CRM for Agencies and Consultancies
HubSpot Starter vs Professional
HubSpot Starter and Professional compared on verified prices, limits and seat maths for small agencies planning their next CRM tier.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
HubSpot Starter is the only paid tier in this comparison with a verified price, at $7 per seat per month annually or $20 monthly. Professional may be the tier to investigate when Starter no longer fits, but its published price and limits were not captured here, so a small agency should confirm them before budgeting.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| A paid HubSpot tier with a verified price | HubSpot Starter |
| To keep the team at no software cost | HubSpot Free, up to 2 users |
| A three-person paid team on the published entry price | HubSpot Starter, $21 annual-billed monthly |
| A five-person paid team on the published entry price | HubSpot Starter, $35 annual-billed monthly |
| A Professional budget with a verified figure | Confirm the vendor's page first |
- Free tier users
- 2 users
- Starter annual seat
- $7
- Starter monthly seat
- $20
- Marketing contacts
- 1,000
Overview
For a small agency deciding between these tiers, HubSpot Starter is the winner for a budget that needs a published number, while HubSpot Professional is the runner-up until its price and limits can be verified. Starter costs $7 per seat per month with annual billing, or $20 per seat per month month to month. Professional may become the right destination when Starter's published allowances no longer fit, but the evidence available for this guide does not state a Professional price, contact allowance, credit allowance or seat rule.
That is the practical hubspot starter vs professional answer. Starter is easier to budget because the notes give both billing periods, 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. HubSpot Free costs $0 for up to two users. A ten-person agency can calculate Starter, but it cannot responsibly calculate Professional from the verified record supplied here.
This guide is for agencies and consultancies with a small delivery, account or leadership team that is deciding whether to start paid access now or wait. It focuses on the point at which Free stops fitting, the allowances that make Starter a sensible first paid step, and the seat maths at three, five and ten users. It also explains what cannot yet be claimed about Professional, how annual and monthly billing change the decision, and when the best answer is to stay free or buy nothing. The CRM for Agencies and Consultancies hub provides the wider category context, while the best CRM for design studios and best free CRM for consultants cover adjacent buying decisions.
The headline recommendation is conditional. Starter is the practical default when a paid plan is needed and its 1,000 marketing contacts and 500 credits are enough. Professional is a verification task, not an automatic upgrade.
How we chose
The comparison uses four questions that matter to a small agency's budget. First, how many people can stay on the free tier before a paid seat is needed? Second, what does Starter publish for its recurring seat price under annual and monthly billing? Third, what contact and credit allowances are stated clearly enough to use in a plan? Fourth, what can be established about Professional without inventing a price, limit or feature claim?
Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, the date in the front matter. The verified notes record HubSpot Free at $0 for up to two users and HubSpot Starter at $7 per seat per month annually or $20 per seat per month monthly. They also record 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts for Starter. The supplied record does not state Professional pricing or plan limits, so those fields remain open.
This approach makes the pricing gap part of the result. A remembered Professional number would make the comparison less useful to an agency preparing a budget. The agency must confirm the current price, billing basis, allowances and seat rules on the vendor's page before signing off the spend.
The analysis treats a seat as one priced user because the Starter figure is stated per seat. It does not assume minimum or maximum seats, a Professional overage policy or a discount beyond the annual figure. Where the notes are silent, the article says so. The methodology explains this approach.
HubSpot Starter
Best for a small agency that needs a verified paid price HubSpot Starter $7 per seat annually or $20 monthly
HubSpot Starter suits an agency that has outgrown the Free tier's stated two-user limit and wants a number that can be placed in a monthly budget. Its case is straightforward rather than speculative: the verified annual figure is $7 per seat per month, the monthly figure is $20 per seat per month, and the published allowances include 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. Those are the facts a small firm can test against its own team and contact list.
The Free tier is the useful baseline. It is listed at $0 and is free for up to two users. That makes Free a reasonable starting point for a founder and one colleague when the team can work within the tier's stated user limit. It is not a free plan for a three-person agency, because the verified wording stops at two users. The difference between two and three people is therefore a seat decision, not a matter of multiplying a zero price indefinitely.
Starter's published allowances should be read as operating boundaries for planning, not as a promise that every agency will need the same amount. A team with 1,000 marketing contacts and 500 HubSpot credits or fewer has a clear reference point for a first paid review. A team already above either published allowance has a reason to investigate Professional or another plan, but not a basis for claiming that Professional definitely raises that allowance. The next step is to check the current vendor page and ask which tier addresses the specific mismatch.

The real cost depends on headcount and the billing period. A three-person agency pays $21 per month with annual billing, calculated as three seats at $7, or $60 per month month to month, calculated as three seats at $20. At five users, Starter is $35 per month on annual billing or $100 monthly. At ten users, it is $70 per month annually or $200 monthly. These are seat calculations from the verified figures, not an assertion about tax, implementation, add-ons or any other unlisted charge.
The annual figure suits a team that expects to keep the same seats. The monthly figure is easier to compare for a project or uncertain hiring plan. The gap is $39 per month for three seats, $65 for five and $130 for ten, so $7 and $20 are not interchangeable prices.
Starter's honest weakness is that the verified evidence gives no Professional comparison point. It states the Starter allowance but does not tell this guide what changes in the next tier, how much that tier costs, or whether its seats follow the same rules. Starter is therefore the strongest recommendation only when its known price and allowances fit. It is not a licence to assume that a later upgrade will be affordable or solve a particular workflow problem.
A five-person consultancy is the clearest scenario. If all five people need paid seats, the cost is $35 annually billed or $100 month to month. Compare that with the 1,000-contact and 500-credit needs, and verify Professional first if either allowance is likely to fail soon.
HubSpot Professional
Best for agencies at a Starter limit, pending verification HubSpot Professional Published price not stated in the verified record
Professional is the tier a small agency will naturally investigate when Starter no longer fits, but the available evidence does not support a conventional feature-led recommendation. The verified pricing file does not state a Professional price. It also does not state Professional's marketing-contact allowance, HubSpot-credit allowance, maximum or minimum seats, or any overage rule. Those omissions are the central fact about this plan for this article.
Professional is relevant when the agency has identified a concrete Starter problem, such as a contact or credit requirement beyond the published allowance. The agency must confirm that the current Professional page addresses that problem and record its price before treating the tier as a recommendation.
No responsible seat maths can be published for Professional from the supplied record. For three, five and ten users, the formula is simply the verified per-seat price multiplied by the number of seats, but the per-seat price is not stated here. A guessed number would turn a useful comparison into an unreliable budget. The correct action is to confirm whether Professional is priced per seat, whether the vendor uses a different billing unit, and whether its seat rules change at the agency's headcount.
Professional's budget weakness is verifiability, not a proven product defect. Confirm the page, billing period and inclusion list before comparing it with Starter. That effort is worthwhile when Starter is genuinely too small, but it is not a reason to publish a number from memory.
A sensible Professional scenario is a five-person agency whose contact list or credit use no longer fits Starter. The agency should carry forward the known Starter benchmark of $35 per month annually or $100 monthly, write down the exact allowance that is failing, and obtain Professional's current price and seat rule from the vendor. Until that check happens, the Professional line in the budget should say price not stated in the verified record, not a guessed monthly total.
HubSpot Starter vs Professional: pricing compared
The table below uses only the HubSpot figures recorded in the verified pricing notes. A blank Professional figure is not an omission to be filled with an estimate; it is the result the buyer needs to take back to the vendor's page.
| Plan or scenario | Annual price | Monthly price | Published allowance or seat fact |
|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot Free | $0 | $0 | Up to 2 users |
| HubSpot Starter, 1 seat | $7 per seat/month | $20 per seat/month | 500 HubSpot credits, 1,000 marketing contacts |
| HubSpot Starter, 3 seats | $21/month billed annually | $60/month | Calculated from the published per-seat figures |
| HubSpot Starter, 5 seats | $35/month billed annually | $100/month | Calculated from the published per-seat figures |
| HubSpot Starter, 10 seats | $70/month billed annually | $200/month | Calculated from the published per-seat figures |
| HubSpot Professional, 3 seats | Not stated | Not stated | Price and limits not stated in the verified record |
| HubSpot Professional, 5 seats | Not stated | Not stated | Price and limits not stated in the verified record |
| HubSpot Professional, 10 seats | Not stated | Not stated | Price and limits not stated in the verified record |
The useful comparison is the point at which Starter should be tested. If two users are sufficient, Free is cheaper. At three users, Starter is the first plan with a verified paid calculation. At five and ten, check the 1,000-contact and 500-credit allowances before selecting annual billing. A missing Professional number is not proof that the tier is suitable.
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is treating HubSpot Free as unlimited access because its price is $0. The verified statement is narrower: Free is free for up to two users. A three-person agency needs to examine a paid option or another arrangement.
The second trap is multiplying the annual Starter figure without naming the billing basis. At three seats, $7 per seat produces $21 per month when billed annually, while the monthly rate produces $60. At five seats, the figures are $35 and $100. At ten, they are $70 and $200. The annual number is described as a per-seat monthly price under annual billing, so it should not be presented as the same commitment as the month-to-month figure.
The third trap is assuming that contacts and credits are interchangeable. Starter publishes 1,000 marketing contacts and 500 HubSpot credits. They are separate allowances and should be tracked separately in an agency's planning sheet.
The fifth trap is assuming Professional's higher name guarantees a known solution. The supplied evidence does not state its price or its allowances. A team that has hit Starter's contact or credit boundary should document the boundary, check the current vendor page, and ask which Professional terms apply. Until that work is done, there is no verified Professional seat maths for three, five or ten users.
The sixth trap is confusing a price gap with a value gap. The annual Starter price is available, but this record does not say what Professional adds. The procurement note should be: Starter is priced and bounded; Professional requires confirmation.
The seventh trap is assuming an overage rule. No Professional overage price, Starter overage price, minimum seat rule or maximum paid-seat rule is stated. That silence does not mean overages are free or seats are unlimited, so ask for the rule that applies to planned usage.
Who should not buy this
The best decision may be to stay free, remain on Starter, or buy nothing. A plan becomes useful when its verified terms match a real operating need, not merely because a higher tier appears in a comparison.
- Stay on HubSpot Free when the team has no more than two users and the free tier is sufficient for the current workflow. The $0 price is clear, but the two-user limit still governs the decision.
- Stay on Starter when a paid plan is needed, the team can calculate the seats, and 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts fit the agency's known requirements. There is no reason to pay for an unverified next tier simply to avoid making a usage check.
- Do not skip straight to Professional when the only reason is that Starter sounds too basic. First identify the allowance, seat or workflow problem, then confirm Professional's published price and terms on the vendor's page.
- Do not choose an annual Starter commitment when headcount or usage is uncertain enough that the monthly figure is the more honest planning basis. The $7 annual-billing figure and $20 monthly figure describe different commitments.
- Buy nothing for now if nobody owns the CRM decision, no one will monitor contacts or credits, or the team cannot say what a paid tier is expected to improve. A missing owner is a process problem, not a pricing problem.
- Do not use the Professional column as a forecast for three, five or ten users until the vendor confirms the price basis and seat rule. The verified record does not state those figures.
Our verdict
Choose HubSpot Starter for a small agency that needs paid HubSpot access and can work within the published 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. It is the winner because its price is verifiable: $7 per seat per month with annual billing or $20 per seat per month monthly. That produces $21 or $60 for three users, $35 or $100 for five, and $70 or $200 for ten, depending on the billing period.
Keep HubSpot Free when no more than two users need the tier and the free arrangement fits. It is the cheaper answer, but not a general three-person or ten-person plan, because the published limit is up to two users.
Treat HubSpot Professional as the next investigation when Starter's known allowances or workflow no longer fit, not as a tier with a guessed budget. Its published price and limits were not stated in the verified record used here. Confirm those terms on the vendor's page before deciding whether a small agency should skip Starter, upgrade later or choose another CRM.
Frequently asked questions
What is the hubspot starter vs professional answer for a small agency?
HubSpot Starter is the safer recommendation when the agency needs a paid tier with a verified price and its published allowances fit. Professional is the tier to investigate when Starter no longer fits, but its price and limits were not stated in the verified record, so the vendor's page must be checked first.
How much does HubSpot Starter cost for three users?
HubSpot Starter costs $21 per month for three seats with annual billing, based on $7 per seat per month. At the published monthly rate of $20 per seat, the same three users cost $60 per month.
How much does HubSpot Starter cost for five or ten users?
Five Starter seats cost $35 per month when billed annually or $100 month to month. Ten seats cost $70 per month when billed annually or $200 month to month.
What is HubSpot Professional pricing?
HubSpot Professional pricing was not stated in the verified pricing record used for this guide. An agency should confirm the current vendor page for the price, billing period, seat basis and any relevant limits before putting Professional in a budget.
How many users can use HubSpot Free?
HubSpot Free is listed at $0 and is free for up to two users. A three-person team should not assume that a third user can remain on the free tier, because the published limit is two users.
What does HubSpot Starter include?
The verified pricing notes state that HubSpot Starter includes 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. They also state the annual and monthly per-seat prices, but they do not provide a full feature inventory for the plan in this record.