CRM for Agencies and Consultancies

Freshsales vs HubSpot for Agencies

Freshsales and HubSpot compared on free-user caps, verified pricing and the real cost for three, five and ten agency users.

Updated Verified against vendor pricing 10 October 2026

The short answer

Freshsales is the better free-tier choice for an agency that needs up to three users, while HubSpot is the lower-priced paid option once a team needs Starter. HubSpot's free tier stops at two users, Freshsales does not publish a monthly paid price, and both vendors require a paid decision as the team grows beyond its free cap.

If you needChoose
A free CRM for up to three usersFreshsales Free
The lowest published annual paid seat priceHubSpot Starter
A free tier for a two-person agencyEither, within the stated cap
A clear monthly paid priceHubSpot Starter
To avoid assuming a Freshsales monthly priceFreshsales, with a billing check
Freshsales Free cap
3 users
HubSpot Free cap
2 users
Freshsales Growth annual
$9 /user/month
HubSpot Starter annual
$7 /seat/month

Overview

For an agency that can stay within a free tier, Freshsales is the winner, with HubSpot as the runner-up and the lower-priced paid option. That is the practical freshsales vs hubspot answer once the published caps come first: Freshsales Free supports up to three users, while HubSpot Free supports up to two. Once a team needs paid access, HubSpot Starter has the lower published seat price, at $7 per seat per month billed annually, but Freshsales remains the better free starting point for a three-person team.

This comparison is for agencies, consultancies, studios and other professional-services teams choosing a CRM for agencies. The decision is less about a broad feature checklist than about the point at which a team leaves the free tier, the price of the next plan, and whether that price is published for the billing period the agency needs.

Freshsales Free is $0 for up to three users. HubSpot Free is $0 for up to two users. A two-person team can fit within either published cap. A three-person team can stay on Freshsales Free, but it has already crossed HubSpot's free limit and must compare Starter pricing instead.

For the wider category, see the CRM for Agencies and Consultancies hub, the best CRM for design studios, the best free CRM for consultants, and the best CRM for small marketing agencies.

How we chose

The comparison uses four tests. How many users can access each free tier? What is the lowest published paid seat price annually and monthly? What does that price produce as a monthly bill for three, five and ten users? Which limits, minimums or overage terms are not stated?

Every price in this article was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on 2026-10-10. Annual and month-to-month figures are kept separate. Calculated bills multiply the published per-user price by the scenario's seat count. Where the verified notes say a figure is not stated, this article does not estimate it.

Freshsales has verified listed features including custom fields, basic workflows and sales sequences on paid plans. HubSpot Starter includes 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts. Those facts help define fit, but the recommendation is driven first by the free-user cap and the cost of crossing it. See the methodology for the source and verification approach.

Freshsales for agencies

Best for a three-user free start Freshsales the larger published free-user cap

Freshsales suits an agency that wants to begin with three users without paying for seats. Its Free plan is listed at $0 and is available for up to three users. That makes it the more accommodating free option for a founder plus two colleagues or another compact team where all three people need access.

The cap is the central Freshsales buying fact. A two- or three-person team can fit within Freshsales Free, subject to terms that are not stated in the verified notes. A fourth user does not fit the published cap. At that point, the agency must consider a paid plan or keep that person's work outside the CRM, which is a workflow compromise rather than a free-seat benefit.

Freshsales Growth is the entry paid plan recorded here. It costs $9 /user/month, billed annually. Listed features include custom fields and basic workflows. Pro is $39 /user/month, billed annually, with custom fields and sales sequences listed among its features. Enterprise is $59 /user/month, billed annually. The monthly-billing price for each paid plan is not stated in the verified notes.

That missing figure matters for Freshsales pricing. It is accurate to call Growth $9 per user per month when billed annually. It is not accurate to call $9 the month-to-month rate. A team that needs monthly billing has to check the current vendor billing page or obtain a quote before approving that budget.

The annual Growth scenarios are clear. Three users cost $27 per month on annual billing, calculated as 3 times $9. Five users cost $45 per month annually, and ten users cost $90 per month annually. The month-to-month bill for each headcount is not stated, because the monthly price per user was not published on the captured page.

Two additional Freshsales costs are listed in the verified notes. Branded documents are $19/user/month, and Freddy AI Agent is $49/100 sessions. Other overage or one-time costs are not stated. An agency should neither assume these add-ons are included nor invent an additional surcharge.

Freshsales' honest weakness is incomplete paid billing information. Annual Growth is easy to calculate, but a verified month-to-month price is unavailable in the captured notes. Numeric contact, deal, pipeline, custom-field, workflow-run, email-send and storage limits are also not stated for the paid plans. An unstated limit is not evidence of unlimited usage.

HubSpot for agencies

Best for the lowest published paid seat price HubSpot Starter costs $7 annually or $20 monthly per seat

HubSpot suits an agency that wants a lower published paid seat price and both annual and monthly figures visible. HubSpot Free is listed at $0 for up to two users. Starter is $7/seat/month annual or $20/seat/month monthly. The verified Starter allowance includes 500 HubSpot credits and 1,000 marketing contacts.

The two-user cap changes the decision for a modest agency. A two-person team can use HubSpot Free within the stated limit. A three-person agency cannot put all three users on that free tier under the published rule. Its next comparison is Starter: three seats cost $21 per month with annual billing or $60 month to month.

HubSpot Starter is easy to model for the larger scenarios. Three seats cost $21 monthly when billed annually or $60 monthly at the month-to-month rate. Five seats cost $35 per month annually or $100 monthly. Ten seats cost $70 per month annually or $200 monthly. These are calculations from the published $7 and $20 seat prices, not promotional estimates.

The Starter contact allowance needs separate attention. The verified page states 1,000 marketing contacts. That is not automatically a total CRM contact cap, a user cap or a limit on every record type. The notes do not state a general HubSpot paid-seat cap, minimum paid seats, per-seat add-on price or overage rule. Ask how the agency's data and seats will be handled rather than treating one stated allowance as the whole account policy.

The HubSpot pricing page
HubSpot pricing, captured 2 October 2026

The 500 HubSpot credits also make a budget check worthwhile. The verified source states that Starter includes the credits, but it does not state an overage price in the notes used here. If an agency expects regular credit usage, it should confirm what happens after the included amount. An included allowance is not an unlimited-use claim.

HubSpot is the stronger paid-price choice when an agency has three or more users and wants a published month-to-month number. It is not automatically the better free choice because the free tier stops at two users. For a two-person consultancy, either cap may fit; for three people, the question is whether free headroom or lower paid pricing matters more.

Pricing compared

The table compares the published free caps, entry paid prices and calculated monthly bills for the three headcounts in this guide. Freshsales monthly paid prices are marked as not stated because the captured page did not publish them.

Plan or scenarioFree user capAnnual paid seat priceMonthly paid seat price3 users monthly bill5 users monthly bill10 users monthly bill
Freshsales FreeUp to 3 users$0$0$0Not available: cap is 3Not available: cap is 3
Freshsales GrowthNot stated$9 /user/month, billed annuallyNot stated$27 annually$45 annually$90 annually
HubSpot FreeUp to 2 users$0$0Not available: cap is 2Not available: cap is 2Not available: cap is 2
HubSpot StarterNot stated$7/seat/month annual$20/seat/month monthly$21 annual, $60 monthly$35 annual, $100 monthly$70 annual, $200 monthly

Freshsales Growth is $2 more per paid seat per month than HubSpot Starter on annual billing. At three paid seats, the difference is $6 monthly; at five, $10; at ten, $20. HubSpot wins the annual paid comparison, while Freshsales wins the free-tier comparison for exactly three users.

The month-to-month comparison is not symmetrical. HubSpot publishes $20 per seat per month for Starter, so its bills can be calculated. Freshsales does not publish a monthly-billing price for Growth, so its month-to-month bills are not stated. Do not label Freshsales Growth as $9 monthly without the annual-billing qualifier.

The seat and billing traps

The first trap is treating both free tiers as if they cover the same team. Freshsales Free is capped at three users; HubSpot Free is capped at two. That one-user difference decides the three-person case: Freshsales can cover the stated headcount at $0, while HubSpot requires a Starter calculation.

The second trap is treating a cap as a suggestion. A four-person agency cannot describe all four people as Freshsales Free users under the published three-user cap. A three-person agency cannot describe all three as HubSpot Free users under the published two-user cap. Count everyone who needs shared access, not only the founders.

The third trap is comparing annual and monthly prices in one column. Freshsales Growth is $9 per user per month billed annually, and its monthly-billing price is not stated. HubSpot Starter is $7 per seat per month annually and $20 monthly. For five HubSpot seats, the comparison is $35 versus $100 per month. For Freshsales, only the $45 annual-billing calculation is verified.

The fourth trap is crossing the cap without recalculating the whole workspace. Four Freshsales Growth seats calculate to $36 per month annually. Three HubSpot Starter seats calculate to $21 annually or $60 monthly. If the paid plan applies to the account, the decision is not just the price of one new person.

The fifth trap is assuming that paid seat minimums, caps and add-on rates exist in a form the source did not publish. For Freshsales, minimum paid seats, paid-seat caps and a paid per-seat add-on price are not stated. The HubSpot notes also do not state minimum paid seats, a paid-seat cap or a per-seat add-on price. Do not invent a fee, but do not promise unlimited seat flexibility either.

The sixth trap is confusing contact limits with user limits. HubSpot Starter includes 1,000 marketing contacts, but that is not the same as a user cap. Freshsales numeric contact limits are not stated for its paid plans. The phrase crm free tier users describes account access, not the number of contacts a paid account can hold.

The seventh trap is treating allowances as unlimited. HubSpot Starter includes 500 credits and 1,000 marketing contacts, and its overage rules are not stated here. Freshsales lists branded documents at $19/user/month and Freddy AI Agent at $49/100 sessions, while other overage or one-time costs are not stated. Record the included allowance and confirm the next unit before usage grows.

Who should not buy this

The right answer can be to stay free or buy nothing yet. A free plan works only when the agency's headcount and real workflow fit the published terms.

  1. Do not buy either paid plan for a two-person team if the free tier covers the work and no paid allowance is needed. Both Freshsales Free and HubSpot Free are listed at $0 within their respective caps.
  2. Do not move a three-person team to HubSpot Starter automatically. Freshsales Free covers up to three users, so HubSpot's paid price should solve a real need rather than simply reflect brand familiarity.
  3. Do not call a four-person Freshsales workspace free. The published cap is three. Calculate Growth or confirm a different arrangement before giving a fourth person shared access.
  4. Do not choose HubSpot Free for a three-person shared workflow. Its published cap is two. Use Starter pricing for the actual headcount or deliberately keep the third person's work outside the CRM.
  5. Do not budget Freshsales month to month at $9. That figure is for annual billing, and the monthly-billing price was not stated on the captured page.
  6. Do not buy on a contact or credit assumption. HubSpot's 1,000 marketing contacts and 500 credits are allowances, not proof of unlimited capacity or free overage. Freshsales leaves several paid numeric limits unstated.
  7. Do not buy a higher tier for an unused checklist. Freshsales Growth lists basic workflows and Pro lists sales sequences, but a feature is a reason to upgrade only when it changes the agency's work.
  8. Buy nothing until ownership is clear if nobody will maintain records or decide which people genuinely need access. A paid seat cannot replace a process.

Before committing, write down the users needed now, the likely next headcount, the acceptable billing period, and the contact or credit allowance that could become a constraint.

Our verdict: freshsales vs hubspot

Choose Freshsales as the winner for an agency that needs a free CRM for up to three users. Its Free tier supports one more user than HubSpot Free, enough to keep a three-person agency at $0 under the published cap. If the team grows to four, Freshsales Growth calculates to $36 per month on annual billing.

Choose HubSpot as the runner-up and the paid-price winner when the agency plans to pay for three, five or ten seats or wants a published monthly price. Starter is $7 per seat per month annually or $20 monthly, producing $21 or $60 for three seats, $35 or $100 for five, and $70 or $200 for ten.

The choice is a headcount decision before it is a feature decision. Freshsales wins the three-user free-tier test. HubSpot wins the published paid-price test, while Freshsales leaves its monthly paid price unstated. If neither plan's limits can be verified against the agency's process, pause the purchase rather than guessing.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better in freshsales vs hubspot for a three-person agency?

Freshsales is the better free-tier choice because its Free plan supports up to three users. HubSpot Free is capped at two users, so a three-person shared team must compare Starter instead. HubSpot may still suit an agency that wants the lower published paid seat price.

How much is Freshsales Growth for three, five and ten users?

Freshsales Growth is $9 /user/month billed annually. Three users calculate to $27 per month, five to $45, and ten to $90 on annual billing. The monthly-billing price was not stated, so month-to-month bills are not stated rather than estimated.

How much is HubSpot Starter for three users?

HubSpot Starter costs $7 per seat per month billed annually or $20 per seat per month monthly. Three seats calculate to $21 per month with annual billing or $60 month to month. HubSpot Free does not cover three users because its published cap is two.

Can a three-person agency use Freshsales Free?

Yes. Freshsales Free is listed at $0 for up to three users. The verified notes do not state the numeric contact, deal, pipeline, workflow-run, email-send or storage limits for the free plan, so confirm that the actual workflow fits before relying on it.

What happens when an agency grows past the HubSpot free-user cap?

HubSpot Free is capped at two users, so a three-person shared team must consider a paid plan or keep one person's work outside the shared account. HubSpot Starter calculates to $21 per month for three seats annually billed or $60 month to month.

Does HubSpot Starter include a contact limit?

The verified Starter allowance includes 1,000 marketing contacts and 500 HubSpot credits. Those figures should not be treated as a general user cap or proof that every record type shares the same limit. The overage rules are not stated in the notes used here.

Is HubSpot cheaper than Freshsales for an agency?

HubSpot Starter has the lower published annual paid seat price at $7 per seat per month, compared with Freshsales Growth at $9 per user per month billed annually. Freshsales can still be cheaper for a three-person agency because Freshsales Free covers up to three users, while HubSpot Free covers only two. Freshsales' monthly paid price was not stated.

Should a small agency stay on a CRM free tier?

Stay free when the user count fits the published cap and the team can work within the known terms. Freshsales Free covers up to three users, while HubSpot Free covers up to two. Move to paid access when headcount or a real workflow need crosses that boundary.