Invoicing and Bookkeeping for Agencies
Best Bookkeeping Software for Small Agencies
Compare verified bookkeeping prices, user caps and invoice limits for a small agency choosing between Xero, QuickBooks, Wave and Zoho Books.
Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026
The short answer
Xero is the best bookkeeping software for a small agency when several people need access and invoice volume may grow, while QuickBooks Online is the runner-up for teams that need a larger published user allowance. Wave is the sensible free starting point, and Zoho Books is the clearest low-cost step up when its annual invoice and user limits fit.
| If you need | Choose |
|---|---|
| Several people accessing the books without per-user licence fees | Xero Growing |
| A free starting point with unlimited bookkeeping records | Wave Starter |
| A published five-user plan for a small agency | QuickBooks Online Plus |
| Low-cost accounting with annual invoice limits | Zoho Books Standard |
| The cheapest first test before choosing paid software | Wave Starter or Zoho Books Free |
- Xero Growing
- $59/month
- QuickBooks Plus users
- 5
- Wave Pro
- $19/month
- Zoho Books Standard
- $20/month
Overview: best bookkeeping software for a small agency
For most small agencies, Xero is the winner, with QuickBooks Online as the runner-up. Xero Growing costs $59/month and has unlimited invoices and quotes with no per-user licence fees, so it is the safer choice when a studio has several people touching the records or expects invoicing to become a regular part of delivery. QuickBooks Online Plus costs $140/month and includes five users plus access for two accountants, which makes its published access model easy to assess, but the price is substantially higher.
That is the practical answer to the question of the best bookkeeping software for a small agency. Bookkeeping organises income, expenses, bills, receipts and bank activity into records an accountant can review, while invoicing is the client-facing request for payment. The right choice keeps that handoff manageable as the studio grows.
This guide compares Xero, QuickBooks Online, Wave and Zoho Books on the boundary between invoicing and bookkeeping. It explains who each tool suits, what each published plan includes, what a realistic small-firm month costs, and where a cap or missing pricing detail changes the decision. For adjacent client billing needs, see the best invoicing software for consultants, FreshBooks vs QuickBooks for consultants, and the best invoicing software for retainer clients.
How we chose
The comparison starts with the records an accountant will need to inspect, not with the longest feature list. Four questions matter. Can the plan handle the agency's invoices, bills, receipts and bank activity? How many people can work in the account, and are accountant places included? What does the team actually pay each month under the published billing option? Finally, where does a free or entry plan stop being adequate for a studio with several clients and contributors?
The figures below come only from the verified vendor pricing notes. Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 10 October 2026. Annual and monthly prices are kept separate, currencies are not converted, and a figure marked “not stated” remains not stated here. A price page cannot guarantee that an accountant will accept a file, so the decision should also include a review of the agency's chart of accounts, reconciliation routine, receipt storage and handoff process.
Xero
Best for growing studio books Xero Growing unlimited invoices without per-user licence fees
Xero Growing costs $59/month and includes unlimited invoices and quotes. There is no per-user licence fee stated for the plans, so a five-person agency pays $59/month for the subscription itself rather than a separate amount per team member. That does not prove that every person should have access. It does make a controlled shared workflow easier to price, while permissions and the accountant's preferred handoff still need to be checked before rollout.
A five-person studio on Xero Growing pays $59/month, because the verified pricing page states no per-user licence fees. A studio that needs Established pays $97/month before any other service. Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, is a separate add-on at $36/month plus $6 per employee/contractor. That payroll cost belongs in a bookkeeping budget only when the agency needs the add-on, not in every comparison by default.
Xero's weakness is the Early boundary: it publishes 20 invoices and 5 bills, while the vendor does not publish an Early user cap. Xero is not automatically accountant-ready, so a studio likely to exceed those invoice limits should choose Growing and agree the records routine with its accountant.
QuickBooks Online
Best for a published multi-user allowance QuickBooks Online Plus five users plus two accountants
QuickBooks Free costs $0/month and is not a trial. It includes one user, but accountant access and multi-user access are not included. The limits are two invoices/month, or unlimited invoices if the user qualifies for and enables QuickBooks Payments, two receipts/month, one bank account, one estimate/month and five mileage trips/month. The vendor does not publish payment-processing fees on the QuickBooks Free page, or add-on and overage pricing. That combination makes Free a test or a very small holding place, not a dependable multi-person agency book.
Simple Start costs $38/month with monthly billing and includes one user plus access for two accountants. Essentials costs $85/month, includes three users plus access for two accountants, and Plus costs $140/month, includes five users plus access for two accountants. Advanced costs $340/month, includes 25 users plus access for three accountants. Annual billing is not stated for these plans, and additional-user pricing is not stated. The pricing page also does not state invoice, bill, bank-connection or company limits for the paid plans.
A five-person studio on QuickBooks Online Plus pays $140/month with monthly billing, and the plan includes five users plus access for two accountants. A three-person team on Essentials pays $85/month. A solo operator who only needs a bookkeeper's access may find Simple Start adequate at $38/month, but adding project staff is not priced in the verified notes, so the budget must not assume an extra-seat rate.
QuickBooks Online's weakness is cost visibility at the edges. The vendor does not publish annual billing, additional-user prices or paid-plan invoice and bank limits, while Free's one user and two invoices/month do not form an agency-wide workflow. Check the access arrangement with the accountant before choosing from the headline price.
Wave
Best for a free bookkeeping starting point Wave Starter unlimited invoices, bills and bookkeeping records
Wave suits a solo consultant or small studio that wants to start bookkeeping without a subscription charge and whose team can work within the published, unspecified access limits. Starter is $0 and includes unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records. This is a stronger free bookkeeping allowance than a plan that limits invoices to a handful each month, especially when the immediate requirement is to keep client billing and records in one place.
Wave Pro costs $19/month billed monthly, or $190/year billed annually. It is priced per business, not per user. Pro adds auto-import and auto-categorise bank transactions, unlimited receipt capture and automated late payment reminders. For the first 10 transactions in a monthly subscription period, online payments are 2.9% + $0 for Visa, Mastercard and Discover, and 3.4% + $0 for Amex. After that, the rates are 2.9% + $0.60 and 3.4% + $0.60 respectively. Online-payment subscription pricing is not stated separately.
A five-person studio on Wave Pro pays $19/month when billed monthly, because the plan is priced per business rather than per user. The annual option is $190/year, and no equivalent monthly price is stated for annual billing. Receipts are included on Pro; the separate receipt figures shown for comparison are $8/month or $72/year, while Starter's other receipt add-on is $11/month or $96/year. Run payroll is shown from $25/month and from $40/month without a billing-period or plan mapping, so neither figure should be used as a precise payroll budget.
Wave's weakness is missing access information. Pro is not per user, but the vendor does not publish user, bank-connection, billable-client or company caps. Starter is a sensible test; move to Pro when bank import, receipt capture or reminders solve a real workflow problem.
Zoho Books
Best for low-cost structured growth Zoho Books Standard three users and 5,000 invoices/year
Zoho Books suits an agency that wants a low-cost bookkeeping system with explicit annual invoice, expense and user ceilings. Its organization-based pricing makes the entry paid plan easy to model, but the annual limits matter more than the monthly headline. Standard costs $20 per organization/month monthly or $15 per organization/month billed annually, includes three users, 5,000 invoices/year and 5,000 expenses/year. Bills are not listed for Standard; the comparison says bills are supported only in Professional and higher.
Zoho Books Free costs $0 per organization/month, including when billed annually, and is available indefinitely while annual financial-year revenue does not exceed $50K. It includes one user plus one accountant, 1,000 invoices/year, 1,000 expenses/year and 50 receipt autoscans/month. Multiple bank and credit-card accounts are supported, but the number is not stated. Third-party bank and credit-card feeds are not available on Free. Additional users are not available on Free, except that Document autoscans is a supported add-on.
A five-person studio on Zoho Books Professional pays $50/month monthly or $40/month billed annually, using the five included users. A three-person studio on Standard pays $20/month monthly or $15/month billed annually. If a four-person team uses Standard, the fourth user adds $3/month monthly or $2.5/month billed annually. The verified notes do not state a payment-processing fee for Zoho Books. Document autoscans cost $10 per 50 scans/month or $8 per 50 scans/month billed annually when the add-on is needed.
Zoho Books' weaknesses are easy-to-miss boundaries. Free excludes third-party bank and credit-card feeds, Standard does not list bills, and the Free tier has the $50K annual financial-year revenue condition. The vendor does not publish the number of Free bank and credit-card accounts or a payment-processing fee. It is bookkeeping software rather than an invoicing add-on, but the accountant still needs a repeatable records process.
Bookkeeping plans compared
The table compares recurring subscription prices and the published limits most likely to decide whether a small agency can keep using the plan.
| Tool and plan | Monthly price | Included access | Published invoice or record boundary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xero Early | $27/month | No per-user licence fees stated | 20 invoices, 5 bills |
| Xero Growing | $59/month | No per-user licence fees stated | Unlimited invoices and quotes |
| QuickBooks Online Free | $0/mo | 1 user; accountant access not included | 2 invoices/month, 2 receipts/month |
| QuickBooks Online Plus | $140/month | 5 users plus 2 accountants | Invoice limit not stated |
| Wave Starter | $0 | User count not stated | Unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records |
| Wave Pro | $19/month or $190/year | Per business, not per user | User and invoice caps not stated |
| Zoho Books Free | $0 per organization/month | 1 user plus 1 accountant | 1,000 invoices/year; $50K revenue condition |
| Zoho Books Standard | $20 monthly, $15 annually | 3 users | 5,000 invoices/year |
The seat and billing traps
The first trap is confusing an invoice cap with a bookkeeping cap. Xero Early allows 20 invoices and 5 bills, so the studio must count both client billing and the operating bills it expects to record. Zoho Books Free allows 1,000 invoices/year and 1,000 expenses/year, but its 50 receipt-autoscans/month and lack of third-party bank feeds can still create manual work. QuickBooks Free is much narrower at two invoices/month and two receipts/month, even though it can offer unlimited invoices if a user qualifies for and enables QuickBooks Payments. Wave Starter publishes unlimited invoices, bills and bookkeeping records, but its user and bank limits are not stated.
The third trap is the free-to-paid cliff. Wave Starter can be enough when unlimited records matter more than automated bank imports or receipts. Zoho Books Free can be enough while annual financial-year revenue stays below $50K and the team can live without third-party feeds. QuickBooks Free is a much more constrained test because it includes one user, no accountant access and only two invoices/month unless the payments condition applies. A free plan is adequate only when its actual limits match the workflow, not when the price looks attractive in a comparison table.
The fourth trap is the annual-versus-monthly gap. Zoho Books Standard is $20 per organization/month monthly and $15 billed annually. Professional is $50 monthly or $40 annually, while Premium is $70 or $60. Wave Pro is $19/month or $190/year, but an equivalent monthly price for the annual option is not stated. Xero's published prices in the verified notes are monthly. QuickBooks Online's annual billing is not stated, so do not create an annual saving in a budget.
Finally, do not promise that an accountant will accept records simply because a vendor calls a product accounting software. Before buying, ask the accountant to confirm the organization, chart of accounts, bank-feed approach, receipt evidence, user roles and export or review routine. If the accountant prefers a particular platform, that preference can outweigh a modest monthly saving because a clean handoff is part of the real cost.
Who should not buy this
An agency should buy nothing yet if nobody owns the bookkeeping routine. A free account filled with uncategorised transactions and missing receipts does not solve the handoff to an accountant. First agree who records bills, who checks bank activity, who stores receipts and when the accountant reviews the books.
Stay on Wave Starter if the studio needs unlimited estimates, invoices, bills and bookkeeping records, and the unstated user and bank limits do not block the workflow. Stay on Zoho Books Free if the organization remains under the stated $50K annual financial-year revenue condition, one user plus one accountant is enough, 1,000 invoices/year and 1,000 expenses/year are enough, and third-party feeds are not required.
Do not buy Xero Early if the agency already expects more than 20 invoices or 5 bills. Do not buy QuickBooks Free for a multi-person team: one user, no accountant access and two invoices/month are too restrictive unless the stated payment condition genuinely fits. Do not pay for Zoho Books Premium, QuickBooks Advanced or Xero Established merely to avoid making a decision. Move up when a published limit or a concrete records requirement is being reached.
Our verdict
Choose Xero Growing for the best general fit for a small agency. Its $59/month price, unlimited invoices and quotes, and no per-user licence fees stated make it the easiest recommendation for a studio where invoicing is growing into a shared bookkeeping workflow. Choose QuickBooks Online Plus as the runner-up when five users plus access for two accountants is the access model the agency and accountant want, accepting the $140/month monthly price.
Choose Wave Starter when the priority is a free start and unlimited bookkeeping records, but confirm its unstated user, bank and company limits first. Choose Zoho Books Standard when $20/month monthly or $15/month billed annually, three users and 5,000 invoices/year fit the agency, and move to Professional when bills or five-user access are required. The best choice is the one whose records can be maintained and reviewed, not the one with the most generous invoice headline.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best bookkeeping software for a small agency?
Xero Growing is the best general fit because it costs $59/month, includes unlimited invoices and quotes, and has no per-user licence fees stated. QuickBooks Online Plus is the runner-up when the agency specifically needs five users plus access for two accountants and can accept its $140/month monthly price.
What is the bookkeeping cost per month for a small agency?
The published subscription can be $0 with Wave Starter or Zoho Books Free, $19/month with Wave Pro, $20/month with Zoho Books Standard, $59/month with Xero Growing, or $140/month with QuickBooks Online Plus. The real monthly cost can also include payment processing, payroll, receipt or document add-ons, and extra users where the vendor publishes them.
Is Xero or QuickBooks better for a small agency?
Xero Growing is the lower published monthly price at $59/month and includes unlimited invoices and quotes with no per-user licence fees stated. QuickBooks Online Plus costs $140/month, but it publishes five users plus access for two accountants, so QuickBooks can be the better fit when that access arrangement matters more than the subscription gap.
When does a free bookkeeping plan stop being adequate?
It stops being adequate when a published cap or missing workflow creates work the team cannot reliably manage. QuickBooks Free allows one user, no accountant access and two invoices/month, while Zoho Books Free excludes third-party bank and credit-card feeds and has a $50K annual financial-year revenue condition. Wave Starter publishes unlimited records, but its user, bank and company limits are not stated.
How many users does Zoho Books include?
Zoho Books Free includes one user plus one accountant, Standard includes three users, Professional includes five, Premium and Elite include 10, and Ultimate includes 15. Extra users on Standard and higher plans cost $3/user/month or $2.5/user/month billed annually; additional users are not available on Free.
Will an accountant accept records from any of these tools?
The pricing pages do not guarantee accountant acceptance, and this guide does not make that claim. Ask the accountant to confirm the chart of accounts, bank-feed approach, receipt evidence, user roles and review routine before choosing a platform, even when the plan has a low price or generous invoice limit.