CRM for Agencies and Consultancies
What Should an Agency Pay for a CRM?
Compare verified CRM costs for three, five and ten users, from free tiers to suite plans, and set a budget that matches pipeline value.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
HubSpot Starter is the lowest verified paid route for a team that needs more than a tiny free workspace, at $7 per seat per month billed annually. Freshsales Growth is the runner-up at $9 per seat annually, while agencies that need a broader suite should start by comparing Zoho CRM Plus at $20 per seat with the higher priced workflow tiers.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| The lowest paid per-seat cost for a larger team | HubSpot Starter, $7 per seat annually |
| A free CRM for up to three users | Freshsales Free or Zoho CRM Free |
| A simple, fixed monthly seat price | Less Annoying CRM, $15 per user |
| More structured CRM capacity | Zoho CRM Plus or a published suite tier |
| A budget tied to pipeline value | Compare the monthly fee with the contribution the pipeline can produce |
- Cheapest paid seat
- $7 annual
- Free CRM cap
- 3 users
- Five-seat low band
- $35 to $90
- Ten-seat suite start
- $200 monthly
Overview: how much should an agency pay for a CRM
For an agency asking how much should an agency pay for a CRM, the practical winner is HubSpot Starter for the lowest published paid seat cost, while Freshsales Growth is the runner-up for a small team that wants a free starting route and then basic workflows and custom fields. HubSpot Starter is $7 per seat per month with annual billing, and Freshsales Growth is $9 per user per month billed annually. The right answer is not the lowest sticker price in isolation: it is the lowest plan that can hold the team's users and the work the team will actually do.
The three useful budget bands are easy to state. The free tier route is $0 where a plan's user cap fits, but the published caps mean a five-person or ten-person agency cannot assume a free workspace will cover everyone. The low-cost per-seat route runs from $7 to $18 per user per month on the named annual prices, with a three-person team costing $21 to $54, a five-person team costing $35 to $90, and a ten-person team costing $70 to $180. The suite route starts at $20 per user per month for Zoho CRM Plus, then reaches $39 for Pipedrive Growth and beyond, so three users cost $60 to $117 at those entry points, five cost $100 to $195, and ten cost $200 to $390.
This page is for agencies, consultancies, design studios and small professional-services teams that are deciding between a free CRM and a paid CRM pricing per seat. For the wider category, see the CRM for Agencies and Consultancies hub. A design-led team can also use the best CRM for design studios, while a consultancy weighing free CRM options can compare the best free CRM for consultants.
How we chose
The comparison starts with the actual headcount, not a headline plan price. Three users shows the smallest plausible working team, five users reflects a compact agency, and ten users tests whether the budget still makes sense after growth. Each scenario multiplies the published per-seat price by the number of users. A free route is marked unavailable when the verified user cap is below the scenario, rather than pretending an agency can add seats the plan does not permit.
The second test is what the plan actually publishes. Free and low-cost plans are not interchangeable: Freshsales Free and Zoho CRM Free both state a three-user allowance, while HubSpot Free is free for up to two users and Capsule Free is capped at two. Paid tiers are compared using the features and limits recorded in the verified files. Where a numeric limit, minimum seat count, paid-seat cap, monthly price or overage rule is marked "not stated," this article does not create one.
Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, the date in the front matter. Annual prices are shown as the vendor's published monthly equivalent where that is how the source presents them. Month-to-month figures are included only where the verified notes state them. The methodology page explains the same source discipline in more detail: read the methodology.
The free tier route
Best for testing a shared process Freshsales Free, Zoho CRM Free, HubSpot Free and Capsule Free $0 where the user cap fits
A free CRM is the right first route when the agency is still deciding whether a shared pipeline will be used consistently. The free products in the verified notes are Freshsales Free, Zoho CRM Free, HubSpot Free and Capsule Free, but their caps are not the same. Freshsales Free is $0 for up to three users. Zoho CRM Free is forever free for three users. HubSpot Free is $0 for up to two users. Capsule Free is $0 for a maximum of two users.
Zoho CRM Free is the most clearly documented free route for a three-person agency. It includes contacts, follow-up reminders, workflow automation, up to 10 custom email templates, tasks, meetings and calls, data import, standard reports, 5,000 API calls per day and mobile apps. At three users, the monthly cost is $0. At five or ten users, the free plan is not a valid whole-team price because its stated allowance is three users.
HubSpot Free works at $0 for up to two users, so it is suitable for a founder and one colleague, not a three-person scenario without another access arrangement. HubSpot Starter then costs $7 per seat per month billed annually, or $20 per seat per month monthly, and includes 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. For three users, Starter is $21 per month annually or $60 monthly. For five, it is $35 annually or $100 monthly. For ten, it is $70 annually or $200 monthly.
Capsule Free is narrower for a team budget. It allows a maximum of two users, 250 contacts, five custom fields, one sales pipeline and one project board. Those stated limits make it a useful small test, but not a free five-person agency route. Capsule Starter is the next published step at $18 per user per month billed annually, with 30,000 contacts. Three users cost $54 per month annually, five cost $90, and ten cost $180.
The low-cost per-seat route
Best for a controlled paid budget HubSpot Starter, Freshsales Growth, Pipedrive Lite, Capsule Starter, Less Annoying CRM and Salesflare Growth $7 to $18 per seat annually, except Salesflare
The low-cost route starts with HubSpot Starter at $7 per seat per month billed annually, followed by Freshsales Growth at $9, Pipedrive Lite at $14 and Capsule Starter at $18. Less Annoying CRM is $15 per user month to month. Salesflare Growth sits outside that $7 to $18 band at $29 per user annually, or $39 monthly.
HubSpot Starter is the lowest paid route at $21, $35 and $70 for three, five and ten users annually, or $60, $100 and $200 monthly. It includes 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. Freshsales Growth costs $27, $45 and $90 annually and lists custom fields and basic workflows, but its numeric limits are not stated.
Pipedrive Lite costs $42, $70 and $140 annually for the three team sizes. It has no free tier, but its 14-day trial requires no credit card; the monthly Lite price is not stated. Less Annoying CRM costs $45, $75 and $150 month to month and includes unlimited contacts and companies, 25 GB of file storage per user, unlimited pipelines and unlimited custom fields. Capsule Starter costs $54, $90 and $180 annually. Salesflare Growth costs $87, $145 and $290 annually, includes five lead credits and states no hidden limits in several workflow categories.

The suite route
Best for a fuller operating system Zoho CRM Plus, Pipedrive Growth, Freshsales Pro, Capsule Growth, Insightly Plus, Professional and Enterprise, Salesflare Pro and Enterprise from $20 per seat annually
The suite route begins at Zoho CRM Plus, which starts at $20 per user per month in USD. Three users cost $60, five cost $100 and ten cost $200. Paid Zoho CRM editions are displayed in local currency in the verified session, so this article does not quote a USD figure for those editions. CRM Plus is the separately stated USD suite starting point and should not be confused with a claimed price for every Zoho edition.
Pipedrive Growth costs $39 per seat per month annually, or $117 for three, $195 for five and $390 for ten. Growth adds email sync with tracking, automations, subscriptions, forecast reports and a meeting scheduler. Premium is $59 per seat annually, making the three-, five- and ten-user totals $177, $295 and $590. Premium adds lead generation and routing, custom scoring and contracts with built-in e-signatures. Ultimate is $79 per seat annually, or $237, $395 and $790 for those team sizes, and adds sandbox testing and extended phone support.
Freshsales Pro is $39 per user per month billed annually, matching Pipedrive Growth's seat price at $117, $195 and $390 for three, five and ten users. The listed Pro feature is sales sequences, alongside the custom fields and basic workflows listed for Growth. Freshsales Enterprise is $59 per user annually, giving $177, $295 and $590. The verified notes do not state paid-seat minimums, caps or monthly-billing prices for either tier, so a quote should not be padded with assumed seat rules.
Capsule Growth is $36 per user per month billed annually. It costs $108 for three, $180 for five and $360 for ten. The plan states 60,000 contacts, multiple sales pipelines and multiple project boards, without stating counts for the latter two. Capsule Advanced is $54 per user annually, giving $162, $270 and $540, and states 120,000 contacts, 50 project boards and 50 sales pipelines. Ultimate is $72 per user annually, or $216, $360 and $720, and is described for scaling teams with 5+ users, without a formal minimum or cap.
CRM plans compared
The table uses monthly cost equivalents from the verified annual prices, except Less Annoying CRM, whose published price is month to month. “Unavailable” means the plan's stated cap or minimum prevents the scenario. Free rows show the stated cap where it matters.
| Route and plan | Three users | Five users | Ten users |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freshsales Free, up to 3 users | $0 | Unavailable | Unavailable |
| Zoho CRM Free, 3 users | $0 | Unavailable | Unavailable |
| HubSpot Free, up to 2 users | Unavailable | Unavailable | Unavailable |
| Capsule Free, up to 2 users | Unavailable | Unavailable | Unavailable |
| HubSpot Starter, annual | $21 | $35 | $70 |
| HubSpot Starter, monthly | $60 | $100 | $200 |
| Freshsales Growth, annual | $27 | $45 | $90 |
| Pipedrive Lite, annual | $42 | $70 | $140 |
| Less Annoying CRM, monthly | $45 | $75 | $150 |
| Capsule Starter, annual | $54 | $90 | $180 |
| Salesflare Growth, annual | $87 | $145 | $290 |
| Zoho CRM Plus | $60 | $100 | $200 |
| Pipedrive Growth, annual | $117 | $195 | $390 |
| Freshsales Pro, annual | $117 | $195 | $390 |
| Capsule Growth, annual | $108 | $180 | $360 |
| Insightly Plus, annual | $87 | $145 | $290 |
| Salesflare Pro, annual | $147 | $245 | $490 |
| Pipedrive Premium, annual | $177 | $295 | $590 |
| Freshsales Enterprise, annual | $177 | $295 | $590 |
| Capsule Advanced, annual | $162 | $270 | $540 |
| Insightly Professional, annual | $147 | $245 | $490 |
| Salesflare Enterprise, annual | Unavailable | $495 | $990 |
| Pipedrive Ultimate, annual | $237 | $395 | $790 |
| Capsule Ultimate, annual | $216 | $360 | $720 |
| Insightly Enterprise, annual | $297 | $495 | $990 |
The seat and billing traps
The second trap is mixing annual and monthly seat prices. HubSpot Starter is $7 annually but $20 monthly. For five users that is $35 versus $100 per month. For ten users it is $70 versus $200. The lower annual number is useful only if the agency accepts the billing basis; it should not be compared with a month-to-month competitor as though both offer the same commitment.
The third trap is assuming an unstated monthly price. Pipedrive Lite says annual billing saves up to 42% against monthly, but its monthly figure is not stated. Freshsales Growth, Pro and Enterprise and Capsule's paid plans also have monthly figures marked not stated. Show the verified annual number and ask for a current monthly quote when flexibility matters.
The fourth trap is overlooking published minimums. Salesflare Enterprise has a minimum of five users, so its $99 per-user annual price cannot be used as a three-seat total. Capsule Ultimate is described for scaling teams with 5+ users, but no formal minimum is stated. Confirm purchasing rules where the notes do not state a cap or minimum.
The fifth trap is add-ons. Freshsales lists branded documents at $19 per user per month and Freddy AI Agent at $49 per 100 sessions. Capsule marketing starts at $11 per month; Salesflare lead-credit packs start at $39 for 250; and Pipedrive add-ons include LeadBooster from $32.50 and Projects from $16. These are not part of the base seat totals unless the workflow needs them.
Who should not buy this
Do not buy a suite tier because its feature list is longer. Stay on HubSpot Starter, Freshsales Growth, Pipedrive Lite, Capsule Starter or Less Annoying CRM when the low-cost plan covers the stated job. Move upward only for a named need such as automations, sales sequences, forecast reports, capacity or e-signatures.
Do not pay when the CRM costs more per month than the pipeline it manages is worth. Compare the fee with the conservative contribution from opportunities the team will actually update, not with a headline pipeline total. If the value is lower, pause or return to a fitting free tier.
Our verdict
HubSpot Starter is the winner for a paid agency budget that needs a plan for three, five or ten users at the lowest verified annual per-seat price. It costs $21, $35 or $70 per month at those team sizes, but the team should accept the 1,000 marketing-contact and 500-credit allowances and the annual billing basis. Freshsales Growth is the runner-up at $27, $45 or $90 annually for the same sizes, with custom fields and basic workflows and a free route for up to three users.
Choose Zoho CRM Free or Freshsales Free when three users can run the process and the stated free limits fit. Choose Less Annoying CRM when a month-to-month $15 per-user price and its published unlimited contacts, companies, pipelines and custom fields are more valuable than a lower annual sticker price. Choose Zoho CRM Plus at $20 per user when the agency has a documented reason to use a suite route, and compare the higher Pipedrive, Freshsales, Capsule, Insightly or Salesflare tiers only against a specific capacity or workflow need.
Frequently asked questions
How much should an agency pay for a CRM?
A three-person agency can pay $0 on Freshsales Free or Zoho CRM Free if the stated three-user allowance and limits fit. The lowest published paid route is HubSpot Starter at $21 per month for three users billed annually, while a suite starting point is Zoho CRM Plus at $60. The plan should remain cheaper than the conservative pipeline value it helps manage.
What is the CRM cost for agencies with five users?
For five users, the lowest listed annual paid total is HubSpot Starter at $35 per month. Freshsales Growth costs $45, Pipedrive Lite costs $70, Less Annoying CRM costs $75, and Capsule Starter costs $90 on the published bases. Free Freshsales and Zoho CRM plans do not cover five users because their stated caps are three.
What does CRM pricing per seat look like for ten users?
HubSpot Starter costs $70 per month for ten seats when billed annually, Freshsales Growth costs $90, Pipedrive Lite costs $140, Less Annoying CRM costs $150 and Capsule Starter costs $180. The suite route begins at $200 for ten users on Zoho CRM Plus, then reaches $390 on Pipedrive Growth or Freshsales Pro. These totals exclude add-ons unless the plan notes state that they are included.
Which free CRM options cover three users?
Freshsales Free is $0 for up to three users, and Zoho CRM Free is forever free for three users. Zoho's stated inclusions are contacts, reminders, workflow automation, up to 10 custom email templates, tasks, meetings, calls, data import, standard reports, 5,000 API calls per day and mobile apps. HubSpot Free and Capsule Free are capped at two users, so they do not cover a three-user team on the published limits.
Is HubSpot Starter cheaper monthly or annually?
HubSpot Starter is $7 per seat per month with annual billing and $20 per seat per month when billed monthly. Five users therefore cost $35 on the annual basis or $100 monthly, while ten cost $70 or $200. The annual figure is not a month-to-month price and should be budgeted with its billing commitment in mind.
When should an agency stop paying for a CRM?
Stop paying when the recurring CRM fee is higher than the conservative value of the pipeline work the subscription actually changes. Review the opportunities the team updates, the contribution those opportunities can produce after delivery costs, and the work the paid features remove or protect. If that value is lower than the monthly charge, stay on a fitting free route or pause the purchase until the process has a real owner.