Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies

Wave Review for Small Agencies

A verified Wave accounting review explaining free invoicing, payment fees, Pro pricing and the point where a paid alternative wins.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 11 October 2026

The short answer

Wave Starter is the best no-subscription starting point when unlimited invoices and bookkeeping records matter more than published access limits. Wave Pro remains per business rather than per user, but payment fees, receipts, payroll and bookkeeping support can make Zoho Books Professional or Xero Growing the clearer paid choice.

If you needChoose
Unlimited invoices with no subscription feeWave Starter (opens in a new tab)
Bank import, receipts and reminders for one businessWave Pro (opens in a new tab)
Five included users and multi-currencyZoho Books Professional (opens in a new tab)
Unlimited invoices and quotes without per-user licence feesXero Growing (opens in a new tab)
Estimates, proposals and retainers for up to 50 clientsFreshBooks Plus (opens in a new tab)

Check current pricing at the source

Every figure in this guide was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date stamped above. Vendors change plans without notice, so confirm the number before you commit.

Wave Starter
$0
Wave Pro
$19/month
Pro annual option
$190/year
Zoho Professional
$50/month

Overview: wave accounting review

Wave Starter is the winner for a small agency testing whether free invoicing and bookkeeping can carry the workflow, with Zoho Books Professional as the runner-up when a five-person team needs a clearly published access model and multi-currency. Starter costs $0 and includes unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records. The catch is that card processing still costs money, while Wave does not publish user, bank-connection or company caps in the verified pricing notes. Wave Pro adds useful automation for $19/month, but it does not remove transaction fees.

This wave accounting review is for a two-to-20-person agency or consultancy that needs to bill clients, record bills and keep a usable bookkeeping trail. Wave is not simply a free invoice template. Starter is a bookkeeping product with optional online payments, and Pro is a per-business subscription rather than a per-user licence. That distinction makes the subscription easy to model, but it does not make the complete cost predictable until the team counts card payments and add-ons.

For a wider category view, start with the Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies hub. Agencies comparing the broader bookkeeping workflow can also read the best bookkeeping software for a small agency, while a client-billing shortlist may benefit from the best invoicing software for consultants.

How we chose

The comparison asks whether the plan handles recurring billing, what a small team pays after seats or businesses are counted, how card payments change the total, and whether a missing limit needs confirmation before purchase.

Every price and plan limit in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, with the permitted verification notes recording a second pass on 11 October 2026. Prices remain in the USD form shown in those notes. The review does not convert currencies, infer missing caps, or turn a promotional offer into a standing price. Where a payment-processing rate is not published for a comparison product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Wave Starter

Best for a no-subscription starting point Wave Starter $0

Wave Starter suits a solo consultant or a small studio that wants unlimited core records before committing to a paid subscription. The verified inclusions are unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records, plus mobile invoicing, a cash-flow dashboard and a customer dashboard. Online payments are optional, so an agency can use Starter for billing and records without treating card acceptance as mandatory.

Starter's strongest point is the $0 subscription alongside unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records. It answers the narrow wave invoicing review question positively, but the pricing page does not publish user, bank-connection, billable-client or company caps.

Starter's online-payment pricing is the first cost that a headline comparison hides. Visa, Mastercard and Discover card payments are 2.9% + $0.60 per transaction. American Express is 3.4% + $0.60 per transaction. The percentage applies to the payment amount, and the fixed component applies to every transaction, so splitting a client balance into several card payments costs more fixed fees than taking one payment of the same total.

Consider a five-person studio that sends twenty $1,000 card-payment requests in a month, all on Visa, Mastercard or Discover. The $0 subscription remains $0, but the processing bill is 20 times $29.60, or $592 for that month, based on the published rate. Over twelve identical months, the illustrative processing total is $7,104, before payroll, receipts or any other service. That is why “free” should describe the subscription line, not the whole collections workflow.

Wave Pro

Best for one business needing automation Wave Pro $19/month or $190/year

Wave Pro costs $19/month or $190/year when billed annually, and it is priced per business, not per user. That is the most important pricing fact for a small agency. A five-person studio does not multiply the subscription by five in the verified pricing model. It pays the business price, subject to confirming the access arrangement because the pricing notes do not publish a user cap.

Pro includes everything in Starter plus auto-import and auto-merge or categorise bank transactions, unlimited receipt capture and expense tracking, late-payment reminders, branding controls and account users. Those additions address the chores that often make a free bookkeeping account feel expensive in staff time. They do not create an unlimited card-payment allowance, and they do not turn the plan into a payroll or adviser service.

Pro's Visa, Mastercard and Discover rate is 2.9% + $0 for the first 10 cumulative transactions in each monthly subscription period. After those first 10 transactions, the rate is 2.9% + $0.60. American Express is 3.4% + $0 for the first 10 cumulative transactions, then 3.4% + $0.60. The useful saving is therefore capped at ten transactions, not ten dollars of payment volume. A client paying one large invoice consumes one transaction, just as a client paying a small invoice does.

The Wave pricing page
Wave pricing, captured 11 October 2026

With twenty $1,000 Visa, Mastercard or Discover transactions, Pro processing is $290 for the first ten plus $296 for the next ten, or $586/month. Add Pro and the monthly scenario is $605. Annual billing gives $7,032 of identical processing plus $190, or $7,222 for the year.

Wave add-ons

Best for a team adding operational support Wave add-ons from $40/month

Receipts, payroll and bookkeeping help sit outside the simple Starter-versus-Pro comparison. The latest permitted US verification lists Starter receipt capture at US$8/month or US$72/year, while receipt capture is shown as included in Pro. That makes a Starter comparison more honest when the team needs digital receipt capture: its subscription is still $0, but the relevant workflow is at least $8/month or $72/year before processing fees.

Payroll is listed from US$40/month. It is a starting price, not a universal agency bill, so the team should confirm the actual setup before budgeting it as a fixed cost.

Wave Advisors, described in the pricing notes as the hire-a-bookkeeper add-on, starts at US$149/month. It is a materially different purchase from Pro's automated imports and reminders. An agency considering it should compare the cost with the time and review responsibility it is trying to transfer, while remembering that the verified price is a starting figure and not a promise of a fixed service scope.

A five-person studio that keeps Starter, adds the verified $8/month receipt option and takes twenty $1,000 Visa, Mastercard or Discover payments has $8 of subscription-and-receipt cost plus $592 of processing, or $600 for the month. Add payroll and the line reaches from $640/month before other charges.

FreshBooks

Best for estimates, proposals and retainers FreshBooks Plus $43/month plus $11 per team member

FreshBooks suits an agency wanting client billing with explicit limits. Plus costs $43/month, allows 50 billable clients, includes estimates, proposals and retainers, and adds $11/month per team member. Premium is $70/month with unlimited clients.

For a five-person studio with one owner and four additional team members, FreshBooks Plus costs $43 plus four $11 charges, or $87/month. That is $1,044/year if the studio has twelve identical monthly charges, a simple annual comparison rather than a claim that the vendor publishes an annual billing price. The billable-client allowance still applies. FreshBooks says active and archived clients both count, so completed work can use the same capacity as current work.

The FreshBooks pricing page
FreshBooks pricing, captured 11 October 2026

FreshBooks Advanced Payments is a separate $20/month add-on, and FreshBooks Payroll is $40/month plus $6/month per user. The verified notes do not provide card-processing rates for FreshBooks, so this comparison does not pretend to calculate a processing-inclusive FreshBooks total. For a deeper look at client caps and team charges, see the FreshBooks review for small agencies.

Xero

Best for shared books without per-user licence fees Xero Growing $59/month

Xero Growing costs $59/month with unlimited invoices and quotes and no per-user licence fees stated. A five-person studio therefore pays $59/month, or $708 across twelve identical months. Early is $27/month but limits the published workflow to 20 invoices and 5 bills.

The weakness is the subscription gap. A five-person studio paying $59/month spends $708 across twelve identical months before payroll. Xero is not a cheaper subscription than Wave Starter, although it can be cheaper than a Wave workflow with substantial card fees or add-ons. Xero's processing rate is not published here.

Zoho Books

Best for structured low-cost growth Zoho Books Professional $50/month or $40/month annually

Zoho Books is the clearest paid step up for a published five-user plan and annual billing. Professional costs $50/month or $40/month billed annually, includes five users, supports 10,000 invoices/year and 10,000 bills or expenses/year, and states multi-currency from Professional upward, not in Free or Standard.

A five-person studio fits the published Professional user allowance exactly. Its subscription is $50/month on monthly billing, or $600 across twelve monthly charges. On the annual-billed price, the repeated monthly equivalent shown by the vendor is $40/month, which totals $480 across twelve months when expressed as the annual-billing rate. The source does not state a separate payment-processing fee for Zoho Books, so no processing amount is added to that scenario.

Standard costs $20/month or $15/month billed annually and includes three users, up to 5,000 invoices/year and up to 5,000 bills or expenses/year. Professional is easier to price for five people and is the first tier where multi-currency is stated.

Wave pricing compared

The table compares recurring subscription prices and the most relevant published boundaries. Card processing is shown only where the permitted pricing notes publish it. It is not safe to treat a $0 subscription as a $0 collections cost.

Tool or planPublished subscriptionTeam or record boundaryCard-payment detail
Wave Starter$0Unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records; user cap not stated2.9% + $0.60; Amex 3.4% + $0.60
Wave Pro$19/month or $190/yearPer business, not per user; receipt capture includedFirst 10 monthly transactions have no fixed fee; then +$0.60
FreshBooks Plus$43/month50 billable clients; $11/month per team memberProcessing rate not stated
Xero Growing$59/monthUnlimited invoices and quotes; no per-user licence feesProcessing rate not stated
Zoho Books Professional$50/month or $40/month annually5 users; 10,000 invoices/year; multi-currency includedProcessing rate not stated
QuickBooks Online Plus$140/month standing; $70/month promotional for 3 months5 users plus 2 accountantsProcessing rate not stated

Subscription-only pricing starts at $0 for Wave Starter and Zoho Books Free. For five people, Wave Pro is $19/month, Zoho Books Professional is $50/month monthly, Xero Growing is $59/month and FreshBooks Plus is $87/month after four team-member charges. The twenty-payment Wave example reaches $7,222 annually, showing why base price alone is incomplete.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating Wave Starter's $0 as the total cost of getting paid. A studio taking twenty $1,000 card payments pays $592 in the illustrative Starter month. Pro reduces the fixed-fee part for only the first ten cumulative transactions, leaving $586 of processing in the same twenty-payment example, then adds the subscription. The percentage component remains on every payment. High transaction counts and split payments can therefore dominate a small subscription difference.

The second trap is misreading Pro's first-ten rule. It is ten transactions in each monthly subscription period, not ten transactions per client and not ten transactions for every team member. After the threshold, Visa, Mastercard and Discover payments return to 2.9% + $0.60, while Amex returns to 3.4% + $0.60. The waiver is capped by transaction count, so an agency should count expected card settlements rather than only total card revenue.

The third trap is assuming per business means unlimited people. Pro is priced per business, not per user, but the permitted notes do not state a user cap. That is helpful for a five-person subscription scenario, but an agency still needs to confirm that its roles and access needs fit. Wave Starter likewise leaves user, bank-connection and company limits unstated. An honest budget flags those questions instead of filling them with an invented number.

The fourth trap is adding a convenience service without naming it. Pro includes unlimited receipt capture, while the latest verification lists Starter receipt capture at $8/month or $72/year. Payroll starts at $40/month, and Wave Advisors starts at $149/month. These are separate decisions. A studio that needs any of them should put each line beside the plan and card fees rather than describing the account as free.

The fifth trap is comparing annual and monthly billing as if they were identical. Wave Pro is $19/month or $190/year; Zoho Books Professional is $50/month or $40/month billed annually. QuickBooks annual billing is not stated, so keep each billing term visible.

Use the publication's methodology when a decision depends on a missing limit or a billing term. The method is deliberately conservative: a missing user cap stays missing, and a processing fee that is not published for a comparison product is not copied from another provider.

Who should not buy this

Stay on Wave Starter when unlimited records are the priority, card payments are limited or handled elsewhere, and unstated access and bank limits do not block the workflow. Add Pro only when its automation replaces manual work. The annual $190 option does not make processing free.

Choose a paid alternative when the agency needs a published five-user model, multi-currency or a clearer client-cap structure. Zoho Books Professional fits five users and multi-currency, Xero Growing fits unlimited invoices and quotes, and FreshBooks fits proposals and retainers when its caps and people charges work.

Buy nothing yet if nobody owns bank review, receipt capture and the accountant handoff. A free account filled with uncategorised transactions is not a bookkeeping process.

Our verdict

Wave Starter is best for a genuinely $0 subscription when the agency can accept unstated access limits. Its unlimited records are meaningful, but “free” describes the plan, not card acceptance: 20 illustrative $1,000 card payments create $592 of Starter processing.

Wave Pro is worth choosing when one business needs bank import, categorisation, unlimited receipt capture and late-payment reminders. Its $19/month or $190/year subscription is per business, not per user, but the first-ten transaction waiver is capped and processing remains material. For a five-person studio with the example payment volume, annual-billed Pro is $7,222 for the year after illustrative processing and subscription, before other add-ons.

Zoho Books Professional is the runner-up for five users, an annual option and multi-currency. Xero Growing is stronger for unlimited invoices and quotes without per-user licence fees stated. FreshBooks Plus wins when estimates, proposals and retainers matter within its 50-client limit.

Frequently asked questions

What does this wave accounting review recommend?

Wave Starter is recommended for unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records with no subscription charge. Wave Pro is the automation step at $19/month or $190/year, while Zoho Books Professional is the paid runner-up for five users and multi-currency.

Is Wave free for invoicing and bookkeeping?

Wave Starter costs $0 and includes unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records. Card payments cost 2.9% + $0.60 for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, or 3.4% + $0.60 for Amex. User, bank-connection and company caps are not stated.

What is Wave pricing for Pro?

Wave Pro costs $19/month or $190/year billed annually and is priced per business rather than per user. It adds bank import and categorisation, unlimited receipt capture, expense tracking and late-payment reminders. Card processing still applies after the first ten monthly transactions.

How does Wave Pro's first-ten card rate work?

For the first 10 cumulative transactions in each monthly subscription period, Visa, Mastercard and Discover are 2.9% + $0, while Amex is 3.4% + $0. After ten, both return to their $0.60 fixed fee. The rule is a transaction-count cap, not a payment-value cap.

What does a five-person studio pay on Wave?

Wave Starter costs $0 in subscription fees, while Pro costs $19/month or $190/year per business. With twenty $1,000 Visa, Mastercard or Discover payments, Starter processing is $592 and Pro processing is $586 before the subscription. Annual-billed Pro totals $7,222 in this illustrative year.

What are Wave's receipt, payroll and adviser add-ons?

The latest permitted US verification lists Starter receipt capture at $8/month or $72/year, with receipt capture included in Pro. Payroll starts at $40/month, and Wave Advisors starts at $149/month. Both are starting prices.

Is Wave better than Xero or Zoho Books for a small agency?

Wave is better when a $0 subscription and unlimited published core records matter most. Xero Growing costs $59/month with unlimited invoices and quotes, while Zoho Books Professional costs $50/month or $40/month billed annually with five users and multi-currency. Their payment-processing rates are not stated, so no processing-inclusive winner can be claimed.