before an annual commitment. A pilot should establish the referral fields, proposal stages and renewal owner before an annual commitment.

Who should not buy this

A CRM is not the answer to every weak sales process. The right choice can be to buy nothing until the team agrees what counts as a referral, who owns a proposal, when a retainer becomes a renewal task and where the final client record lives.

  • Stay free when the team fits the published cap and the stated tools are enough. HubSpot supports up to two free users; Zoho CRM and Freshsales support up to three.
  • Do not buy the cheapest seat for the headline. HubSpot's $7 annual seat becomes $100 per month for five people on monthly billing, while Freshsales' $9 annual figure has no published monthly equivalent.
  • Do not buy a higher Pipedrive tier for status. Pay for Growth or Premium only when subscriptions, scheduling, automations or built-in e-signatures will change the work.
  • Do not treat a missing limit as unlimited. Confirm record volume and overage terms before putting a client process on a plan whose notes say not stated.
  • Buy nothing for now if nobody owns the next action. A simple task list can be better than a CRM that the team will not maintain.

Our verdict

Choose Less Annoying CRM as the best default for a small marketing agency that needs quick adoption, unlimited pipelines and a clear whole-team bill. Five users cost $75 per month at the published $15 rate, and the month-to-month plan avoids an invented annual comparison.

Choose Pipedrive when proposals and retainer renewals need more structure. Growth is $39 per seat per month annually and adds subscriptions, tracking, automations, forecast reports and meeting scheduling; Premium is $59 and adds built-in e-signatures.

Use Zoho CRM or Freshsales for a three-user free pilot when the cap fits. Use HubSpot Starter when its $7 annual seat, $20 monthly seat and stated allowances match the work. In every case, price the whole team and check every figure marked not stated before committing.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best CRM for small marketing agencies?

Less Annoying CRM is the best default when a small agency wants fast adoption and a predictable $15 per user per month bill. Pipedrive is the better alternative when subscriptions, scheduling, automations or built-in e-signatures are central to proposals and renewals.

How much does a CRM cost per seat for a small agency?

Verified examples range from HubSpot Starter at $7 per seat per month with annual billing to Less Annoying CRM at $15 per user per month month to month. Freshsales Growth is $9 annually, Pipedrive Lite is $14 annually, and Zoho CRM Plus starts at $20 per user per month.

Is there a free CRM for a three-person marketing agency?

Yes. Zoho CRM is forever free for three users, and Freshsales Free is $0 for up to three users. HubSpot's free tier is limited to up to two users.

What should an agency track in its CRM?

Start with referral source, contact, proposal status, next action and renewal date. Those fields reflect an agency handoff without assuming that lead scoring is the central job.

Is Pipedrive good for agency proposals and retainers?

It is a strong fit when the agency will use its published Growth or Premium additions. Growth includes subscriptions, automations, tracked email and meeting scheduling, while Premium adds contracts with built-in e-signatures.

Does Freshsales publish all of its CRM limits?

No. Numeric contact, deal, pipeline, workflow-run, email-send and storage limits are not stated in the verified notes. The agency should confirm planned usage rather than assume an unstated figure is unlimited.

Is Less Annoying CRM priced annually?

The verified notes publish $15 per user per month with monthly, month-to-month billing. An annual-billing price is not stated, so this guide does not claim an annual discount.

Should a small marketing agency stay on a free CRM?

Stay free when the team fits the published cap and the stated tools cover the process. Move to paid seats when proposal, delivery or renewal owners are excluded, or when a published plan addition removes a real manual step.