Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies
FreshBooks vs QuickBooks for Consultants
FreshBooks and QuickBooks Online compared for consultant pricing, billable clients, users and the choice between invoicing and accounting.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
FreshBooks is the better fit for a consultant who mainly needs invoicing and has 50 or fewer billable clients. QuickBooks Online is the stronger option when the work needs a stated user allowance and a broader accounting workflow, but its published prices are higher at comparable team sizes.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| Invoicing for up to 50 billable clients | FreshBooks Plus |
| Unlimited billable clients with project profitability | FreshBooks Premium |
| Five named users on a published plan | QuickBooks Online Plus |
| A free starting point for one user and very light invoicing | QuickBooks Free |
| Invoicing without paying for accounting features | FreshBooks |
- FreshBooks Plus clients
- 50 billable
- QuickBooks Plus users
- 5
- FreshBooks team add-on
- $11/month
Overview
For most independent consultants and small consulting teams, FreshBooks is the winner, while QuickBooks Online is the runner-up for firms that need a more accounting-led system. That is the practical freshbooks vs quickbooks answer: FreshBooks publishes a clear billable-client allowance and a separate team-member price, while QuickBooks publishes user allowances but does not state its invoice, bill, bank-connection or company limits on the verified pricing page.
The rest of this guide compares the plans, calculates a real scenario for 40 billable clients and three team members, identifies the upgrade that catches busy consultants, and separates an invoicing need from an accounting need. It also links to the wider Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies hub, the guide to the best invoicing software for consultants, the guide to invoicing software for retainer clients, and the guide to the best bookkeeping software for a small agency.
How we chose
Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026, the date recorded in the front matter. FreshBooks prices are published as monthly figures in the verified notes. QuickBooks Online prices are also published as monthly figures, with introductory prices shown for some plans. Annual billing is not stated for the QuickBooks plans in the verification source, so this guide does not create an annual comparison.
The cost examples use arithmetic from the verified list prices. A FreshBooks team-member charge is added only where the source states it, at $11 per team member per month. QuickBooks calculations use the published plan price and its included user count. The source does not state an additional-user price for QuickBooks, so no extra-seat cost is guessed. Where a cap or overage rule is not stated, the article says so rather than treating the missing number as unlimited.
FreshBooks for consultants
Best for consultant invoicing FreshBooks clear client caps and a separate team-member charge
FreshBooks suits a solo consultant or small consultancy whose main job is turning projects, retainers or completed work into client invoices. Its published plan structure is unusually easy to budget around: Lite has five billable clients, Plus has 50, and Premium has unlimited billable clients. That makes the plan choice a direct function of the client book, not a guess about how many records the software might tolerate.
Lite costs $23/month and includes 5 billable clients. Plus costs $43/month and includes 50 billable clients, with estimates, proposals and client retainers. Premium costs $70/month and includes unlimited billable clients, plus project profitability and custom email templates. Select is custom pricing, so it is not assigned a figure here.
Those client counts need careful reading. FreshBooks says that both active and archived clients count toward the limit. Deleting clients frees slots, while invoices remain accessible. Archiving a past client therefore does not, by itself, create room for the next engagement. This is the limit that can quietly force an upgrade for a consultant with a large historical client list, even when only a smaller group is active today.
FreshBooks charges $11/month for each team member on top of the plan price. The published figure is not a bundled five-person or three-person package, so the real cost must include everyone who needs team access. A solo consultant can look only at the plan price, but a small studio should multiply the team-member charge before comparing FreshBooks with a user-based alternative.
Consider a named scenario: a consultancy with 40 billable clients and three team members. FreshBooks Plus is the suitable client tier because 40 is within its 50-client allowance. The plan costs $43/month, and two team members beyond the person represented by the base plan add $22/month. The resulting monthly list-price scenario is $65/month. This is not a promotional calculation and does not assume an annual discount, because the verified FreshBooks figure is monthly.
At 50 billable clients and three team members, that same FreshBooks Plus calculation is still $65/month. The margin is not a free pass, however. At 51 billable clients, Plus no longer fits the published allowance. FreshBooks Premium becomes the relevant tier at $70/month, and the two additional team members add $22/month, making the named three-person scenario $92/month. The extra $27/month is the cost of crossing one client above the Plus ceiling, not the cost of adding a new user.
The weaknesses are straightforward. Lite's five-client allowance is restrictive for a consultant with several past or current engagements. Plus can look generous until the active-and-archived rule is applied. Premium removes the billable-client ceiling but raises the base plan price, and team members are still charged separately. The source also lists Advanced Payments at $20/month and FreshBooks Payroll at $40/month plus $6/month per user, so adding adjacent services can move the monthly cost beyond the invoice plan.
FreshBooks is the stronger choice when the business wants a visible client ceiling, estimates, proposals, retainers or project profitability and does not need to pay for more accounting capacity than the workflow uses. It is less compelling when a consultant needs a larger stated user allowance at the plan level or wants to avoid a separate team-member charge. A firm should also read the methodology before treating a promotional price as its operating budget.
QuickBooks Online for consultants
Best for accounting-led consultant teams QuickBooks Online stated users on paid plans, but higher monthly list prices
QuickBooks Online suits a consultancy that needs named user access and is evaluating accounting software rather than invoicing alone. Its paid tiers make the user allowance explicit, but leave several volume limits unstated.
The page is less clear about volume limits. For Simple Start, Essentials, Plus and Advanced, invoice, bill, bank-connection and company limits are not stated in the verified source. That absence matters. It is reasonable to compare the published user allowance, but not to claim that any of these paid plans support an unlimited number of invoices, bills, bank connections or companies.
QuickBooks Free costs $0/mo and is not a trial. It allows 1 user and does not include accountant access or multi-user access. The stated limits are 2 invoices/month, or unlimited invoices if the user qualifies for and enables QuickBooks Payments, 2 receipts/month, 1 bank account, 1 estimate/month and 5 mileage trips/month. The payment-processing fee is not stated on the QuickBooks Free page, so a buyer should not attach an invented fee to the free plan.
The paid starting point is Simple Start at $38/month, with a current introductory price of $19/mo for 3 months shown in the verified notes. It includes one user plus access for two accountants. Essentials costs $85/month and includes three users plus access for two accountants. Plus costs $140/month and includes five users plus access for two accountants. Advanced costs $340/month and includes 25 users plus access for three accountants. Annual billing is not stated for these plans.
Use the same named scenario to keep the comparison honest: 40 billable clients and three team members. QuickBooks Essentials is the first paid tier whose published allowance reaches three users, and it costs $85/month. The source does not state a billable-client cap for Essentials, so this article does not claim that 40 clients is within an unlimited allowance. It only says that the plan's user count matches the named team size and that the client-volume limit is not published in the verified source.
Against FreshBooks Plus, that is $20/month more in the three-person scenario: FreshBooks is $65/month after adding two team members, while QuickBooks Essentials is $85/month for the published three-user plan. The comparison is not a universal value judgment. FreshBooks exposes the 50-client ceiling; QuickBooks exposes the user count but leaves several volume limits unstated. The right choice depends on whether the consultant values a known invoicing boundary or needs the QuickBooks accounting workflow.
FreshBooks vs QuickBooks pricing compared
The table below uses the verified monthly list prices and the user or client allowances stated in the sources. It does not convert currencies, infer annual prices or fill a missing limit with “unlimited.”
| Plan | Published monthly price | Stated access or client limit | Useful reading |
|---|---|---|---|
| FreshBooks Lite | $23/month | 5 billable clients | Entry invoicing tier |
| FreshBooks Plus | $43/month | 50 billable clients | Estimates, proposals and retainers |
| FreshBooks Premium | $70/month | Unlimited billable clients | Project profitability and custom email templates |
| QuickBooks Free | $0/mo | 1 user | 2 invoices/month, with stated Payments exception |
| QuickBooks Simple Start | $38/month | 1 user plus 2 accountants | Paid entry tier |
| QuickBooks Essentials | $85/month | 3 users plus 2 accountants | Matches the named three-person scenario |
| QuickBooks Plus | $140/month | 5 users plus 2 accountants | Published five-user plan |
| QuickBooks Advanced | $340/month | 25 users plus 3 accountants | Highest published paid tier in this comparison |
For the named three-person consultancy, FreshBooks Plus costs $43/month before team access. With two additional team members at $11/month each, it becomes $65/month. QuickBooks Essentials costs $85/month for three users plus access for two accountants. The difference is $20/month before any payment-processing charges or add-ons.
For a five-person team, FreshBooks Plus is $43/month plus four team-member charges, for $87/month, provided the client book stays at 50 billable clients or fewer. QuickBooks Online Plus is $140/month for five users plus access for two accountants. FreshBooks remains cheaper on the published subscription figures, but it can become $92/month for a three-person team once a 51st billable client forces Premium. The trigger is client count, not headcount.
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is treating a FreshBooks client limit as if it counted only current work. It does not. Active and archived clients both count, and deleting clients frees slots while invoices remain accessible. The Plus plan's 50-client label is therefore a hard planning boundary for the records covered by the rule. A consultant who expects to add a 51st client should model Premium before the limit is reached.
The second trap is forgetting that FreshBooks team members sit outside the plan price. The three-person scenario needs two additional members at $11/month each. The five-person scenario needs four. The recurring monthly figures are $65/month on Plus for three people and $87/month on Plus for five people. If the firm crosses 50 billable clients, those become $92/month and $114/month on Premium, respectively, using the same team-member charge.
The sixth trap is using an introductory price as the long-term accounting software cost. QuickBooks Simple Start displays $19/mo for three months against its $38/month price. Essentials displays $42.50/mo for three months against $85/month, Plus displays $70/mo for three months against $140/month, and Advanced displays $170/mo for three months against $340/month. FreshBooks Lite also records a $1/month first-year promotion against its $23/month published plan price. The recurring price belongs in the operating budget.
Who should not buy this
The right answer can be to stay on a free tier, use a trial, or buy nothing. A consultant should not purchase a larger system simply because the plan page lists more features or a temporary discount.
- Do not buy FreshBooks Premium if the practice has 50 or fewer billable clients, does not need project profitability or custom email templates, and is comfortable with Plus. For the named three-person scenario, Premium costs $92/month after the two team-member charges, compared with $65/month on Plus.
- Do not buy FreshBooks Lite if the practice already has more than five billable clients or keeps an archive that would use the five-client allowance. The five-client cap is too close to the starting line for many consultant workflows.
- Do not buy QuickBooks Online for invoicing alone if a three-person team can do the work in FreshBooks Plus and does not need the QuickBooks accounting workflow. The verified scenario is $85/month for QuickBooks Essentials versus $65/month for FreshBooks Plus with two additional team members.
- Do not rely on QuickBooks Free for a multi-person practice. It is one user, does not include accountant or multi-user access, and has small stated monthly allowances. It is a test or a very light solo route, not a general free plan for a consulting team.
Our verdict: freshbooks vs quickbooks
Choose FreshBooks for a consultant who mainly needs invoicing, estimates, proposals or retainers and has up to 50 billable clients. For 40 billable clients and three team members, FreshBooks Plus costs $65/month after the two $11/month team-member charges. It is the winner for this invoicing-first scenario because its billable-client boundary and staffing cost are visible.
Choose FreshBooks Premium when the practice needs unlimited billable clients, project profitability or custom email templates. Be blunt about the trigger: once active and archived clients together exceed 50, Plus no longer matches the published allowance. For three team members, the Premium scenario is $92/month.
Choose QuickBooks Online Essentials when three named users and the accounting-led workflow matter more than the lower FreshBooks subscription. Its published price is $85/month, with three users plus access for two accountants. The trade-off is that paid-plan invoice, bill, bank-connection and company limits are not stated in the verified source, so confirm those points before committing.
QuickBooks Free is the runner-up only for a solo consultant with very light activity that fits its one-user and small monthly limits. Its $0/mo price should not decide a team purchase. If the practice needs only occasional invoicing and neither product's paid workflow will be used, stay free or buy nothing until the requirement is real.
Frequently asked questions
Is freshbooks vs quickbooks better for consultants?
FreshBooks is generally the better fit for consultants who mainly invoice clients and can stay within its published billable-client allowance. QuickBooks Online is the better candidate when the practice needs its stated user structure and a broader accounting-led workflow, but its paid-plan volume limits are not stated in the verified source.
How much does FreshBooks cost for 40 clients and three team members?
FreshBooks Plus costs $43/month and includes 50 billable clients. With two additional team members at $11/month each, the named three-person scenario costs $65/month. The calculation assumes the active and archived client total remains at 50 or fewer.
What happens when a FreshBooks consultant reaches 51 clients?
FreshBooks Plus includes 50 billable clients, and both active and archived clients count toward that limit. At 51 billable clients, Premium becomes the relevant published tier at $70/month. For three team members, adding two $11/month team-member charges produces a $92/month scenario.
How much is QuickBooks Online Essentials for three users?
QuickBooks Online Essentials costs $85/month with monthly billing in the verified US pricing notes. It includes three users plus access for two accountants. The source does not state an additional-user price or the plan's invoice, bill, bank-connection or company limits.
Can a solo consultant use QuickBooks Free?
Yes, if the workflow fits the published free limits. QuickBooks Free costs $0/mo, allows one user, and states two invoices per month, two receipts per month, one bank account, one estimate per month and five mileage trips per month. Invoices can be unlimited if the user qualifies for and enables QuickBooks Payments, but the payment-processing fee on the QuickBooks Free page is not stated.
Does FreshBooks have a permanent free plan?
The verified FreshBooks notes list a 30-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee, but they do not list a permanent free tier. Lite is published at $23/month, with a $1/month first-year promotion also recorded. Treat the promotion as temporary and budget from the published plan price.